What’s in the Box? #34

No matter how busy my life gets, Wednesdays always seem to get me focused and back on track.  Blame it on the fruits and veggies, but when hump day rolls around the fog seems to clear and things start to fall into place.  Having a CSA box to look forward to keeps me motivated to cook and always makes for some exciting menus.  And with all of the delicious recipes and ideas that have come through this link party, our family meals have been elevated to a whole new level :)

Our party continues to grow and I couldn’t be more grateful.  Last week we had a total of 56 link ups!  I appreciate all my loyal party goers and welcome those who are linking up for the first time.  When it comes to recipes and ideas on how to use your produce, we got you covered.  From breakfast, to lunch, to happy hour and beyond, there is no limit to how your CSA can feed you :)  So thanks everyone for keeping the inspiration flowing and making our tummies happy!

On to this week’s goodies…

Call me crazy, but I might be just a little too excited about this head of lettuce.  I usually pass over it and rarely give my lettuce the time of day.  But this head of lettuce is too pretty to ignore.  I wish I knew what kind it was because I plan on seeking this variety out in the future (maybe even growing a few heads in my garden).  It makes me want to have a fancy dinner party and invite all of my close friends over to enjoy a crisp salad dressed with a homemade vinaigrette.  Chilled salad forks included :)

And although I have been known to throw some grated carrots into my salads as well, I am still on my roasted carrot kick.  I also love my cauliflower roasted.  But then again, it seems as though I love ALL my veggies roasted :)

I was surprised at how fragrant my leeks were this week.  It was the first aroma that hit me when I opened up my box.  I was expecting onions with how strong the smell was, but I was excited to find leeks instead because I have had a taste for another homemade quiche.

With the holy trinity of summer fruit, I might be inspired to create something beautiful.  I plan on keeping it simple because enjoying the fruit “as is” happens to be my favorite part of summer.  The strawberries and nectarines will definitely be making an appearance in this week’s Sweets for a Saturday.  Which, by the way I was featured in last week…yay Gooey Cookies ‘n Cream Bars!  I will have to search through some of my plum recipes to see what pops out at me this week.  And while I am on the subject, here is the plum recipe I promised you last time.  I was hoping to post it on the blog, but was unable to snap a pic before dinner was demolished.  I always have good intentions, but it can be hard to juggle blog life with real life…real life always wins :)

Those little cucumbers are absolutely adorable.  After reading through some of your posts, it looks like most of you are pickling these kind of cucumbers.  I have never embarked on a pickling journey, but you all have inspired me.  I am not the biggest pickle fan myself, but I have friends who would appreciate some homemade pickles.  And what about relish…could I make relish?

And finally, dino kale.  At the start of my CSA journey, I would have cringed at the sight of kale.  But now I jump for joy.  After nearly two years into my CSA love affair I have collected some pretty awesome recipes.  Not to mention all the delicious ideas you all have shared with us.  Now, I can’t seem to think of a reason not to love kale!

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!  PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

69 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #34

  1. Lucy says:

    I want this box! The fruit looks excellent.

  2. Lucy says:

    This is an enviable box of produce…especially the fruit. Here in NW Washington, berries and cherries just arrived a couple of weeks ago. We’re pretty late with fruit as usual.

  3. We made pickles this last week– I’ve never canned them before so this will be interesting. The Food in Jars blog/ book has lots of small batch recipes.

  4. I’m so glad you’re getting more and more links each week. When I saw that gorgeous head of lettuce, I immediately thought of my mango avocado salad, which I linked.

  5. […] to Summer Salad Sundays, Totally Tasty Tuesdays, What’s in the Box? Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like18 bloggers like […]

  6. meg says:

    Oh yum yum yum. That is a beautiful selection! I would use the leeks in Italian Vegetable Soup (recipe on the Food Network site), because it’s the only recipe I have which calls for leeks. :) And ditto on the roasted cauliflower — that is a total favorite in our house, even with the kids.

  7. Its definitely time to get serious about eating all those CSA veggies! I have a soup recipe with leeks that I’ll link up in the future for you…

  8. erincharter says:

    I’ve had so many garlic scapes in mine (sorry you are not so lucky!)… Gonna be eating a lotta pesto this week!
    http://erincharter.com/2012/07/12/pesto-the-answer-to-some-of-lifes-problems/

  9. Hey there, I joined up! I hope I did it right–let me know if I didn’t. I’m adding a new blog post today so I’ll include a link back there. Thanks for setting this up–it’s fun! Your haul looks so tasty–very different stuff than what I’m getting!

