Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 13

Before I got married, my brother and I had the pleasure of living together for a year.  Even though we were both adults at the time, learning how to navigate the world on our own, we never took each other too seriously.  Whether it was taking out the trash or doing the dishes, we turned everything into a game.  One of our favorite games to play was to see who could go the longest without putting on a proper pair of pants.  What I mean by that is, who could wear their pajamas for the most hours in broad daylight.  So on days like today, when I made it until 4pm before I got myself dressed to go to the store, I have a special sense of pride for wearing my jammies past the noon hour.  I am also reminded of the fun times my brother and I use to have :)

So now that you know all about my weekend fashion secrets, why don’t I go ahead and reveal my daily eats…

Breakfast:

3/4 cup cooked Bob’s Red Mill 10-Grain Hot Cereal, 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, 1 apple, chopped, and 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Snack #1:

15 grapes

2 oz Swiss cheese

Lunch:

Herb and Tomato Cod: 1 cup tomatoes, chopped, tossed with 1/2 cup chopped parsley, 1 clove garlic, crushed, and 1 tsp olive oil placed on top of 4 oz cod and baked.  Served with 1 cup brown rice and 1 cup steamed broccoli.

Snack #2:

1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1 banana, sliced, 10 pecans, crushed

Dinner:

Mango-Pepper Stir-Fry: 4 oz sirloin steak, 1 sliced green bell pepper, 1/2 each red and yellow bell pepper, sliced and 1/2 peeled, pitted and sliced mango, sautéed in 1 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp peeled and minced ginger and 1 tsp soy sauce.

Highlights:  Dinner was definitely the highlight of the day.  Meat and mangoes make me a happy girl.

Lowlights:  No lowlights today.  Everything was palatable :)

Tomorrow is my last “official” day of clean eating as it is the last day of my structured meal plan.  My fridge and pantry are starting to look a little leaner.  I am looking forward to putting some of my favorite meals on repeat and trying out some new clean eating recipes as well.  Stay tuned for tomorrow’s wrap up post.

Hope you all enjoy your Sunday!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Clean Eating: Round 2/Day 13

  1. emmycooks says:

    I love the pj game. I even play it by myself some days. :)

  2. Heather, I just LOVE you blog…I feel as if I am sitting at your kitchen table and you are telling me stories…:)

    Love U 3

    Dad

Leave a Reply

