Guest Post: September Foodie PenPal Reveal

The Lean Green Bean

As I mentioned in my original September Foodie PenPal Reveal Post, the Foodie PenPal Program is open to blog readers as well as bloggers.  This month I was paired with a blog reader named Kristin Adams and was more than thrilled to pack up a box of goodies to send for her first Foodie PenPal experience.  Since Kristin doesn’t have a blog of her own to share her goodies on, she has offered to write a short guest post about what she received (and she even included some pics!).

So without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, I present to you, Kristen Adams…

September is my first month participating in the Foodie Pen Pal program, and I’m already hooked.  I was very fortunate to get Heather from In Her Chucks as my pen pal.

I got an email from her within a day or so after the program started asking about my food preferences, dietary restrictions, allergies, etc.  We emailed a few times and then a couple of weeks later…..my box arrived!!  I was excited to open it and see what was in it.  My family gathered around the kitchen table, and we oooh’d and aaaah’d at what I got.
Heather’s theme was “Back to School”, so she sent Sour Apple Licorice.  I’m not a huge fan of really sour foods, but these were fantastic. They were coated in organic sugar which offset the slightly sour taste. I’ll be buying these!  She then sent a packet of Knorr Leek soup mix and a packet of Italian dressing mix, along with the recipe for a spinach dip. It makes quite a bit, so I’ll be making this when we have people over. I’m a big fan of dips so I can’t wait to try it.
She sent some quinoa pasta and a packet of cheese sauce mix to make macaroni and cheese.  I haven’t tried quinoa pasta before, and it was quite tasty.  The sauce mix was good and not overpowering.
In one of our emails, she asked if I drank tea or coffee.  I don’t drink coffee at all, but I do drink tea, so she sent me three packets of Teeccino, which is an organic herbal coffee. The drink is made like tea (bag and all), but smells more like coffee.  I was skeptical, but it was really yummy! It’s caffeine-free, which means I can drink it anytime, another bonus.
I got two packets of Justin’s Nut Butter, which I’ve always wanted to try.  I had the chocolate hazelnut flavor which tastes just like the filling in a Godiva chocolate. Amazing!  Another new food for me to buy.
She sent some Everything flavored pretzel chips, which are nice and crunchy.  The flavor is mild, so it’s great for satisfying the crunch craving I get.
The last item that even my husband was thrilled to see was the crepe mix.  He’s South African, and they used to make crepes when he was younger.  He says he hasn’t been able to find any mix here, so seeing this made him very happy.  He made them for breakfast on a weekend morning, and I’m not ashamed to admit, I ate way too many.  Thankfully, we have enough mix leftover for several more batches.
Thank you, Heather, for all my wonderful goodies!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: September Foodie PenPal Reveal

  1. Those everything pretzel would be awesome with some hummus, but they sound perfect on their own too! I’d say you sent and received some fun-packed packages this month. Hope you have a great week, maybe our names will cross paths on the FPP list one month!

Leave a Reply

