Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 9 & WIAW

Time for a quick poll.  When you have a recipe that calls for an obscure ingredient, how far are you willing to go to get it?  How many stores are you willing to visit?  Or would you rather just find a suitable substitute?  I ask because my lunch today took a bit of work.  Not to cook, but I had to go to a few different stores until I found what I needed (which ended up being an Asian market).  There are times when I am willing to substitute ingredients, but if it is my first time making it, I want to try it the way it was intended.  But then again, that’s the good ole’ OCD in me :)  (By the way, if you are wondering what I was so adamant about finding, it was Thai basil and rice vermicelli noodles.  ps: Totally worth the trip!)

Now back to the important stuff.  The food.  Today was filled with delicious eats.  Not a bad meal in the bunch.  And as far as summer staples are concerned?  Let’s just say I sailed away to a tropical island.  Pineapple, berries, fish.  Sounds pretty summery to me!

Breakfast:Egg & Pepper Sandwich:  1/4 cup each Vidalia onion, red bell pepper, and yellow bell pepper and 3 egg whites sautéed in 1 tsp olive oil  on top of 1 whole wheat English muffin.

Snack #1:1/2 cup each Greek yogurt and cottage cheese and chopped pineapple topped with 2 tbsp chopped pecans.

Lunch:Thai Pasta:  4 oz tofu (cubed), 1/2 carrot (peeled and shredded), 1/2 zucchini (shredded) sautéed with 1 tbsp peanut butter and 1 tsp soy sauce tossed with 2 cups vermicelli noodles and 2 leaves Thai basil (chopped)

Snack #2:2 oz Swiss cheese

1 1/2 cups mixed sliced strawberries and blueberries tossed with 1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Dinner:4 oz cod, seasoned with 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning and baked

2 cups chopped green beans sautéed with Vidalia onion and 1 tsp olive oil

1 cup cooked brown rice

Highlights:  Again, everything was pretty darn delicious, but the highlight was definitely the pineapple/yogurt concoction.  It was magical and reminded me of our honeymoon (in Turks and Caicos!)  I am a big fan of Chobani’s Pineapple Greek Yogurt and this was a great way to make your own.  The nuts gave it that extra crunch.  Nummy, num!

Lowlights:  No lowlights for me.  Simply scrumptious :)

As we say goodbye to the final days of summer, I am looking forward to all the goodness fall has to offer (including my 30 birthday!).  I will miss the long summer days and awesome selection of produce but can’t wait to start indulging in some of my favorite cold weather treats (apples and pumpkin galore!).

Hope you all have a wonderful Hump Day!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 9 & WIAW

  1. Your lunch looks & sounds incredible!

  2. 1. I love your breakfast plate!
    2. So great, I just wanted to really dive my nose into clean eating in September, so definitely checking back for more clean eating recaps here ;)
    Happy What I Ate Wednesday.

  3. adelewayah says:

    I usually don’t go to very much effort to obtain obscure ingredients. I usually google the name of it plus the word “substitute” and go from there. That’s part of the reason that none of my “vegan” recipes ever turn out to actually be vegan…

  4. I don’t usually go to much effort to get the ingredient…if a recipe has too many ingredients that I don’t have (even if they are pretty “normal”) or if there’s something really obscure, I usually just skip the recipe altogether and find something else. I don’t have much patience- ha!

  5. When’s your birthday, girlie? I’m September 24. Why do I have a feeling you are an October? I have too many friends that are Octobers. :)

  6. kokostanley says:

    YUM lunch looks AMAZING!!!!

  7. Erin says:

    Lunch looks so good! Will have to give it a try :)

Leave a Reply

