Clean Eating: Day 8

First day of Week 2, and I’m feeling good (I also can’t get this Michael Bublé song out of  my head).  I always love starting something new.  It inspires me and encourages me.  And even though I’m smack in the middle of my Clean Eating Journey, as I begin week 2 I am refreshed and renewed.

Here is a look at what the first day of Week 2 looked like…

Breakfast:

2 slices of Ezekiel Bread toasted topped with a mixture of 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 1 tbsp unsalted peanut butter and 1 banana sliced

Snack #1:

1 cup Greek yogurt topped with 1 cup sliced strawberries and 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds

Lunch:

Fennel & Orange Salad:  1/2 bulb fennel (trimmed and sliced), 1 orange (peeled and sectioned), 4 cups arugula, 2 oz deli turkey, 1/2 cup cannellini beans (drained and rinsed).  Drizzle with a mixture of 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp olive oil).

Snack #2:

2 lightly salted brown rice cakes topped with 2 tbsp almond butter

Dinner:

Chicken and Tomato Sauce:  Saute 4 oz chicken breast (chopped) with 1 tsp olive oil, 1 clove garlic (minced) and 1 zucchini (sliced).  Add 15 oz diced can tomatoes and 1/8 tsp each of dried oregano and dried basil.  Cook until heated through.

Highlights:  Today it’s a tie between breakfast and dinner.  I was surprised at how much I liked breakfast.  The thought of cottage cheese blended with peanut butter sounded strange, but the outcome was delicious!  And it’s a great way to pack tons of protein into your breakfast.  Dinner was delightful.  It would have been even better atop some pasta, but I’ll take what I can get at this point :)

Lowlights:  No lowlights today.  Everything was pretty scrumptious!

While I was at the store today, picking up a few more items for meals this week and indulging myself in way too much Kleenex (I have a thing for the boxes…they are so pretty!), I happened along the new Clean Eating issue.  And let me tell you…it is jam-packed with deliciousness.  I am trying to convince my hubby to jump on board for another 2 week stint.  We would have to take a week of in-between because we have too much going on to be on such a strict meal plan, but I’m really enjoying this journey so far and think 2 more weeks would be fun.  Wish me luck on getting Freddie to join me for round 2 :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 8

  1. I’m especially intrigued by the cottage cheese & peanut butter mixture. I may have to try that, it sounds right up my alley (and gives me an excused to buy organic peanut butter, expensive as it is)

  2. Courtney says:

    It all looks delicious :)

  3. Heather, you are such a bright light to all of us…I am so proud to call you my daughter…

    Love U 3

    Dad

  4. Ebony says:

    Looks good. I am going to the grocery future tonight. I will buy some of those items. especially the salad. I am looking for cooler foods cause it is so hot. And uhhhh…I will pray for Freddie. LOL!

Leave a Reply

