Sweet Potato Peanut Butter Blondies

As much as I am enjoying my clean eating journey, I do have one reservation.  Sweets.  I can live without them for a short period of time, but if I am going to change my lifestyle for good then I need some sort of sinful indulgence to keep me sane.  And these blondies are definitely it!  Whether or not you practice clean eating, you are going to want to eat these.  They are moist, gooey and peanut buttery and pair perfectly with a glass of cold milk.

When it comes to baking, I usually stick to what I know.  I have never tried using any kind of substitutes (like applesauce or yogurt).  But the idea of using sweet potatoes in a baked good intrigued me.  I happen to love sweet potatoes so I figured if they didn’t taste anything like a blondie, they would at least still be delicious.  I was also excited to try Sucanat.  Sucanat (which stands for Sugar Cane Natural) is pure dried sugar cane juice and a clean eating answer to refined sugar.  The texture is quite coarse compared to other forms of sweeteners, but the result is simply divine.

As excited as I was to make these, the truth is, I was a bit apprehensive about the final result.  With so many new ingredients I was unsure about what to expect.  Could clean eating really deliver with a delectable dessert?  Heck yes!  Which means my quest to find a sweet treat that is in line with my new lifestyle is fulfilled :)  Now if I could only figure out a trick to not eat the whole pan…

Want to give the recipe a go?  Check it out here.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Peanut Butter Blondies

  1. naimavanswol says:

    Yummy! Those look amazing!

  2. astrid henao says:

    Oh Heather Yum! I have got to try these! Thanks for finding a dessert was wondering if it was possible. :-)

  3. Thank you for the “clean” dessert. They are a must, I agree. There really are some delicious healthy treats out there. One just has to search a little bit. I think it is great that you are trying to experiment with substituting healthy alternatives. It really saves on calories without sacrificing taste, and it is much healthier, and therefore, no guilt! I have found that you can pretty much substitute a lot and still get amazing results. If you are getting Clean Eating Magazine, they always have a good recipe or two for desserts. They are in back issues, but if you can find the Chocolate Cherry Drop Cookies or the Lime Cheesecake Bars, I highly recommend you try them.

  4. naimeless says:

    This looks amazing and moist. It sounds a lot like a sweat potato pie my mom used to make, but without the crust. I’m definitely going to try them!

  5. cathyo says:

    They sound fantastic. I absolutely love sweet potatoes, so can’t wait to try this one out!! Keep the great recipes coming!

  6. Melissa says:

    Ummm shoot. I’m totally making these when/if I get sweet potatoes. I would if I could do this with pumpkin…

  7. Emma Madison says:

    Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing. Absolutely delicious. It’s also good this way…take just 1/2 a brownie and crumple it up with some cut-up strawberries and a dollop of Greek yogurt. Yummy!

  8. Kimberly Payne Lee says:

    Is there anyway you still have this recipe somewhere. Something is wrong with clean eatings website and I cant find my printed copy anywhere! I love these bars!!!!

    • inherchucks says:

      oh no! I used to have the recipe posted on my blog but clean eating magazine asked me to remove it and leave only the link. I hope you can find it soon. I love these bars too!

Leave a Reply