    • inherchucks says:

      Perfect! Those cocktails in todays post look amazing! Come and link up those too when you get a chance :) Can’t wait to see what else you have up your sleeve!

  10. Thanks for inviting me! I pick up my CSA share tonight (#2 for me). So what’s the protocol… Just link to your blog at the end of my post detailing my share?

  11. Sarah M. says:

    Nice basket! I have a serious love affair with roasted veggies too…it really brings out the flavors! I have a great fish taco recipe I can’t wait to share this week…made a veggie slaw from my basket with savoy cabbage, white carrots and kohlrabi!

  12. I used to give away the kale from my box. I now treasure it and even buy it when I don’t get it through the CSA. Thanks for another great post!-Julie

  13. […] a turnip and its greens, and half a summer squash.  Yum!  Again, I’m linking up to the What’s in the Box series by In Her Chucks.   Check out the other participants here! Share this:Like this:LikeBe the […]

  14. […] I’m not feeling particularly creative in the kitchen this week, so most of this will probably be sauteed, roasted, or eaten raw. But if you need real ideas about what to do with your produce, check out the link party over at In Her Chucks. […]

  15. Eunice says:

    Wow….what a great looking basket! I wish our season was more suitable for fresh fruit to be included with our delivery as well. Also, I’m considering up-ing my membership next year to be a full share. There is no such thing as too many vegetables :)

    Thanks for the link-up invite. Hope to do it soon.

  16. […] out other CSA treasures at the CSA Link Party hosted by In Her Chucks! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  17. Posted a link for my Strawberry Purple Basil Agua Fresca. Just add tequila and triple sec for the best margarita ever!

  18. Jenny says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving an invite for this CSA party! I linked up this week and am enjoying all the other CSA posts. No kale yet in my CSA but I can’t wait to add it into roasted potato salad. Mmmm…

  19. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeOne blogger […]

  20. Kelly says:

    I always forget to link back to my page! :) Anyway, my box was plentiful despite the drought conditions in Madison.

    http://vegga.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/whats-in-the-box-summer-2012-csa-week-two-2/

  21. Rebekah Rae says:

    I haven’t gotten kale since my first box, and I was missing it so much that I bought some at Whole Foods the other day … munching on kale chips as I type this :) I’m jealous of your strawberries! I feel like I joined a csa too late in the season to get them. The whole of your box looks phenomenal!!

  22. […] Check out what everyone else got from their local food sources this week over at In Her Chucks link party. […]

  23. Beth says:

    My mom made pickle relish when I was a kid, so I’m sure it’s possible! And that is the prettiest head of lettuce I’ve seen! :)

  24. This is such a great idea! I just linked up and can’t wait to see what everyone is getting in their CSA’s.

  25. […] What’s in the Box? #34 (inherchucks.com) […]

  26. Jen says:

    Linked up! This will be my last CSA post for a while — I’m going away for 3 weeks! See you when I get back.

  27. My CSA box this week: http://creativemetaphor.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/csa-week-4/

    I love your box, so much fruit and color! <3

  28. randipants says:

    All linked up! Can’t wait to get home from work and read everyone’s posts.

  29. […] I’ve been taking part in the CSA link party hosted by In Her Chucks. I lurve it. Tons of great ideas every week on what to do with your CSA […]

  30. […] yes, I’m still linking up with In Her Chucks’  What’s in the Box? party, so check out all the other links […]

  31. Mason says:

    Linked, it a more reasonable time this week! :)

    Your lettuce does look wonderful, and even makes me wish I had some, even though I too usually pass up the lettuce. I have yet to see carrots that big around here too, I’m a little jealous.

    Last week we put some kale into a pasta in place of spinach. First time I had done that, but I’d definitely do it again.

  32. Your CSA box always looks so beautiful! I get my first one for summer tomorrow. Yippie! You always have such great ideas.

  33. I just did my first link up! I’ll be sure to link back to your blog for others as well!

  34. rlcioffi1982 says:

    New CSA this week – includes tomatoes (which are delicious)! http://cenabisbene.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/csa-week-6-and-bread/

  35. ok, I added my link… only thing is that instead of naming the link, I put my name (Jen, #65). Oops! Better luck next week!

  36. Hey so I just went to link my farm share post and saw it already closed. What time does the connection close?

  37. […] about CSA hauls is a thing! I should have realized. I joined up with a fun CSA link party over at In Her Chucks. Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailMorePrintTumblrLike this:Like8 bloggers like […]

  38. […] I’m not feeling particularly creative in the kitchen this week, so most of this will probably be sauteed, roasted, or eaten raw. But if you need real ideas about what to do with your produce, check out the link party over at In Her Chucks. […]

Leave a Reply

