Homemade Crepes

Call me fancy, but I’ll take a plate of crepes for breakfast any day.  Light, fluffy and delicate, they practically melt in your mouth.  Growing up, my mom would always whip up a fresh batch of crepes on lazy weekend mornings.  Topped with mixed berries and dusted with powdered sugar, there was no better way to start the day.  Since moving out on my own, it is rare that I get to indulge in my favorite breakfast treat.  But thanks to Mikelle from Food. Fun. Life., weekend crepe breakfasts are back in business!

To be honest, this isn’t my first time making crepes.  I can remember back to my teenage days when I was in the mood for a yummy breakfast and was determined to satisfy my crepe craving.  Long story short…epic fail.  And one that included bodily injuries and lots of cuss words.  After such a traumatic experience, I had decided to leave the crepe making up to the professionals for a while.  But now that I am older and wiser, and a little more comfortable in the kitchen, I was ready to give it another shot.  And this time there was instant success :)

The key to a good crepe, is the initial pour.  Because crepes are so thin, and cook fast, getting the batter in the pan and shaped quickly is extremely important.  Mikelle’s step by step instructions are so simple and easy, anyone can be a crepe master!  I think it is also safe to say that having a good non-stick pan and a whole lot of butter can help to work wonders as well.

Ingredients

1 cup flour

pinch salt

1 1/4 cup skim milk

3 eggs

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for greasing the pan

Dash of vanilla extract

Preparation

Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately.  Slowly whisk wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until you have a very thin, smooth batter.  (For a shortcut, just blend all ingredients in a blender.)

Heat a non-stick, 10 inch skillet over medium heat.  Grease pan with butter and pour 1/4 cup batter into the center, turning so the batter covers the bottom of the pan.

Cook until slightly bubbly and edges crispy.  Flip with a non-stick spatula and cook on other side for about a minute.  Stack cooked crepes on a plate.  Recipe yields about 10 crepes.

Recipe slightly adapted from Food. Fun. Life.

Crepes are great because they are super versatile.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner…they have you covered.  Make them savory or sweet, it’s totally up to you.  I happen to like my crepes sweet.  There was a crepe cafe in Santa Monica I used to visit that served crepes with Nutella and bananas.  Talk about a treat!  Simply sinful.

So now that I know how to make crepes, I guess you can call me the “In Her Chucks” House of Pancakes.  I currently serve Perfect Pancakes, Greek Yogurt Pancakes, Buttermilk Pancakes, and Hootenannies.  Where will my pancake journey take me next?

Your turn:  What is your favorite way to enjoy crepes?  Do you prefer them sweet or savory?  What are some of your “have to have” toppings?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

PS:  Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  Only a few days left to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comment acts are your entry into the giveaway.  Good luck!  

Tagged , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Homemade Crepes

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    To IHC IHOP my fave is whip creme on the sweet ones.

  2. OOOO so yummy!!! I love crepes with lemon juice and sugar!!

  3. I love making crepes! If you ever want to branch out into buckwheat crepes David Lebowitz has a great recipe on his site. They’re great for turning CSA leftovers into something fancy. Just add cheese!

  4. adelewayah says:

    Those look yummy. How many did it make?

  5. I am obsessed with pancakes. Any and all types. I am constantly adding random ingredients into mine and doctoring them up, and the hubs gets so mad that I’m butchering his beloved “house pancakes.” I have yet to try crepes. It’s about darn time I do it.

  6. christiana83 says:

    Ohhh I love crepes, too! My favorites are with cherries and whipped cream, or cherries and cream cheese.

  7. Holy brave, crepe-makin’ you! Wow. I am not even going to attempt this marvel of pancakery. I think it is absolutely outside of my skill set. But, it sure does look yummy.

  8. I think they look perfect – I can never get them to look like that!

  9. novagirl says:

    Beautiful! I’ve been thinking about making crepes myself, but now I’m really inspired. :)

  10. This just about convinces me to try crepes….Thanks! (beautiful photo….mouthwatering)

  11. Courtney says:

    I fell in love with crepes in March of 2009 on a street corner in the red light district of Paris. I had never had a crepe before and this one was filled with delicious chicken and cheese. It was love at first bite. Then one day at I was at the store to refresh my pantry ingredients, and I purchased spelt flour because it was new to me. I came home and googled spelt flour and the first page I came across had a recipe that I loved! The crepes were so good alone that I didn’t make any toppings for them But do love them now with greek yogurt and blueberries or with blackberry jam.

    http://whatscookingamerica.net/CharlotteBradley/Spelt-Flour.htm That’s the website where I found the recipe at the bottom of the page.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks for sharing Courtney! I have never tried a savory crepe…but that chicken and cheese sounds amazing :)

      I will have to pick up some spelt flour so I can give this recipe a try.

  12. melissadoffing says:

    Crepes! So lovely – I actually co-edited an anthology in 2010 called Let Them Eat Crepes. Your post reminded me of how much love there is out there for crepes and of some of the essays in the book. I wish I could make them, mine never seem to turn out quite right. But I LOVE to eat them – sweet or savory. Yum!

    • inherchucks says:

      I need to check that anthology out! Sounds very cool.

      I never thought I could make crepes either. I was surprised at my success. But the blog I got the recipe from had some great picture directions and it made it look easy :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

