Clean Eating: Day 1

Ever since giving birth to Harper I have wanted to flush out my system and do some spring cleaning.  I would love to do a cleanse, but since I am still breastfeeding I need to be careful of my calorie intake as well as be aware of detoxing my body.  But there are some small changes I can make in my daily life that will help me eliminate some junk.

While at the check out stand at the market the other day, I came across a magazine I used to read called Clean Eating.  It is loaded with delicious recipes and tips on pursuing a clean lifestyle.  So I decided to pick it up to help me improve some of my eating habits, and hopefully get me back on track.

So what is Clean Eating?  Clean eating is about consuming whole food in its most natural state, or keeping it as close to the original as possible.  I do my best to follow this way of life, but sometimes I tend to get sidetracked…(see here).  And even though I believe in balance (having a little treat here and there never hurt anyone…), I have been feeling a bit out of balance lately.  So after reading through the magazine and finding a 2 week Clean Eating meal plan, I decided to give it a shot.

I tend to work best when I have a plan in place (hence my weekly produce box).  So although I am not entirely excited about some of the food suggestions listed in the plan, it makes my life easier to have something to reference.  However, I will be making some minor adjustments since I have loads of fresh, local and organic produce sitting in my fridge and refuse to let it go to waste.

So here is a look at how my day went today…feel free to follow me on Instagram (inherchucks) to get a sneak peek of what’s to come tomorrow.

Breakfast:

2 cups of spinach sautéed in 1/4 cup water.  2 eggs, over medium.  1 whole wheat english muffin, split and toasted, dry.

Snack #1:

1 cup cottage cheese, 1 cup chopped nectarine, 1 tablespoon chopped walnuts, dash of cinnamon.

Lunch:

Turkey Wrap: 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard spread on each sprouted corn tortilla, each topped with 1 1/2 ounces of turkey and 2 leaves of lettuce.

1 cup organic black bean vegetable soup.

Snack #2:

2 pixie tangerines, 2 tablespoons raw, sprouted, unsalted almonds.

Dinner:

1/2 whole wheat pita stuffed with Tuna and Brazil Nut Burgers with Garlic Sauce and 1 cup mixed greens.

Tuna and Brazil Nut Burgers with Garlic Sauce

Ingredients for Burgers

1/4 cup raw, unsalted Brazil Nuts

10 oz albacore tuna

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/8 yellow onion minced

1/8 tsp ground black pepper

Ingredients for Sauce

2 cloves garlic

1 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/8 tsp ground black pepper

Preparation

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Wrap garlic in a packet of foil and roast for 25 minutes.

2.  Meanwhile, in a food processor, pulse nuts until ground.  Add tuna, oats, flaxseeds, 1/4 cup yogurt, lemon juice, onion and pepper and pulse until thoroughly combined.  Shape mixture into 6 equal palm-sized patties.  Transfer to a large parchment-lined baking sheet and flatten slightly.  Bake, turning once, for 10 minutes per side wipe out food processor.

3.  Meanwhile, prepare sauce:  In a food processor, pulse garlic and remaining sauce ingredients until smooth.  Serve patted with sauce.

Serving Size:  2 patties and 1/3 cup sauce.  Makes 6 patties.

Recipe from Clean Eating

So how am I feeling so far?

Well to be honest, I am hungry.  It’s been a while since my last meal, and I would LOVE a snack.  Some fruit and a slice of cheese would really hit the spot right now.  But it’s past my bedtime and I need to get some rest.  So sleep sounds like a better option.

As far as the food, today wasn’t too bad.  My favorite part was the snacks.  Gotta love the fruit :)  I’m looking forward to tomorrow.  Smoothies and yummy snacks on the horizon.

Your turn:  Have you ever tried to eat clean?  What are some of your favorite ways to “clean-up” some of your meals.  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , ,

26 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 1

  1. chenamy says:

    I’ve been living a clean eating lifestyle for about 10 months now and I love it! At this point it’s pretty much second nature to me. I would say the biggest challenge is eating out and attending various events with food. I always like to remind people that clean eating isn’t about limiting yourself from good food, it’s just about being conscious of what is in it. You can eat apple pie — you’d just have to take the time to make the crust and the filling yourself (which is why I haven’t had a baked good in a while lol). No more bottled sauces (bbq, marinades, salad dressings) but it gives you an opportunity to experiment and make some really awesome food! I’m really passionate about clean eating so I applaud you!! Good luck with the journey!

