Clean Eating: Day 9 & WIAW

Summer is all about fresh fruit, cookouts and yummy party food.  And today, on Day 9 of my Clean Eating Journey, I experienced the best of summer in 5 delicious meals.  For the first time since I began this meal plan I felt full.  Completely satisfied.  I can’t tell if it’s because my tummy is finally adjusting to this new lifestyle or because today’s food was just what I needed.  But either way I’m still doing a happy dance.

So let’s get the drool flowing and look at today’s nummies…

Breakfast:

1/2 cup Kashi 7 Grain Puffs Cereal and 1 cup milk

1 grapefruit

Snack #1:

1 cup cottage cheese

1 cup blueberries

1 tbsp flaxseeds

Lunch: 

Open-Faced Salmon Sandwich:  3 oz salmon, 1/2 stalk celery (minced), 1/2 carrot stick (peeled and shredded), 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, 1 tbsp minced red onion, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tsp Dijon.  Served on 1 slice Ezekiel Bread (toasted) with sliced cherry tomatoes.

Snack #2:

1/2 stalk celery

1/2 carrot, peeled

1 tbsp walnuts

Dinner:

1 1/2 cups Seven Layer Bean Dip (recipe coming later this week)

8 Fresh Homemade Tortilla Chips (recipe coming later this week)

3 oz ground beef patty cooked with 1/8 red onion skillet

2 cups Romaine Lettuce and a handful of cherry tomatoes tossed with 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp flaxseed oil

Highlights:  Dinner was definitely the highlight of my day.  Being a meat lover I was thrilled to have a burger (albeit very small) smothered in grilled onions.  Almost reminded me of In-n-Out…almost.  And the seven layer dip with homemade chips hit the spot!  I can’t wait to share the recipes with you later this week.  This meal made me feel like I was eating a little bit naughty…but it was all CLEAN!

Lowlights:  It’s no secret.  By now I’m sure you can guess that my lowlight for today was the salmon sandwich.  Canned salmon again.  Still not a fan.  But luckily this was the last meal on the plan to incorporate it.  Which means I am canned salmon free from here on out.  Yeah!

Tomorrow is hump day and as usual I can’t wait to get my box and see what goodies are hiding inside.  In other news, Freddie agreed to two more weeks!  He just made me promise him that I wouldn’t make him eat anymore cottage cheese (obviously not his fav).  So we will be taking a break after this week and will resume again once our family reunion is over (can’t say no to our families famous recipes!).  But we plan on making the best choices we can during out mini-break.

Hope you all have a fabulous Wednesday!  The weekend is right around the corner :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 9 & WIAW

  1. Hi,

    You joined My Sweet Party in July themed My Favourite Pie and I picked your amazing blueberry pie as one of my top three favourites! Check it out http://meandmysweets.blogspot.se/2012/08/my-sweet-party-my-top-3-favourite-pies.html

    I hope you would like to link up something new for my August link up party.
    http://meandmysweets.blogspot.se/2012/08/my-sweet-party-august-childhood.html

    Cheers!

  2. Becks says:

    Love it! I’m just getting into cottage cheese .. and it’s slowly changing my life on Good Dairy days. Happy WIAW!

  3. I have some cottage cheese and some peaches ready to take to work too. Good snack..

  4. Lynn says:

    Mmm, those tortilla chips and seven layer bean dip look scrumptious! Can’t wait for the recipes! :)

  5. Chelsea Eats Treats says:

    This is really informative and I’m really starting to think more about trying Clean Eating!! Thanks for sending me the link :)

  6. naimavanswol says:

    love the clean eating! i NEED to start this, for real!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thank you. It’s pretty easy when you have some guidance. Once I get the hang of it I will try my hand at some of my own concoctions. Thanks for stopping by :)

  7. T Hollis says:

    Looks like a great day of meals. I have been struggling of late with my food choices… Gotta get back on target!
    Thanks for following my Posts!

Leave a Reply

