Clean Eating: Day 12 & 13

I can’t believe I have gotten this far.  Only one more day left of clean eating and I have reached my goal.  I have learned so much about food during these last two weeks.  I have also become a believer that less is more.  My body is feeling better than ever and I’m starting to get a hang of the clean eating rhythm.

Here is a look at what I have been munching on the last few days…

1.  Breakfast:  Tofu Scramble (4 egg whites sautéed with 4 oz chopped extra firm tofu, 2 cups frozen peas and carrots, 1/8 tsp each dried oregano, onion powder and garlic powder, tossed with 1/4 cup cottage cheese, served over 2 cups spinach sautéed in 1 tsp olive oil).

2.  Snack #1:  1 whole grain fig bar, 2 tbsp raw sprouted almonds.

3.  Lunch:  Salmon Fajitas (3 oz salmon roasted, 1 cup chopped green cabbage, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, 2 tbsp salsa among 3 sprouted corn tortillas).

4.  Snack #2:  6 oz Greek yogurt and 2 tbsp walnuts

5.  Dinner:  4 oz chicken, 3 oz baked sweet potato, 1 cup green beans sautéed in 1 tsp olive oil with 1 cup sliced zucchini and 1 clove minced garlic.

Highlights:  As simple as it was, dinner was by far my favorite meal today.  I love green beans and zucchini on their own, but mixed together they were even more delicious!  And I am a sucker for sweet potatoes.  To top it off, you can’t go wrong with a serving of juicy chicken breast.  Super easy, super yummy!

Lowlights:  Veggies are great, but not at this magnitude so early in the morning.  Unfortunately breakfast was a bust.  There was a bit too much going on and I was put off by all of the components mixed together.  I would prefer to eat more veggies later in the day than for my first meal.  Fruit sounds a lot better.  I will not be trying this combo again :(

1.  Breakfast:  1 cup Greek yogurt blended with 1 cup chopped strawberries, spread on 2 lightly salted brown rice cakes, sprinkled with 2 tbsp walnuts.

2.  Snack:  2 mandarin oranges, 2 tbsp almonds.

3.  Lunch:  Chicken Salad (2 cups chopped lettuce, 1/2 cup drained and rinsed pinto beans, 1/4 avocado peeled and pitted and diced, 2 oz chopped chicken breast, tossed with 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 tsp Dijon and 1 clove minded garlic)

4.  Snack #2:  1 cup cottage cheese, 1 chopped peach, 1 tbsp flaxseeds and 1 stalk celery

5.  Dinner:  Slow Cooked Pork with Peach BBQ Sauce, Slaw and Greens (see recipe below)

Highlights:  Dinner was a home run!  And I made my own BBQ sauce :)  I am so proud of myself.  Freddie said it was his favorite part of the meal.  Which means, I will be making this BBQ more often.  I bet it would be lovely on some chicken breast or as a pizza sauce :)  Yum!

Lowlights:  No lowlights today.  Going out on a high note.  Everything was scrumptious!

Slow-Cooker Pork with Peach BBQ Sauce, Slaw and Greens

Ingredients 

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 small peach, peeled, pitted and chopped

15 oz can diced tomatoes

6 oz tomato paste

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 lb pork tenderloin, trimmed of visible fat

1 bunch collard greens, trimmed and chopped

Slaw

Juice 1 orange

1 lime, zested and juiced

2 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1 1/2 cups green cabbage, shredded

1 1/2 cups purple cabbage, shredded

1 carrot, peeled, trimmed and grated

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

Preparation

1.  Prepare BBQ sauce:  In a large skillet, heat oil on medium-high heat.  Add onion and sauté, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 3 minutes.  Reduce heat to medium and add garlic and peach.  Stir until combined and fragrant, about 3 minutes.  Stir in tomatoes, tomato paste, vinegar, maple syrup and Worcestershire sauce.  Cook, stirring occasionally for 15 minutes.  Transfer mixture to a large bowl.  With an immersion blender, puree until smooth.  (Alternatively, puree mixture in a food processor or upright blender.)  Wipe out skillet.

2.  Place pork in 3-qt slow-cooker.  Add BBQ sauce, cover and cook for 4 to 6 hours on high or 8 to 10 hours on low, until an instant-read thermometer registers at 145 degrees F when inserted in center of pork.  (Oven Option:  Add pork and BBQ sauce to an oven-safe pot or roasting pan with tight-fitting lid.  Cover and bake at 425 degrees F for 45 minutes or until cooked through.

3.  Meanwhile, prepare slaw.  In a separate large bowl, whisk orange juice, lime zest and juice and yogurt.  Add cabbage, carrot and cilantro.  Cover and refrigerate until chilled, 20 minutes to 1 hour.

4.  In a skillet, heat 1/4 cup water on medium.  Add collard greens and cook, stirring occasionally, until bright green, about 3 minutes.

Recipe from Clean Eating

With one more day to go, I consider this my farewell meal.  This dinner was the best combination of foods yet.  The pork is sure to become a household staple.  And I love the way it paired with the crisp, bright flavors of the slaw.  The greens were delicious to help soak up the extra BBQ sauce (another homemade first!).  I can not wait to make this again.  And again.  And again.

Day 13 may have been my highlight for this Clean Eating Journey.  Either that or I am just a clean eating pro now :)  Either way I am satisfied.  Looking forward to my last day tomorrow.  Stay tuned for the conclusion…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 12 & 13

  1. Amy says:

    That’s pretty amazing! I believe sometimes it is best to go to the extreme so you understand what the best balance is for your day to day life. Kudos for trying something so tough!

  2. naimeless says:

    I’m definitely trying the salmon fajitas!

  3. Oooh- very happy to see you shared the Peach BBQ sauce recipe- that sounds amazing. And I love the idea of salmon fajitas!

    • inherchucks says:

      I was so excited about the peach bbq sauce. So simple, I will be making this on a regular basis for sure. Screw store bought!

      Fajitas were indeed a yummy treat. And I learned how to bake the salmon from your coriander and cilantro salmon recipe :)

  4. Putty4343 says:

    You are an inspiration!

  5. A peach BBQ sauce sounds amazing! I’ll have to give this a try! Thanks so much for sharing this at Mom’s Test Meal Mondays!

Leave a Reply

