What’s in the Box? #36

Hello last Wednesday in July…where has the summer gone?  But looking back on the last few months, I feel like I have made the best of my summer days.  Between blueberry picking, trips to the beach, park play dates and outdoor grilling, I have savored each moment of this lovely warm weather.  And as far as my fresh farm produce goes, I am enjoying every bite.  Especially all the delicious fruits.  They keep getting better.  And this week is no exception.  But before I get into everything I love about my current haul, let’s look back at the highlights of last week’s party.

A big thank you to the 63 link ups from What’s in the Box? #35.  Each one tickled my fancy.  I learned so much last week.  From how to freeze blackberries, to how to save a stalk of broccoli, to what in the heck is an Armenian cucumber?, my CSA knowledge continues to grow.  Who knew a link party could satisfy mind, body and soul?  Guess that’s the magic of fruits and veggies :)

And now on to MY fruits and veggies…

This week it is all about the nectarines.  Being reminded that the summer is coming to an end, each bite of these delicious gems will be celebrated and appreciated.  Yeah, that’s how much I love me some nectarines…to the last drop.  I am also excited that the pixie tangerines are back.  They are such a refreshing snack on these warm summer days.
Looking forward to a family gathering this weekend, I can’t help but bust out a crumble with these plums.  It is slowly becoming my signature dish and I love sharing its yummy goodness with others.  I will also be preparing a veggie platter with my spinach dip.  So the cherry tomatoes and carrots will work great as potential dippers.  And as beautiful as this fresh bunch of spinach looks, I will save that for dinner tomorrow night.  A quick sauté with some cloves of that garlic will be the perfect side dish.
I am loving this huge bunch of basil…with roots!  Which means it is the gift that keeps on giving.  Now to decide whether to plant it by my front door or down at the garden.  This could be the start of a small homegrown herb garden.  Pesto for days!
This lettuce is pretty darn fancy.  I attempted to use a few leaves on turkey burgers tonight and realized that they would work better as a salad.  Very curly and crispy which would work great tossed in a quick homemade vinaigrette.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!  PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

47 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #36

  1. […] are you eating this week? If you’re looking for inspiration, check out the CSA link-party at In Her Chucks. Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. […] Frugal Tip Tuesday, Real Food Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Healthy 2Day Wednesdays, What’s in the Box? Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like5 bloggers like […]

  3. Mrs. Moore says:

    Our CSA Basil has been going BONKERS! My favorite snack is just a nice chunk of cheese, a fresh basil leaf and a piece of tomato (or one of those sweet little cherry tomatoes!)… I am super jealous of your FRUIT in your CSA, too! I am 7 months pregnant and my NUMBER ONE craving has been NECTARINES!!! CAPITAL LETTERS!!!

    • inherchucks says:

      That snack sounds scrumptious!

      I craved tons of fruit when I was pregnant too…and I totally get you with the CAPITAL LETTERS! Not a bad thing to crave when your preggers :)

  4. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeBe the […]

  5. Kelly says:

    Oh man, I’m so envious of your fruit! Although I shouldn’t complain – I got two types of melon this week. :)

    (http://vegga.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/whats-in-the-box-summer-2012-csa-week-four-plus-a-bonus-pukey-puppy-story/)

  6. I have my fingers crossed for nectarines this week!

  7. bliss46th says:

    Looks like a beautiful box of veggies. The crumble sounds delish.

  8. definitely jealous of all the fruit! Fruit is so hard to grow organic that not many CSA’s in my area offer it. Bummer.

    thekitchencreative.com/2012/07/26/baked-green-bean-fries

  9. bekatobasics says:

    I didn’t sign up for a fruit share at my current CSA this year because it was the first time I’ve been a part of one. Now, I’m wishing that I had. Those nectarines look soooo good!

  10. […] see me and some other great recipes at What’s in the Box link party! Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in CSA, […]

  11. […] out the great CSA/produce posts over at In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the box?” post! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this.   Leave a […]

  12. […] since this is part of my CSA haul, I certainly couldn’t forget In Her Chuck’s What’s in the box? CSA link! Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeOne blogger likes […]

  13. the RA Vegan says:

    I am *loving* your CSA linky party! I get so many great ideas! I couldn’t believe that my kids fought over the yellow squash chips I made. We don’t get a lot of fruit either, but the cantaloupes we’ve been getting have been stellar!

  14. […] usual, I’m taking part in the CSA link partyhosted by In Her Chucks. I lurve it. Tons of great ideas every week on what to do with your CSA […]

  15. randipants says:

    All linked up & can’t wait to read about everyone else’s week!

  16. […] last CSA box, and she invited me to her link party!  Think you have some great recipes to share?  Visit her page and add a link/picture (direction are at the bottom of her post), it’s fun to see what […]

  17. I love looking at all the beautiful fruit you get–my one regret about living in Wisconsin is our limited fruit production. I linked up a Swiss Chard Quiche this week–it’s been a ridiculously good year for chard around here and I was forced to get creative!

  18. Mason says:

    All linked up. Nectarines are so delicious. (Possibly my favorite fruit, though I find myself saying that more and more as the summer goes on and I get new things in season!) It will be sad once they and all the other wonderful summer fruits are gone.

  19. […] usual (though I’ve forgotten the last few times!), this post is part of the What’s In the Box? link party, hosted by In Her Chucks. Check out all the other partiers here! Share […]

  20. andreahood says:

    Very cool idea!! I will definitely be joining in the next link party when I pick up my box at the end of the week!

  21. Tammy says:

    Plant your basil in whichever location is closest to your kitchen.

  22. Linked up my ratatouille – if you can’t wait for the eggplant, buy a small one and use your CSA tomatoes.

  23. letseathealthier says:

    Thanks for the invite to your link party! I’ve linked up my “Why I (Sometimes) Choose Organics” (http://letseathealthier.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/why-i-sometimes-choose-organic/) post and included a link back to your blog in my post. You have an amazing blog!

  24. […] has become my weekly modus operandus, I’m linking up to the “What’s in the Box?” linky party over at In Her Chucks. You really need to check it out when you get a chance. I’m […]

  25. Lynn says:

    Your fruit all looks delicious! We choose a CSA this year that doesn’t do fruit, but now it feels like a trip to a local orchard farm is in order!

  26. Cortney says:

    I wish my CSA had fruit! We did get some melons this week but I’m not a big lover of melon. Also, not sure what to do with the glut of eggplant this week!

  27. graceyb says:

    I have a lot of eggplant both this week and last, ideas?

  28. […] Fat Tuesday | What’s in the Box? Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with […]

Leave a Reply

