What I Ate Wednesday #9

I just got home from an amazing birthday weekend.  I have to say, if this year is any reflection of all the good times we celebrated over the last few days, 30 is going to be pretty darn cool.  I am so grateful to my husband and the rest of the family for making this birthday one I will never forget.  Look forward to a blog post of our activities coming soon.  But for now, let’s focus on the food.

This month, Jenn from Peas and Crayons has us all excited about the yummy festive treats Halloween has to offer.  October seems like the perfect time to eat pumpkin for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  While I didn’t’ quite get the chance to fit it in to all of today’s meals, I was able to start my day off with a short stack of pumpkin pancakes smothered in butter and pure maple syrup.  Yum!

Breakfast:

Before heading home from our lovely mini-vacation, we made a stop at one of our favorite breakfast spots, Uncle Bill’s Pancake House.  I couldn’t help but start with a refreshing ice tea on such a warm morning.  My mom and I decided to split a short stack of pumpkin pancakes, a side of bacon and a veggie omelet (stuffed with spinach, onion, avocado and cheddar cheese).  Everything was delicious!  And the view wasn’t bad either…

After filling our bellies with quite the breakfast smorgasbord, we hit the road to run a few more errands.  Whenever we are in LA we have a list of things we must do.  One that tops the list is getting our nails done.  Freddie and I have been going to the same nail salon for years so whenever we are in town we like to indulge in a little pampering.  Before we knew it, a few hours had passed by and it was time for a snack.  We ran across the street to Starbucks to pick up some munchies and an iced beverage.

Snack #1:

While I was pregnant with Harper I got very familiar with this Cheese and Fruit Bistro Box.  It’s a great snack to pick up on the go and always satisfies.  Apparently Harper is still a fan because she pretty much ate all the cheese on her own.  I was able to snag a few bites of the brie to eat with the apples and chomped on a few nuts.  To wash it down, I decided to try a Very Berry Hibiscus Refresher, which I wasn’t too pleased with.  However, Freddie enjoyed it to the last drop.  Next time I’m sticking with my regular iced green tea.

After sitting on the freeway for over an hour in Sig Alert traffic, I was ready for some lunch.  We needed something that was convenient and easy so we settled on Baja Fresh.

Lunch: 

I just love these fish tacos.  The fish is light and flakey, the cabbage gives it just enough crunch to make it interesting and of course, what taco isn’t complete without a few slices of fresh avocado.  I paired it with a side salad and a few chips dipped in guacamole (not pictured).

I often find myself craving something sweet after such a flavorful lunch.  So during our car ride I cracked open a package of these chewy mango snacks to tide me over until dinner.

Snack #2:

They hit the spot and are by far the best dried mango I have ever had!  I am officially hooked.

We didn’t quite make it home in time for dinner so we did a quick sit down at Souplantation.

Dinner:

I love nothing more than a huge salad packed with everything but the kitchen sink.  I will throw pretty much anything in the mix as long as it qualifies as a fruit or vegetable.  The sweet potato was a great addition to the meal as well.  I actually ended up eating 3 more.  I just can’t get enough of baked sweet potatoes.

Road trips are always fun but finding a way to eat healthy on the go can be rough.  For the amount of running around we did today, I am pretty proud of most of my food choices.  The fact that we were able to steer clear of fast food drive-thrus is a huge success.  Thank God for smart phones and the ability to search for healthy and convenient restaurants in unfamiliar territory.

Now that we are home and settled and I am sitting at my computer typing up this post, I realized I needed one more yummy snack before I hit the hay.  So I grabbed some of Harper’s dried fruit and shoved a few handfuls in my mouth for good measure.

Late Night Snack:

If you haven’t tried these amazing toddler snacks, you are missing out.  This is a new flavor we picked up at Whole Foods this weekend but the Strawberry & Mango is fantastic too.  I am pretty much obsessed with these things.  And Harper likes them too (or at least that is what I am trying to convince my husband of so that I can continue to splurge on them at the grocery store…).

