September Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

The Lean Green Bean
By now, we all know about my love for boxes and my love for food.  Well, I also love to make new friends.  So when I happened upon this amazing Foodie PenPal Program from Lindsay of The Lean Green Bean I knew I wanted to be a part of it.
If you haven’t heard about the Foodie PenPal Program before, let me tell you a little bit about how it works.  Each month you get an email with your penpal pairing.  You contact your penpal via email to get their mailing address and any dietary restrictions, likes, dislikes, etc.  You go out and fill up a box with $15 worth of fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats.  Your box must also include something written (hence the penpal).  Then you pop your box in the mail by the 15th of the month.  On the last day of the month, you get to reveal the delicious goodies that you received from your penpal in a blog post.
Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.  Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & UK residents.
Sounds awesome right!  Yeah, I am totally stoked about this new journey.   Especially since my first Foodie PenPal was more than generous with her goodies.
This month I received my package from Tina of The Barking Hen.  And boy did she spoil me :)  My box was filled with some of Tina’s favorite treats from her hometown of McCall, Idaho (which looks absolutely beautiful and is now on my “must visit” list).  According to Tina, they recently wrapped up huckleberry season in the mountains and so she was excited to share this local fruit in various forms.

When I first opened the box I was met with a clever postcard starring Mrs. Potato Head (another Idaho favorite!).  Beneath the colorful tissue paper was a lovely tin of Huckleberry Tea, a package of Wild Huckleberry Hot Cocoa Mix, a deliciously sweet Huckleberry Lollypop, freshly baked Gingersnap Cookies, and a bottle of Huckleberry Honey.  So much fruity goodness I didn’t even know where to begin.

I decided to start with the cookies because Tina said she couldn’t get enough of them.  And I can see why.  From the first bite I was hooked (and so was Freddie).  They were soft, chewy and full of the flavors of fall.  After barreling through half the bag I am throwing the rest in the freezer for safe keeping and because Tina said they are even better when they are cold!

Then I whipped up a cup of hot chocolate for Freddie and a cup of huckleberry tea for me.  While I was waiting for my tea to steep I took a sip of Freddie’s hot chocolate.  It was A.MAZ.ING!  I honestly have never tasted anything so scrumptious in my entire life.  Imagine a chocolate strawberry in the form of a warm beverage.  Divine!  Before I knew it I had finished off the whole mug.  Oops…So I quickly made Freddie another cup (hoping he wouldn’t notice that I drank more than my allotted “few sips”).  This time I used unsweetened almond milk as the base.  And wouldn’t you knew I drank that entire cup too.  Oops!  I have never been the best at sharing (I blame it on the fact that I was the oldest of two children).  So I am on the hunt for another round of this magical cocoa.  Can’t wait :)

But what about the tea?  I finished that too.  Not the entire tin, just my initial cup.  I sweetened it with the huckleberry honey and I was in pure heaven.  It would also make for a great iced tea as well.  Looking forward to giving that a try.

Finally, the lollypop is yet to be devoured.  I am waiting for just the right time to enjoy my candy on a stick without interruption.  Because as big as it is, it might take a while for me to finish it.  But now that I am a huckleberry fan, I can only imagine the yumminess that is in store for me :)

A big thanks to Tina for such an awesome box.  I appreciate you introducing me to huckleberries and all your delicious local eats.

Interested in becoming a Foodie PenPal?  CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by October 4th as pairings will be emailed on October 5th!

Who knows, I might be your next Foodie PenPal :)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “September Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

  1. Wow, the Huckleberry Honey sounds delicious! I don’t think, heck I know it wouldn’t of lasted long around here!

  2. I’ve never had Huckleberry before. FPP is such a double edged sword . . . love reading about all the loot others get, but I WANT IT ALL TOO!!

    • inherchucks says:

      Totally understand. How about wanting all the stuff that you get sent but not being able to find it in your hometown…I’m there with all the delicious treats Tina sent me :) Thanks for stopping by!

  3. After reading your coment about the hot huckleberry cocoa I now have a need to find out if its posible to get it i Denmark.

    • inherchucks says:

      Doesn’t it sound fantastic! I hope you can find some. Or I am in search of a link to order some so I will keep you posted if you are interested :) Thanks for stopping by Alice!

  4. Christine says:

    That sounds like such a great package! I love that she put together the package around huckleberries. I’ve never had those before and now I’m curious!

  5. backpackbee says:

    Ah! How fun was the Mrs. Potato head card?! Too cute! Gosh your foodie did spoil you! What yummy treats you’ve got to dig into :)

  6. […] September Foodie PenPal Reveal Share this:EmailFacebookStumbleUponPinterestTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: College & Cook Magazine, Cook, Foodie Penpal, Home, PenPal, September's Foodie Penpal, The Lean Green Bean […]

  7. Stephanie says:

    The Huckleberry honey, tea and cocoa all sound divine! I have to search for it now..

  8. missmylin says:

    What a great themed FPP package! In my area, we have Saskatoon berries which are similar to huckleberries. That cocoa and tea both sound soooo good. Thanks for sharing with all of us :-)

    • inherchucks says:

      Saskatoon berries…never heard of them. Thanks for teaching me something new! The cocoa and tea are pretty darn delicious. The cocoa is gone but I am still enjoying the tea with the honey :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

