What I Ate Wednesday #6

 

September 11th.  A day that will forever be remembered in our country’s history.  I am sure we can all recall where we were when we heard the news.  The reality of the events were shocking.  But the way that our country came together to support one another was encouraging.  As a family member of an active serviceman, I can’t help but be grateful for all the men and woman who have devoted their lives to ensuring our safety.  The sacrifice that they make is truly inspiring.

After such a heavy intro it’s hard to find a way to transition into talking about today’s meals without there being an awkward moment.   But I figured if I recognized the elephant in the room, it wouldn’t seem so silly…So without further ado, here is a look at what I was munching on today…

Breakfast:

Melon Smoothie

1 egg, hardboiled

Ever since I made this smoothie for the first time during my clean eating journey, I have been hooked.  I love that I can cram in two servings of fruit and veggies during in my first meal.  Helps me to start the day off right :)

Snack #1:

1 pluot

Handful of raw almonds

With as tasty as these pluots were, I couldn’t dare use them in a crumble.  Instead, they have become my staple snack this week.  Crunchy, sweet and delicious!

Lunch:

Chicken Enchiladas: Corn tortillas stuffed with ranchero chicken, black beans, brown rice and cheese.  Topped with mild enchilada sauce, and sour cream.

Green leaf, red leaf and Romaine lettuce tossed with grated carrots, jicama, red cabbage and sprouts in a tahini dressing.

I wish I could take credit for this yummy lunch, but I owe it all to my leftovers from take out the other night.  And as much as I loved the enchilada, the salad was the best part of this meal.  The tahini dressing is amazing.  It’s so good I kind of want to drink it.

After lunch indulgence:

A handful of Enjoy Life Semi Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips

I don’t normally find pleasure in eating chocolate chips out of a bag.  I would much rather whip them up in a baked good.  But while I was putting some groceries away in the pantry this afternoon, they caught my eye and I immediately began to salivate.  I think I have just started a new habit…one that has the potential to become dangerous…

Snack #2:

Salty Date and Almond Raincoast Crisps topped with Dubliner Cheese

Thanks to my sister-in-law, I am hooked on these amazing crackers.  And really, calling them crackers doesn’t even do them justice.  Because they in no way belong in the same category as Ritz.  They deserve to be in a food group all their own.  Simple divine.

Southwestern Rubbed Flat Iron Steak, Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Sautéed Vegetables

Last week, Harper started back at swimming class.  And while I love being in the pool with her again, Tuesdays are now the busiest day of the week.  So until I wrap my head around our new schedule, when it comes to dinner, we are opting for take out.  And this meal definitely hit the spot.

After Dinner Treat:

1 Coconut and Mango Smooze!  Fruit Ice

I seem to have quite the sweet tooth today.  I was really craving some mango, but after coming up empty-handed, I settled for this refreshing treat instead.  And it didn’t disappoint :)

So how am I doing with my “falling into good habits?”.  Overall, I think I did pretty well.  Could have probably skipped the sweet indulgences, but I definitely think they were the lesser of possible evils.  For me, it’s about finding a balance where I can eat clean without feeling like I am making huge sacrifices.  It is a work in progress but I am proud of my efforts…

Hope you all had a lovely little Tuesday.  Here’s to good eats and yummy treats!

PS:  Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  You only have 1 day left to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comment acts are your entry into the giveaway.  Good luck!  

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #6

  1. I like to black and white plates! And I’m not usually a chocolate person but those chips get me every time

  2. cleanfoodcreativefitness says:

    I love all your clean eats! Those enjoy life semi sweet chocolate chips are my favorite!

  3. thehinzadventures says:

    I LOVE raincoast crisps too YUM! I miss them! :-)

    xoxo from Trinidad

  4. Great job on the clean and tasty looking eats! I actually just baked with some semi-sweet chips today and most certainly snacked on a few ;)

  5. I am intrigued by those crackers… need to look for some around here! Yes- the chocolate chip thing can definitely become dangerous. A few weeks ago, I realized I went through the entire bag in a little over a week, so now I’m cutting it out for this week. But in general, I think a handful is the perfect post-meal sweet. :)

    • inherchucks says:

      They are the best! They sell them at Gelsons, Whole Foods and other specialty markets. They are a bit pricey but worth every penny. Good to know I am not the only one who sneaks chocolate chips out of the pantry :)

Leave a Reply

