Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 6 & 7

It’s funny how one’s perception of the weekend changes over time.  I can remember when I was little, weekends meant sleepovers, watching cartoons and donuts (mmmm….donuts!).  Once I got a little older, weekends were about staying out late, partying and sleeping the day away (oh what I wouldn’t give to sleep the day away…).  Now, my weekends are a success if I get out of bed by 8, stay in my pjs as long as possible and spend lots of time as a family.

So, taking my current standards into consideration, I would say this weekend was a home run!  I was able to get done all of the things I set out to do.  Pedicure?  Check!  Make naughty clean eating dessert?  Check!  Snuggle with my baby (and take a 3 hour nap!)?  Check!  Play a late night game of Scattergories with the hubby?  Check!  Eat delicious, clean food?  Check!  Pretty nice little Saturday if you ask me (although I didn’t have time to go to Bed, Bath and Beyond…)!  And my tummy is happy too…

1.  Breakfast:  1 cup Greek yogurt topped with 2 pluots, pitted and chopped and 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds

2.  Snack #1:  1 cup halved grape tomatoes, 1 oz mozzarella, cubed, 1 tsp olive oil, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar and 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning

3.  Lunch:  1 serving Five-Spice Pork with Sweet and Sour Broccoli

4.  After Lunch Treat:  1 Sweet Potato Peanut Butter Blondie

5.  Snack:  Melon Smoothie and 20 Popchips

6.  Dinner:  4 oz chicken, 3 cups arugula sauteed in 1 tsp olive oil and 1 tsp red wine vinegar, 1 cup cooked quinoa, handful of steamed broccoli

Highlights:  Although it is obvious that the Sweet Potato Peanut Butter Blondie was the highlight of my life day, since it’s not on the meal plan it’s not in the running for a shout out.  So I will have to go with the deconstructed caprese salad I had for my snack.  I have never thought to make it this way but it was super delish!  Only wish there was a bit more to be enjoyed…

Lowlights:  As much as I like the pepperiness of arugula, I wasn’t a fan of it warm.  The sauté didn’t turn out as yummy as I had hoped.  I think in that future I will stick with cold arugula on salads and sandwiches.

1.  Breakfast:  Banana- Nut Oatmeal (Combine 3/4 cup cooked oats, 1/4 cup cooked teff, 1 banana, sliced, 1 tsp honey, 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 10 hazelnuts, chopped)

2.  Snack #1:  1 apple sliced and 2 tbsp almond butter

3.  Lunch:  Ginger Tofu Stir-fry (3 oz tofu, chopped, sautéed in 1 tsp olive oil with 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped, 1/2 zucchini, chopped, 1/2 cup green beans, 1 tsp low sodium soy sauce and 1/4 tsp peeled and minced ginger on top of 1 cup cooked brown rice).

4.  Snack #2:  Vanilla Peach Treat

5.  Dinner:  Hearty Salmon Penne (1/2 cup corn, 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup navy beans, 3 leaves basil, chopped, 3/4 cup cooked whole wheat penne, 3 oz broiled salmon tossed with 1 tsp olive oil)

6.  After Dinner Treat:  1 Sweet Potato Peanut Butter Blondie with 1 cup milk

Highlights:  Breakfast was divine!  It was just what I needed to get my day started off right :)  I love the combination of the oats and the teff.  Makes for an interesting and delicious texture.  I will most definitely be enjoying this again.

Lowlights:  Not too sure about the salmon pasta.  I like salmon and I like pasta.  But together?  Not a match made in heaven.  Which is why I decided to reward myself with a blondie for dessert :)

After some good rest, pretty pink toes and a clean eating dessert fix, I’m ready to start my week off on the right foot :)  Happy Monday!

ps:  How was your weekend?

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 6 & 7

  1. Lauren says:

    Ah, sleeping in. I remember that! It was fun, wasn’t it?

  2. My friend just told me about your blog and said you were eating clean. I am doing the same thing and have been trying to find fun desserts and meals for my family that are fun and tasty!
    Thanks for sharing all your stuff! Love it! (and i love chucks even though i’ve never owned a pair for myself :/ )

  3. Sherry says:

    My mantra lately has been: “My time will come.” Then I fantasize (usually at the 0200 feeding) about all the things I will do when “that time” arrives!

Leave a Reply

