Fresh as a Daisy

There is no better scent then that of a freshly bathed baby. I can remember when I was little, my mom would pull me out of the bath tub, wrap me up in a warm towel and nestle her nose in the nape of my neck. She would take a big, long whiff followed by a bright smile and whisper “Fresh as a daisy!”. It always made me giggle.

But don’t we all want to be fresh as a daisy? I mean, in some ways it seems that our culture is obsessed with it. Have you ever walked through the fragrance section of a department store? A bit overwhelming (and quite stinky if you ask me…). Which is why I tend to stick with items that are fragrance-free. Whether it be with my body soap, lotion, or facial cleanser, I like it to be plain jane. Except my deodorant…got to use something potent. Or so I thought.

A few weeks ago a company by the name of 30SomeWeeks.com contacted me to see if I would be interested in doing a review of their all natural deodorant, DeodoMom. For someone who is passionate about going green and keeping things “clean” (chemical free) inside and out, you would think I would be the perfect candidate. The truth is, my journey to find a deodorant that actually works has been rough. I have pretty much tried it all (including the natural brands). So since finally finding one that does the job (I wear Secret…*hangs me head in shame) I am a bit reluctant to change-up my routine. But after reading more about the company and their products, I decided to give it a try.

Here is some of the information that helped to change my mind. In short, most deodorants and antiperspirants on the market today (including ones that consider themselves “natural”) are chock full of yucky chemicals. Chemicals that, when accumulated in excess, can be harmful. So finding an alternative way to keep myself dry and smelling great quickly became a high priority.

When the products arrived, I couldn’t wait to put them to the test. It is the perfect time of year to see how well these products work because of how hot the weather has been. That on top of the fact that I am running after a very active toddler and teaching two music classes a day and I am pretty much a sweaty mess by the time evening rolls around.

In my package I received a Rollon applicator and a jar of cream. I was most intrigued by the cream because I have never seen a deodorant come in that form before. I was also interested to see how applying it with your hands would work. To my surprise it wasn’t as messy and gross as I was anticipating. It had a nice smooth consistency and washed off easily. Both the Rollon and the cream contain the same ingredients, it just comes down to personal preference.

In order to give the product a fair chance, I decided to wear the cream deodorant for one week straight, applying it to my underarms after my morning shower. To my surprise, by the end of the day, I still felt just as fresh and clean as I did when it was first applied. Which means, this stuff must be made of magic.

DeodoMom is made from magnesium hydroxide (a mineral safe enough to eat) and water. It contains no aluminum, no alcohol/glycol, is free of all fragrances, dyes and parabens and is 100% vegan. Created by a husband and wife team with a goal to minimize exposure to aluminum during pregnancy, it is a great product for expectant mothers or any health-conscious person regardless of gender or age. Overall, it is a product that you can feel good about having in your medicine cabinet, knowing that it is both safe and effective.

So, are you ready to feel fresh as a daisy? Click here to order your own supply of DeodoMom today. And don’t forget to check them out on Facebook and Twitter for up to date product info and promotions.

*Full Disclosure: 30SomeWeeks.com did provide me with a sample of their DeodoMom Rollon and cream deodorant free of charge. I was not paid to write this post. With exception of some of the factual information given about the various products, all opinions regarding the products are my own and 100% honest.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Fresh as a Daisy

  1. I am intrigued too! Did you notice any anti-perspirant effects as well?

    • inherchucks says:

      oh definitely…I didn’t sweat at all!

      • Really? Oh wow. Okay, going onto website now!

      • inherchucks says:

        Yeah, like I said in the review, this product was surprisingly successful. I am very picky when it comes to deodorant and have tried my share of natural alternatives (which by the way are also usually chock full of nasty chemicals…). But this one actually worked! So I am a true believer now and feel it necessary to spread the word :) Let me know if you have any more questions…

      • Did you try the roll-on too? Cream preferred?

      • inherchucks says:

        I tried both but I preferred the cream. It went on like lotion and wasn’t too sticky or gooey. It helps to wash your hands afterwards though. I am in talks with the company to try and get a giveaway going so if you think you can hold tight you might have a chance to win a product :)

      • Oooh! Giveaway! Okay, will wait to see!

        I have also been on the lookout for the longest time for a product that was not too expensive, natural, and effectively controlled sweat and odor. The best I came up with is Monica Olsen’s Dry, which doesn’t actually keep you that dry. It keeps you dryer than nothing, but it still is just okay.

        Will hang tight!

  2. Alli Ferraro says:

    First of all, I couldn’t agree more about the smell of a clean baby! Heaven! And secondly, this sounds like a miracle! Did it leave any residue or flaking on your clothes (like tank tops)? I’ve tried every option sans aluminum with no luck. Thank you so much for trying this and for passing along your findings! I can’t WAIT to check it out.

    http://www.biggreenparentingexperiment.com

  3. […] at the end of the July but I am finally getting around to finishing it now. I saw a post over at In Her Chucks that reminded me I still hadn’t made public my little, uh, “experiment”. So here […]

  4. Marcia says:

    Tried the roll-on this weekend. It really works!!! Thanks for the information, I’ve tried a lot of “natural” deodorants, too, and they sure didn’t work very well. This was a great surprise.

    • inherchucks says:

      I am so glad you found success with DeodoMom. I am happy I could pass on the info. If you are interested in purchasing more, 30someweeks have offered my readers a special discount. Send me your email and I will send you the link to order.

Leave a Reply

