Clean Eating: Day 5 & 6

As we approach the end of my first week of Clean Eating, all is well.  The food is getting yummier and my body is feeling happier.  My husband and I were talking in the kitchen today as I was preparing dinner and we both agreed that even though we miss some of our naughty food indulgences (like ice cream and crusty french baguettes), eating this way has us feeling pretty good.

So here’s a look at what has been fueling us the last few days…

1.  Breakfast:  Peach Smoothie (1 frozen peach, 4 oz super firm tofu, 1 cup milk, 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds, ice as needed).

2.  Snack #1:  2 lightly salted brown rice cakes topped with 2 tbsp almond butter, 2 tbsp raisins.

3.  Lunch:  2 cups Summer Pasta Salad, 4 oz red snapper (prepared like this), 2 cups mixed greens drizzled with balsamic vinegar.

4.  Snack #2:  1 plum, 1 tbsp raw sprouted almonds.

5.  Dinner:  4 oz pork chops, 2 cups kale (sautéed with 1 tsp olive oil, 1/2 diced bell pepper, 1 minced clove garlic, dash of vegetable broth), 1 cup quinoa.

Highlights:  Dinner was definitely my favorite meal…and it wasn’t because of the pork (although the pork was lovely).  I have never sautéed my kale with bell peppers before.  It was SO good!!!  I’m actually craving it now.  It brought a nice sweetness to the kale with added a new dimension of flavor.  I will definitely be trying that again!

Lowlights:  As much as I LOVE smoothies, this one wasn’t great.  I think it was the tofu that threw me off.  The flavor was pretty strong and it just didn’t seem right to have it paired with peaches.  Bummer, cause I love peaches.  Not as successful as my first smoothie.

1.  Breakfast:  2 slices of Ezekiel Bread dipped in 1 egg, 1/8 tsp cinnamon and dash of vanilla extract, cooked in a skillet over medium heat, 3 minutes per side.  Topped with 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 1 cup sliced strawberries.

2.  Snack #1:  3 prunes, 10 walnut halves.

3.  Lunch:  2 cups chopped  Romaine topped with a mixture of chopped celery (1 stalk), carrot (1 stick), cucumber (1 small) and 3 oz salmon tossed with a homemade dressing of 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/8 tsp each dried basil, garlic powder and dried oregano.

4.  Snack #2:  1/2 whole wheat pita topped with 1 tbsp unsalted peanut butter and 1 banana sliced.

5.  Dinner:  8oz super firm tofu sautéed in cast iron skillet mixed with 1/4 chopped red onion, 2 cups chopped broccoli and 1 cup chopped zucchini sautéed with 2 tsp olive oil and a dash of tamari on top of 1 cup cooked brown rice.

Highlights:  Dinner was another winner.  Although the tofu experiment from yesterday was unsuccessful, this meal was satisfying and scrumptious.  It reminded me of a stir fry that we often order from a local restaurant.  The red onions added a nice sweetness and the tamari brought in the saltiness for balance.

Lowlights:  As much as I love a good salad, this one didn’t tickle my fancy.  I blame the salmon.  I just can’t get on the canned salmon train.  I think I only have one more meal with the salmon and then I might have to kick the habit.

I have always believed that you are what you eat, but sometimes my cravings can get the best of me.  But after working so hard this week and reaping the benefits of the difference clean eating makes, I look forward to continuing these new habits even after the two week journey is over.

Hope you all are enjoying your weekend (and the Olympics!).

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 5 & 6

  1. Tammy says:

    Love the graphic for days 5 and 6. What are you using to produce it? I used to put tofu in my smoothies but quit. Now I like them really clean and plain.

Leave a Reply

