57 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #35

  1. you are making my mouth water! For the 3rd time this spring we have no CSA due to heat killing the plants. :( I will have to enjoy thru blogs. :D

  2. If you can get ahold of another box of berries, a small batch of blackberry jam (strained to remove the seeds) might be the way to go. good concentrated flavor without the seeds. I haven’t found a good source for them up here so I haven’t made it, but I’m hoping to find some this year to do a microbatch.

  3. and do you ever roast your broccoli? that makes an excellent side dish– it comes out so sweet.

  4. The flavor of blackberries is so delicious, but I know what you mean about the seeds. Sometimes they are way too seedy and it definitely detracts from the flavor. If I get a batch of overly seedy ones I cook them with a bit of sugar, strain them, and serve my “syrup” over buckwheat pancakes. Yum!

    If you’re craving shepherd’s pie, I created a recipe for that which I really love and posted it on my blog–check it out if you’d like. I added in steamed cauliflower to the potato topping, but you could use the recipe as a starting off point for your own creation.

    • inherchucks says:

      Mmmm…thanks for all of the delicious ideas! I LOVE pancakes and the syrup sounds perfect :) Can’t wait to check out your shepherd’s pie recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Going with my pizza theme from a few weeks ago … I’ve been eyeing this blackberry, goat cheese, fennel pizza for awhile. A savory option to consider: http://scalingbackblog.com/post/21222959866/food-matters-project-blackberry-fennel-pizza

  6. Lucy says:

    Now that’s a great box! Thanks for posting!

  7. Just linked in my Cauliflower Tabouleh. And don’t worry about slower posting when busy–happens to all!

  8. Also–wanted to let you know that I just gave you the “Addictive Blogger” award for luring me in to your fun and tasty posts. For more info see: http://artofnaturalliving.com/2012/07/19/chicken-piccata-gift-bags-and-an-award/

  9. I was starting to worry about you and send out a Blogger Search Party. :) Glad to see you are back. p.s. pan squash (LOL ps) are great!

  10. Miya says:

    Yay, more beet ideas! Check out my beet gazpacho in your link party.

  11. […] to decide to do with squash and eggplant, besides ratatouille. Off to look at the linky party at In Her Chucks. There is a huge source of recipes and info from dozens of people who receive CSAs, every week the […]

  12. […] to Real Food Wednesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Allergy-Free Wednesday, Gluten-Free Wednesday, What’s in the Box? Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like9 bloggers like […]

  13. Hi! I made Blackberry Port Jam this summer (haven’t posted yet) and it was great. Its got a bit of a kick and works well on top of savory dishes, like pork roast.
    It looks like you might not have enough blackberries there, but you could add some blueberries!

  14. […] adding this post to the marvelous round-up of CSA posts spearheaded by In Her Chucks. I remember back when I started in 2007 that CSA blogs were few and […]

  15. scrumptious says:

    I am totally with you on the combination of missing being more involved with my blog & simultaneously feeling joy at how full my life is with wonderful people and events. Your box photograph is stunning, as usual; I want to try to do something similar but I cannot, no matter how I arrange them, get everything to show in one view of the box. (I suck at tetris, too. :) )

    My very favoritest summer squash recipe is Pan-Seared Summer Squash with Garlic & Mint: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2010/08/16/review-of-fresh-food-fast-by-peter-berley/ It is unbelievably delicious. It needs mint, of course, and I know I sometimes I balk at recipes that call for fresh herbs I don’t already have. I am lucky to have a wee tiny patch of mint growing on my back step!

    As for corn, I’ve been meaning to post about it, but I’ve gotten so behind that now corn season is ending! I’ve discovered roasting corn, I can’t believe I didn’t know about it before. Just stick it in the oven with the husk still on at 450 for 15 minutes or so. When it’s done, the husk and silk will slide right off with ease, which is a huge bonus. The flavor is a little more concentrated than steamed corn, but mostly I’m into it because it requires several fewer steps than steaming. (I tend not to boil my veggies because of the water-soluble vitamins that get pulled out of the food and into the water, blah blah etc.)

  16. […] be linking this post with this week’s link party at inherchucks … you should check it out and add your recipes too! Happy weekend! Like […]

  17. […] has become my wont, I’ve been taking part in the CSA link party hosted by In Her Chucks. I lurve it. Tons of great ideas every week on what to do with your CSA […]

  18. […] note about CSA posts: I’ve been participating in a CSA link round-up at In Her Chucks blog. It’s been fun to see what everyone does with their veggies! Check it out. Like […]

  19. […] things first – I’m joining the “What’s In the Box” linky party over at In Her Chucks. If you’re looking for a new recipe to try, you […]

  20. Putty4343 says:

    I want to try the CSA link party… Can I only link up on Wednesdays? I just had a post-less week as well, and I felt guilty about it. Your blog is so amazing and inspiring and sometimes life just gets busy. You deserve some time to reflect and relax and just be. Love your blog! Welcome back!

  21. http://creativemetaphor.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/csa-week-5/ Checking in a day late but haven’t forgotten! Your squash and potatoes there are making me drool ;)

  22. Mason says:

    All linked up, and still jealous of your pluots! :)

  23. […] is all the rage in the CSA lovers’ world (as you can see from this link party).  Two weeks ago, I got some kohlrabi in my share, so I opted to try my first pickling […]

  24. Shepherd’s pie is def one my husband’s faves! Actually plan on making it soon. Blackberries always remind me of my grandparents who had several trees in their backyard, which is rare in NYC. You can try the Skinny PB&J Pancake (http://laurenlikestocook.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/skinny-pbj-pancakes/ for them) :). As for broccoli, my favorite cooked version is sauteed with garlic/oil/red pepper flakes, although I’m not sure if your baby can handle spicy.

  25. […] is a blog party specifically about what is in your CSA box!  So I’m going to link this to What’s In the Box! Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterLike this:Like3 bloggers like […]

  26. the RA Vegan says:

    Thank you so much for the invitation to join all of these amazing recipes! What a great collection of produce recipes! I added my Raw Corn Salad. Not that I need a way to use up corn but I wanted to try something special since I can only get corn this good for a little window every year! http://theravegan.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/raw-veggies-corn-salad/

  27. Hopefully I did this right! I added my recipe for Swiss Chard Pesto to the collection and here’s my link: http://thekitchencreative.com/2012/07/23/swiss-chard-pesto-pasta-with-grilled-vegetables/ I’m super excited to participate. Thanks for the invite!

  28. […] ago, I had never heard of a galette, so I had no idea what I had been missing.  I was browsing In Her Chuck’s CSA link party for the week (thanks again – I love checking out all the links!), clicked on a couple things, […]

  29. My CSA teasers keep telling me I might get patty pan squash and no luck as of yet! I’m super jealous of yours, and that entire basket. Yum yum.

  30. emsalshutz says:

    Finally linked up! (at least I hope so…) Jealous of all those goodies!

  31. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeBe the […]

  32. […] last CSA box, and she invited me to her link party!  Think you have some great recipes to share?  Visit her page and add a link/picture (direction are at the bottom of her post), it’s fun to see what […]

  33. […] up over at In Her Chucks! Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailMorePrintTumblrLike this:Like8 bloggers like […]

Leave a Reply

