Seedy Orange Zest Muffins

Today I went on a baking spree.  I couldn’t help myself.  I had muffins on my mind.  I started with the intention of making a batch of Zucchini Apple Spice Muffins after receiving just the right ingredients in my box this week (which were absolutely amazing!).  And then decided, why not go for another round?

This past Wednesday I was introduced to a melt in your mouth, zingy delight.  I showed up at one of my music classes to the aroma of yumminess.  My girlfriend Cynthia was at it again, baking up another homemade recipe of healthy goodness.  I took one bite, and I was in heaven.  I had a craving for more.  So while we were out today, I made a pit stop at Whole Foods to pick up a few ingredients and dashed home to get busy.

These muffins hit the spot for a variety of reasons.  For one, they are incredibly moist.  No really, like buttah baby :)  Secondly, they have just enough zest to make them exciting.  A soft, subtle undertone of citrus that adds a lovely brightness to each bite.  And finally, the chia seeds not only help to create a crunchy texture, but they also add omega-3s, antioxidants and help to balance blood sugar.  Not bad for a simple baked good :)

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, divided and softened

1 cup Sucanat

1 egg + 1 egg yolk

1/2 cup plain organic whole milk yogurt

1 cup sprouted whole wheat flour

½ cup almond flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

2 tablespoon chia seeds

1 tablespoon orange zest

3 tablespoons orange juice

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Grease 12 cup muffin pan with 1 tbsp softened butter.  In medium bowl, whisk together flours, salt and baking soda.  Using a stand mixer, cream remaining butter and Sucanat on medium speed.  Once combined, add eggs, and yogurt.  Continue to mix until blended.  Add dry ingredients and mix until just moist.  Finally add seeds, orange zest and juice and mix until combined.  Fill prepared muffin tins 2/3 full. Bake for 17 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the muffin comes out clean.

Oh, did I mention that this recipe is clean?  By using ingredients like sprouted whole wheat flour, almond flour and Sucanat, you can create a delicious snack without refined sugar or highly processed grains.  Which means I have yet another “naughty treat” that I can enjoy without the guilt :)  Love it!

PS:  Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  Only 3 days left to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comment acts are your entry into the giveaway.  Good luck!  

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Seedy Orange Zest Muffins

  1. naimavanswol says:

    those look so good i can almost smell them.

  2. Melissa says:

    Love these, they look awesome! I love the addition of the orange! mmmmm… How do you do sprouted flour, or do you buy it like that?

    • inherchucks says:

      I bought sprouted flour. It was easy to find at Whole Foods. The brand I got was Arrowhead Mills. But the same friend who I got the muffin recipe from is going to make her own sprouted flour…so I may have some real life tips soon :)

  3. these are adorable!!! and if they are seedy too…all the better!

  4. I was on a baking bender this weekend too, though this looks far more nutritious than what I was making. :) Very delicious, nonetheless. I love the orange flavors with the poppy!

Leave a Reply

