What’s in the Box? #41

 

It’s hard to believe that today is the last Wednesday of August.  This summer went by way too fast.  But like they say, time flies when you are having fun.  And there definitely hasn’t been a shortage of fun around here :)

Speaking of fun, is there anything more fun than a produce party?  Organic and local veggies galore.  Just can’t get enough of these seasonal fruits and veggies.  Last week we had 42 link ups!  Reminds me of candles on a cake.  Forty-one to celebrate this week’s party and one to grow on :)  And it seems like everyone is still up to their ears in tomatoes!  Tomato soup, tomato salad, tomato pasta, tomato rice and of course tomato bruschetta.  Nice to know that we have a wide variety of recipes to choose from.  Keep your delicious dishes coming.  This party wouldn’t be the same without you :)

And let’s be honest, there wouldn’t be a party without this veggie swag.  So let’s get to the goodies…

I know you can’t see what’s inside, but rumor has it that my watermelon is yellow.  I have yet to slice it open to verify but I think I can take my CSA’s word for it.  I have been drooling over many of my party goers yellow watermelons all summer.  So I am over the moon that I get to enjoy one of my own :)

I was also a bit too excited to see those sugar snap peas.  They are such a sweet little veggie.  Makes me want to indulge in a plate of Pork Chops with Sugar Snap Peas in a Mint Julep Glaze.  Not totally clean, but not terrible either.  Mmmm….I am drooling already!

Another dish I am eager to make is my Halibut with Oranges.  It’s super easy and actually, totally clean!    It has been a while since I have made it and it is one of Harper’s favorite meals.  So looks like those oranges will be swimming in my skillet in no time.

I have already used up a bunch of carrots and some of that lettuce and the tomatoes and apples are next to go.  Lots of clean meals to be made for our last week of clean eating.  One of the first things I am sure Freddie will enjoy are those fragrant onions.  He has been in the mood for a big breakfast and is already planning his victory meal Monday morning.  Sausage, eggs with onions and who knows what else might make an appearance.  The boy LOVES breakfast.  In fact, if left to his own devices, he would eat it for every meal.  Yet another reason why having a wife comes in handy ;)

As for me, I am going to do my best to stay on track.  Which means I am going to be enjoying that celery for snack, after snack, after snack.  With peanut or almond butter of course :)  Because I need some excitement in my life!

And finally, it’s nice to see some kale.  So many wonderful ideas come to my head when I think of kale.  Soup, saladchips.  You know you have been part of your CSA too long when you crave the goodness of kale.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!  PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

45 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #41

  1. I don’t see any basil in your box, but we’re still getting it every week here in Massachusetts. I linked a recipe for pesto cream cheese spread. Congratulations on the yellow watermelon – that sounds so fun!

  2. […] to Fat Tuesday, Traditional Tuesdays, What’s in the Box? Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like3 bloggers like […]

  3. Melissa says:

    That pork chop recipe looks fantastic! I’m definitely going to have to try that one. Thanks!

  4. I just saw yellow watermelon at the orchard market last weekend for the first time ever. Crazy when you think there are only three kinds — watermelon, cantaloupe, and honeydew — and then you come to discover that’s just what the fruit cups of America have done to you — limited your melon exposure!

  5. I made an amazing Summer Stew (at least that’s what I am calling it) and cooked up all my CSA veggies in one pot. Come check it out http://donteatcrapblog.com/2012/08/29/summer-stew-over-whole-wheat-noodles/

  6. Lucy says:

    That’s a really nice mix of produce. You have all the makings for mirepoix and celery isn’t easy to grow. We’re just getting apples in Washington…saw a variety last week that look similar to yours called Williams Pride. Have a great week.

    • inherchucks says:

      Love mirepoix! Just makes everything extra yummy :)

      I grew some celery in my garden. Definitely made me appreciate those crunchy, strongly sticks.

      Williams pride, huh? They called them Gravenstein. But I’ll have to check that out. It’s amazing how many different varieties of apples there are! Looking forward to some pink ladies :)

  7. CSA #16 | says:

    […] am linked up over at InHerChucks to her What’s in the Box post! Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreStumbleUponEmailDiggLinkedInRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  8. […] I’m linking up with the What’s in the Box series at In Her Chucks.  Check out some other great CSA-inspired recipes here! Share this:Like […]

  9. Lucy says:

    I spent all last winter craving my CSA’s leafy greens – definitely understand where you’re coming from! I’m so excited that I get bunches of kale and chard every week.

  10. […] sync, rather than scrambling to catch up and back-post and all that, and can join in the wonderful CSA link party round-up over at that grand uniter of CSA bloggers, In Her Chucks. […]

  11. scrumptious says:

    In contrast to everyone else, I’ve had barely any tomatoes this summer! Super strange, and something I’ve never experienced with a summer CSA. They’re not my favorite food, though, so it’s not a huge hardship, just odd. Your box looks yummy this week, sort of on the cusp between summer and fall. This week I am attempting to deal with my potato surplus, not a bad task to have to take on. :) And I am totally with you on the kale-joy!

  12. I have grown a yellow watermelon variety before! <3

  13. graceyb says:

    I made a wonderful dinner just throwing together most of the things in my CSA box this week. I call it CSA Stew! http://graceyb.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/1069/

  14. It’s always a surprise for me whether our CSA watermelons will be red or yellow!

  15. […] Do you know the blog In Her Chucks? The author does a weekly “What’s In The Box” post and encourages other CSA […]

  16. Alli Ferraro says:

    Hi! Thanks so much for stopping by and for the lead on your CSA link up! I’m loving it!! I can’t wait to check out the rest of your blog. Happy weekend!

    ~alli
    http://Www.biggreenparentingexperiment.com

  17. Melissa says:

    Gorgeous celery! I’m jealous!

  18. Brigid says:

    I linked up and then linked back!

    I LOVE yellow watermelon. It probably doesn’t actually taste different from the normal variety, but I swear it has a slightly firmer texture that I adore. You can’t go wrong with sugar snap peas either! I haven’t had any in so long, but they pair so wonderfully with ginger in a stir fry.

    • inherchucks says:

      I have never tried sugar snap peas with ginger. I like them with a little bit of lemon juice and zest. Some ginger would take them to a whole new level. Thanks for sharing Brigid! And thanks for linking up :)

    • Melissa says:

      OH my I just got yellow watermelon this year with my CSA, I love it! I found it a bit sweeter than the red one I was getting, but it might have just been riper. But I agree that its slightly firmer!

  19. […] week, I link up to In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” series. Check out this week’s edition for produce shares from all over! Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  20. emmycooks says:

    How fun to see what everyone is cooking! I think this is a fun idea and I added my link to that tomato and eggplant tart. Thanks for the invitation! And wow, I can’t wait to get watermelon from my CSA–try this cold Thai watermelon soup!

  21. […] out all of the veggies at InHerChucks’ link party! I’ve got to see if anyone else has those “stuffing” […]

  22. Beth says:

    We loved our yellow watermelon! I never had the chance to do anything with it – we gobbled it up fresh. :)

  23. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeBe the […]

  24. Alyson says:

    I got yellow watermelon a few times in my CSA last year. It was my first time trying it. So good! I hope we get some more this year!

  25. Kelly says:

    Yellow watermelon sounds intriguing! Does it taste different than the regular pink-red kind?

    Also – linkin’ up! :)

    http://vegga.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/whats-in-the-box-summer-2012-csa-week-seven/

  26. […] CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link. http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/30/whats-in-the-box-41/. Hope to see you […]

Leave a Reply

