Homemade Granola

It finally happened.  After 8 months of writing my blog I am without words.  Writers block.  I have been sitting here staring at this delicious picture of granola for a good while now and still can’t seem to come up with a creative way to gush about my new favorite snack.  Don’t get me wrong, I have penned numerous introductions that were cute, clever and funny (some of which referenced my life as a “crunchy granola mom“…one of my favorites for sure), but after a few sentences I become stuck.  So instead of wrestling with it any longer, I decided to do what comes naturally to me…be honest.

*Sigh*…Now that I got that off my chest, let’s talk about this yummy, crunchy, salty, sweet concoction.

It was love at first bite.  I can’t say that I would call myself a granola lover (although I am in love with this granola…[scroll down to #10]), but there is something special about this homemade snack that has got me hooked.

Harper and I went swimming with a bunch of our mommy/baby friends a few weeks ago and a friend of mine had just made a fresh batch.  She offered some to the group and Harper and I took a small handful to share.  Well, let’s just say I went back for seconds, and thirds, and maybe fourths (don’t judge me…its amazing!).  I then begged her for the recipe.  The moment she sent it to me my oven was pre-heating and I began tossing my rolled oats in a bath of sugary goodness.


Ingredients

3 cups rolled oats

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/3 cup canola oil

2 tablespoons of water

1/3 cup of pure maple syrup

Preparation
Heat oven to 250 degrees F.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl combine oats, brown sugar and salt and mix until combined.  In a small saucepan over medium heat combine oil, water, and syrup.  Bring to a boil, remove from heat and pour over the oat mixture.  Stir mixture to coat oats evenly.  Spread mixture onto baking sheet and bake for 1 hour.

Once the granola has cooled, you can mix in any of your favorite additions.  One cup of any of the following would be delicious:  raisins, dried cranberries, currents, flaked coconut, chocolate chips, almonds, cashews…the list goes on and on.  I threw some dry roasted pecans in there.  Feel free to make it your own :)

So what’s so great about this granola?   First of all the texture happens to be perfect.  The crunch meter weighs in at about 5, not too soft and not too “ouch this snack is ripping the inside of my mouth apart” rough.  It’s light and airy and almost reminds me of rice cereal (except maybe a few notches more on the crunch scale).  Secondly, it has a great balance of sweet and salty.  Adding nuts will help to kick up the salt factor a bit, which is a nice compliment to the maple syrup glaze.  Lastly, your options of how to enjoy it are endless.  Drowning in a bowl of almond milk?  Delish.  Sprinkled over a spoonful of yogurt?  Divine.  Shoveled into your mouth by the handful?  Why not?  And remember, with all of the add-ins, this snack can be transformed a million times over.

Need one last reason to stop what you are doing and get busy in the kitchen?  It might just be the easiest thing I have ever made.

Now if you will excuse me, I have some granola to tend to…it’s snack time :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. Isn’t writer block just the worst? I’ve had it a few times now… I always get over it though and manage to spout some rubbish very soon afterwards. Anyway, this granola looks delicious – I love the photo.

  2. baconbiscuit212 says:

    Homemade granola is the best!

    This looks great. I like to sub olive oil for the canola!

  3. one2travelfar says:

    Yummy. I use the same recipe but find no need to boil the syrup mixture first. Save a step and a dirty pot. I found the recipe in Cooks Illustrated.

    • inherchucks says:

      Awesome! I will try that with my next batch. Cooks Illustrated is a great resource. And they double and triple test their recipes. So I am sure it will be just as perfect. Thanks for the tip :)

  4. naimavanswol says:

    yummmmm. i have an amazing granola recipe, too. i always mean to blog it. you’re an inspiration!

  5. Rooshil says:

    can’t wait to start making this haha

  6. Just keep writing … You’ll be OK. And, PS, that granola looks yummy.

  7. Seriously?! Not only do you make these delicious-looking food items, your food photography is amazing! Is there some kind of award for food photography? You would win!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thank you so much! I continue to work on my pictures. I have never been in to photography but this blog has inspired me to dabble here and there…I appreciate your compliment :)

  8. I love homemade granola (and your photo)!
    Try adding a little lemon or orange zest to your next batch; it will blow your mind! I tried it once and have never looked back…

  9. Liz says:

    Yeah, some of my blog posts only have about a 2 sentence introduction :) I love having a stash of homemade granola in the house…and yours looks simple and yummy!

  10. […] Layers of greek yogurt then granola (try In Her Chuck’s granola) […]

  11. Tammy says:

    I love homemade granola. I like to use apple juice in the place of sugar.

  12. Ashley says:

    I eat gronola every day but had never made my own. Thank you for inspiring me to! It was so easy. I tossed in shredded coconut and pecans in with the oats. (and cut the sugar down to two tablespoons)
    The house smelled so yummy for a day and I cannot top eating the gronola.

  13. meg says:

    Yum! I love homemade granola, and finally made a batch yesterday…after looking at it on my to-do list for one solid week. What’s that about? I always remember it as taking much longer than it does. :)
    The recipe I’ve been using calls for coconut oil, another one to consider if you’re looking for a sub. Quite delish.

Leave a Reply