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite spooky snacks and healthy Halloween treats?  What are your tips for eating healthy on the road?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

38 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #9

  1. natashaboruszok1992 says:

    I seriously have wanted to try those Starbucks snack boxes FOREVER! For some reason they don’t seem to sell them in Michigan!

  2. Everything looks tasty! Happy Birthday!! I have one coming up too!!

  3. Your salad looks ridiculously good. I’m not sure what all you have in it, but dang girl I want it!!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Jessie! I pretty much piled it with every veggie, lettuce and legume I could find. Oh and some nuts too :) I just LOVE a salad packed with delicious goodness…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. backpackbee says:

    Happy birthday!! Ohhh your snacks look delicious!

  5. I know what you mean about fish tacos. Apparently some special on Disney had the cast eating fish tacos and the kids I babysat just “had to have them!” Unfortunately there were not tortillas in the house, so I made my own, but they thought that they were the best things ever. Lol. And I’m super impressed by those sweet potatoes. Just love ’em.

  6. I always get iced green tea too! It’s amazing. I love their hummus boxes and their protein ones, too:)

  7. Yummy eats! I love dried fruit too. I tried freeze dried fruit for the first time this year and I like it a lot more than just dried fruit.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Shannon…I know what you mean. Some fruits I prefer freeze dried. Have you ever tried the brand Crunchies? They are amazing. So many fruits to choose from.

  8. Happy Belated birthday. This is a great time to have a birthday! The beach looks beautiful and the eats look so very yummy (I LOVE the green tea as well).

    Hope you have a great Wednesday!

  9. I’m gonna hafta keep my eyes peeled for that dried mango – it looks better than the ones I’ve had in the past.

    Also, I don’t know if I’ve told ya but I totally love your blog’s name :)

  10. Happy Birthday! I have to admit that I am not much of a snacker. When there are snacks in the house, they are either raw cashews, raw almonds, or potato chips. A little food schizo, no? :-)

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks :)

      I live on snacks. I need them to get me through until the next meal. When I am home I prefer to eat fresh fruit but when I am on the go, freeze dried fruit works well. Nuts are a great snack too!

  11. Bec says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m glad you had such a lovely time. Youre eats look absolutely lovely. I loooveeeee fish tacos as well! I’ve never had pumpkin pancakes but everyone raves about them. And if that’s the view in LA, I definitely have to visit there’s time! :)

    • inherchucks says:

      This time of year I do my best to eat as much pumpkin as possible. Not that pumpkin at other times of the year isn’t just as delicious but something about fall makes pumpkin flavored food that much better :)

      The pic was taken in Manhattan Beach. A beautiful place to visit indeed!

  12. I love fish tacos and yours look sooo good! Such a beautiful view for breakfast– perfect way to start the day

  13. Wow, what a view. Those pancakes look awesome!
    I’d say you ate really well, especially considering you we’re traveling. That’s impressive.

  14. Fantastic foodie eats! I love dried mango but never tried the Peeled brand; might have to do that soon.

    That is one awesome salad, I love throwing all sorts of veggies, nuts, and lean meats on mine too. And salsa for salad dressing is a must! If you ever get the chance, try tossing some papaya seeds on your salad. They are nice a peppery and add great flavor.

    Happy WIAW and Birthday!

  15. Lauren says:

    Oh, I adore pumpkin pancakes! Need to make up a batch soon.

    Happy birthday! The 30s are the best, IMHO.

  16. Wowza. Thanks for the sweet, sweet words about Tiny Fruits. You are…awesome. And so is your blog. We’d love to send you some <3. Can you please email me at Gillian@littleduckorganics.com?

    Thanks and looking forward to being in touch!

    Best,
    Gillian

  17. i love fish tacos! We don’t have Baja Fresh here, but I see that I am missing out!

Leave a Reply

