Clean Eating: Day 14

I did it!  I crossed the finish line :)  I completed 2 weeks of clean eating (currently doing a victory lap around my living room…).

Before I get to my last day of clean eats, I want to reflect a little bit on my journey.  I am so glad that I decided to experiment with clean eating.  It is amazing how well you can eat when you are aware of what you are putting into your body.  It takes a lot of preparation, organization and time, but it is worth it.  It’s your body, and it is the only one you got.  So you better treat it right!

As I was contemplating what to eat for breakfast tomorrow (since, in truth I could have pancakes if I wanted to), I started to think about the ingredients that go into pancakes.  In the midst of my thoughts I began to pick out all of the things I was able to live without for 2 weeks.  Things like all-purpose flour, baking powder, sugar, and the list goes on and on.  None of those foods are considered “whole foods”.  They do a heck of a job making cookies, brownies and pancakes (which I LOVE), but they muck up my body and weigh me down.  And being free of them for 2 weeks made such a difference in how I felt both physically and emotionally.

So am I ever going to eat pancakes again?  You BETCHA!  But I will do my best to make it a special occasion.  And when I do, my goal is to be aware of what I am putting into my body and how I feel afterwards.  And then of course how that compares to how I feel when I eat these type of meals…

Breakfast:

Strawberry Shake:  1 cup frozen strawberries, 1 cup milk, 2 tbsp vanilla whey powder and ice

1 slice Ezekiel bread toasted with 1 tbsp almond butter

Snack #1:

1 cup Greek yogurt

2 tbsp each raisins and walnuts

Lunch:

Bean Tortillas:  1 cup pinto beans (drained and rinsed), 1 string cheese (peeled) divided between 2 sprouted corn tortillas baked at 400 degrees F for 10 minutes.  Garnished with 1/4 avocado (peeled and chopped) and 2 tbsp salsa.

Snack #2:

1 carrot, 1 stalk celery, 1 peach, 1 string cheese

Dinner:

Beef and Rice Bowl:  3 oz beef tenderloin, chopped and seared in 1 tsp olive oil, 1 cup chopped green beans sautéed with 1/8 red onion, and 1/2 cup cooked brown rice all tossed with 1/4 inch ginger, minced, 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice and 1/2 tsp tamari

Highlights:  Dinner was spectacular!  This wasn’t the first yummy stir fry I have had during this clean eating journey.  And each time I make one, it seems to get better and better. I am looking forward to enjoying a lot more stir fry in the future :)

Lowlights:  No lowlights today.  Everything was delicious!

Well, that’s it folks!  I completed my two week Clean Eating Journey.  My goal is to take what I learned during this time and apply it to my every day life.  I’m excited to recreate some of my favorite meals again.  A “greatest hits” of clean eating.  And then, starting Monday, I will be back on the wagon with another 2 week meal plan.

Your turn:  I would love to hear your thoughts and questions on clean eating.  Did this series spark any interest in changing any eating habits in your life.  Do you think you could go without processed foods for any length of time?  Have you embarked on any similar journey in the past?  I look forward to hearing your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Day 14

  1. Clean eating is hard to do. A massive change of thought and habit. Be proud of what you accomplished and remember health is a journey. :) Happy Eating.

  2. My boyfriend is a vegetarian, and when we first started dating I realized his version of “vegetarian” meant, “I will eat as much cheese as possible.” Not the cleanest eating possible. Now we tend to cook my-rules vegetarian (lots of veggies, a sensible amount of cheeses and creams) and make all our own salsas/sauces…he even makes a better, fresh, homemade enchilada sauce than I do, now. It’s a commitment, but what you really need is some imagination and you’re off to a good start. Congratulations!

  3. foodyrach says:

    Congratulations on making it to your goal! It feels amazing to accomplish something difficult, but also feels good to have a clean system. :) Thanks for sharing your journey with all of us.

  4. Way to go. Keep it up. You will feel awesome. The food you make looks really yummy. You should send your story to Clean Eating Magazine or to their website. The food you made looks as good as theirs.

  5. Tammy says:

    Great job making it for 14 days. If it makes you feel good, then you should do it! I love to eat raw food and feel so good when I do but also learned that if I am trying to make nice meals for my family, being raw stressed me out. Now a do it for 7 -10 meals a week.

    • inherchucks says:

      I plan on making it a regular thing. It’s all about making small changes slowly. I am looking forward to doing another strict meal plan next week so I can gather some more info on other clean meals/snacks, etc. Thanks for your support Tammy!

  6. naimavanswol says:

    i hope you feel proud of yourself. thats a huge accomplishment! i would love to try it, myself. just out of curiosity, did you lose weight? i;m obsessed with trying to be skinny! lol!

  7. Addison says:

    Great Job! Following along for the past 2 weeks definitely inspired me to make some changes to my recent diet.

Leave a Reply

