Clean Eating: Day 2 & WIAW

2 days down and 12 to go.  And I’m feeling good so far.  Hungry…but good.

But honestly, I do feel clean.  Very clean on the inside :)  I don’t feel weighed down or foggy.  I don’t feel full and lazy.  I feel energetic, healthy and great!  Just a tinge hungry…

Since I am documenting my eats for the next few weeks, I have decided to participate in a blog link up called What I Ate Wednesday or WIAW.  It’s a fun and exciting link party thrown by Jenn of Peas and Crayons where bloggers from all over the blogosphere share their delicious eats for a day.

This month’s theme is Summer Staples.  When I think of summer, I think of fruit (surprised?).  And drinking a nice cold smoothie filled with fresh and juicy fruit is a great way to stay cool in the summer heat.  Enter today’s breakfast…

Breakfast:

Green Berry Shake:  Blend 1 cup mixed greens, 1 cup blueberry, 1 cup milk (I mixed cows milk and almond milk), 1 tbsp flaxseeds, dash of cinnamon and 6 ice cubes.

1 egg, hardboiled

Snack #1:

2 organic lightly salted brown rice cakes, 1 tbsp unsalted peanut butter, 1 banana and 8 oz organic low-fat milk

Lunch:

2 sprouted corn tortillas each topped with 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard, 1 1/2 oz turkey and a handful of mixed greens

1 cup organic black bean vegetable soup

Snack #2:

1/2 grapefruit and 1 tbsp flaxseeds

Dinner:

3 oz chicken, seasoned with salt, pepper and paprika

3 oz sweet potato, baked

2 cups spinach sautéed in 2 tsp olive oil with 1 clove garlic, minced

Biggest success of the day…

Hardboiled eggs.  I made perfect hardboiled eggs.  I have made hardboiled eggs before, but this hardboiled egg was the best I have ever tasted.  It has been a while since I hardboiled an egg so I googled a how to and follow this “recipe”.  It was perfect!  I highly suggest giving it a try…unless you have your own magical way to make hardboiled eggs, in which case…Please share :)

Since tomorrow is my weekly CSA link party, I won’t be posting my eats.  But I will make sure to post Wednesday’s meals on Thursdays post.  Double the pleasure, double the fun.  Can’t wait until Thursday?  If you want a sneak peek, follow me on Instagram (inherchucks).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 2 & WIAW

  1. Ayanna Johnson says:

    OMG!! I thought my mom and I were the only people who ate rice cakes with peanut butter and banana!! It’s one of our favorite snacks!

  2. Becks says:

    Your grapefruit looks awesome, I’ve never thought of adding flax, but now I totally want to! Thanks for the sharing and suggestion!

  3. That looks like a really well balanced meal plan. 5-6 smaller meals are perfect, and once you get used to that you won’t be hungry any more. I also like that you are sticking to some go-tos every day. I find when I eat similarly every day it’s harder to fall off track.

  4. Yay! It’s great being able to cook a hard boiled egg without that yucky ring that makes it taste so ashy. :D I actually didn’t know how to PROPERLY boil an egg until several months ago. I’d been boiling them way too long for years! I stumbled across “http://its-fitting.com/2012/01/good-enough-to-eat-do-you-know-how-to-boil-an-egg.html”.

  5. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    Delicious healthy foods! I love your blog name :)

  6. Anna says:

    I’m glad to hear about your hard boiled egg success! I must say, grapefruit and flaxseeds seems like an interestin combo, so I guess I’ll be testing that out!

Leave a Reply

