17 Months

Pure love. Pure joy.  Pure happiness.  Being a mommy to this little girl rocks!  For 17 months Harper has been making her mark on this big world.  She grows and changes daily and continues to bring a smile to my face.  Toddlerhood has brought on some rough days, but no matter how tough it gets, I can’t help but love her more and more.

Harper’s Firsts:

First Blueberry Picking:  This last month has been filled with lots of fun outdoor activities.  Blueberry picking was definitely one of the highlights.  Even though Harper wasn’t into the picking as much as she just liked to carry the bucket around, it was exciting to do something new as a family.  Good thing daddy was doing all the picking so we could enjoy this pie :)

First Firework Show:  Although this was Harper’s 2nd 4th of July holiday, it was her first time enjoying a firework display.  Last year she was a bit young to appreciate the bright lights and loud bangs, but this year she turned out to be quite the fan.  It was wonderful to experience this moment with her.  It was also another reminder of how quickly she is growing up.

First Dip in the Ocean:  Today, we met our cousins at the beach.  I’m a bit ashamed to admit this, but it was our first trip to the beach since we moved.  We live blocks away but never seem to make our way over.  But after Harper’s enthusiastic response, we will be making many more visit’s to the beach this summer.

Harper’s Favs:

Favorite Toy:  Harper is becoming quite the chef.  She loves to “cook, cook”  and create delicious imaginary meals.  After the lasting success of her picnic basket, I went ahead and picked her up a LeapFrog Cook and Play Potsy and she can’t get enough of it!  She especially enjoys the “gocki” (translation…broccoli) and “soup” (which means spoon).

Favorite Song:  To be honest, Harper seems to be a fan of pretty much every song nowadays.  She will sing along to anything with a melody, even if she doesn’t know the words.  But one song that we catch her singing quite often is Mr. Sun.  I play it frequently in my music classes and she also watches it on her DVD.  It’s the perfect song for summer :)

Favorite Book:  Harper is becoming quite the counter.  She loves to practice her numbers and is learning to count to 12.  The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Finger Puppet Book is a great way to get her counting.  Plus, she gets a kick out of the “fly” (butterfly) at the end.

Harper Still…

Even though my baby girl is growing up pretty quickly, we are still enjoying some of the same things we did together when she was first born.  As a mother who practices attachment parenting, I am grateful for the opportunity to participate in these activities with Harper even as she gets older.

Breastfeeds:  Harper is still very interested in nursing.  We usually start our day with a long feeding session in the morning.  It seems to be the morning brew that sets her up for a successful day.  If she skips her morning nursing, she tends to be a bit fussy and cranky.  Harper is eating more and more solid foods every day, so she doesn’t seem to be using nursing as a snack much anymore.  She still likes to nurse down for her naps and bedtime.  I am also still feeding her a few times throughout the night.  I have been trying to offer her other ways to settle but she becomes adamant that she wants “milp” (her version of milk) and even remembers to use her manners (“peeese!”).

Co-Sleeps:  There is nothing better than snuggling up to my little girl.  And she is quite the cuddle bug.  She tends to sleep closer to her daddy (although he has recently discovered that he gets a better night sleep if he sleeps in the guest room) but she seems to be happy as long as she is touching someone.

Likes to be carried:  Carrying Harper is getting harder as she is getting bigger, but it is still her most preferred way to travel.  Even though she is now walking…more like running….everywhere, I find it safer to carry her as she isn’t the best at holding hands quite yet.  There are days that I wish she would go in a stroller, to ease the pain on my lower back and allow me to take her on long walks, but I am quickly reminded that I will probably only be able to carry her for a little while longer, before she becomes big enough to carry me!  (For the record, my mom, who happens to only be 5’2”, carried my brother, who is now over 6 feet, until he was 7…so I think I have it in my genes!).

Life just keeps getting sweeter and motherhood is quite lovely.  Believe it or not, I still have to remind myself that I am a mom.  It hasn’t quite sunk in yet.  And when things get busy and life is flying by, I have to take a moment to admire my “Harper Do” and be grateful to have her in my life.  She is my little buddy and my darling sunshine.  And is still growing up way too fast…

Happy 17 Month Birthday Love!  Mommy and Daddy love you :)

Ps:  Harper broke a new tooth this month…but it’s so far back in her mouth, it’s almost impossible to snap a picture of it.  So you’ll have to take my word for it.  Which means, we are now up to 7 teeth!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “17 Months

  1. christiana83 says:

    She is such a sweetie :) I’m glad to read about all the fun you have together!

  2. She is so precious! Enjoy every moment with that baby girl. :)

  3. Astrid Henao says:

    What a wonderful entry of happy firsts and experiences you guys are sharing! So happy to hear you are doing well and enjoying the beauties motherhood brings! I do have to say, can’t believe it took you this long to go to the beach Heather?! We have to drive at least the 8 hours to get there but we try to go at least once a year… and it’s up the street? I know who I’ll be visiting next time in CA!~ :)

    Miss you and sending lots of love,
    Astrid

  4. What a beautiful little girl! <3

  5. bshcwellness says:

    She is so cute!!!

  6. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Harper, it’s hard to believe you’re17 months & getting prettier everyday. XOXO GG

  7. U 3 are such a source of joy for each other…and for Pappou too!

    Love u 3

  8. All the first are so special–and you’ll remember them for years!

  9. Tammy says:

    She is so beautiful!

  10. Courtney says:

    Harper is such a little blessing! Way to Grow, Harper!

  11. What a cutie pie! I love the hair! Mine is.just that curly too and my 3 year old.son has it too. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