    • inherchucks says:

      I could understand how eating out is the biggest challenge. I have attempted this lifestyle before and convenience is what would kill me. It’s hard to find clean food when you are out and about. And that’s a shame. Thanks for sharing your journey. I appreciate your support. Stayed tune…

  2. michads says:

    OMG!!! I shouldn’t have read this post this morning — everything looks and sounds so delicious! Sitting at my desk here at work starving now! :)

    • inherchucks says:

      oh no! Sorry :( Hope it gives you inspiration to take some yummy snacks to work tomorrow!

      • michads says:

        LOL… It’s all good :) dinner and snacks have been suffering lately because of our crazy football schedule now… I’ve also been slacking on my next blog post – may just wait till after this weeks bike ride to do it now… Have a great day!

  3. foodyrach says:

    Are you planning on posting whole menus again? I think it’s a great idea. Helps those of us who want to join you plan tasty clean meals, too. Great post!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Rach! I will be posting my daily eats including instructions on how I prepared the food. I will be on this plan for 2 weeks and am looking forward to sharing this journey with you :)

  4. Have you thought about recording what you eat in a system such as MyFitnessPal, to aid you in your journey? I find it very helpful to look at my progress report for motivation, and I can cater the entire plan to what I am focusing on.

  5. What great meal ideas! I’ve been wanting to do a juice detox a la Hungry for Change since B stopped nursing a few months ago but I’m… uh… I have no good excuse. I really should do it. But I’ve found having a plan for everything I’m eating each day to be really helpful for keeping me on track.

  6. Lots of luck! I’m sure it won’t be so hard since you cook at home a lot. The biggest challenge with clean eating is eating out for sure. I will always check the menu first if I can; or I decide that’s my “salad meal” of the day. Dressing on the side, of course :).

  7. Ayanna Johnson says:

    This is great! Good for you! I too am trying to get it together (want to be lean and sexy for my birthday!) I’m so envious of your CSA box! I know if I got a box every week it would be so much easier to eat more whole foods. Keep up the good work! At night when I’m craving a snack I’ll just drink a big cup of green tea and then brush my teeth. That usually works.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Ayanna. Love the tip about the tea. I will be trying that tonight as my tummy is rumbling :)

      You should look into getting a box for yourself. I know they have them out there. Courtney did it. And they have a single size box that would be perfect for you.

      ps: you are already lean and sexy…no need to prepare any more for your birthday!

  8. When I was pregnant, ‘clean eating’ was the only way I could survive the day. My tummy was soooo sensitive. Since then, I have fallen back into my old ways. I need to get back to it–for the sake of my thighs! p.s. those sprouted tortillas look REALLY good!

    • inherchucks says:

      I had gestational diabetes when I was pregnant so clean eating was my way of life. I was the thinnest I have been in a while after giving birth to Harper. And since then I have indulged on pretty much everything. I still eat pretty healthy, but staying away from carbs for so long has made it hard for me to say no. They taste so good, but they make me feel icky! So I am hoping this 2 week journey will get me back to feeling good again and reset my systems so that I don’t crave things that are not good for me.

      ps: the sprouted tortillas were good :) and I am not normally a fan of corn tortillas. Might have to use these with my fish tacos in the future!

  9. metozoan says:

    I have a few recipes on my blog too if you are looking for some ideas. (It is still pretty new, so there aren’t a ton yet.) That’s so awesome that you just saw a diet plan in a magazine and are actually doing it! It just seems so hard to me, I don’t know why. lol Great job though!

  10. christiana83 says:

    Even though I’m not doing this, I still think its great! I do like to cook stuff from scratch most of the time whenever I can, since it just tastes better. Your meals look delicious!

Leave a Reply

