What I Ate Wednesday #10

No matter how old you are, it’s always nice to have your mom around.  To chat, to giggle with or to help with laundry (I can’t help it, my inner child emerges and I forget how to do all my chores!).  My mom came out last week to visit me for my 30th birthday (still working on the post) and has another few days to go before she heads back to Ireland.  It has been such a pleasure to have her at home.  She and Harper have been having a blast together.  They spend all day playing with toys, coloring, reading books and going for walks.  I think my mom wins hands down for being the best “Amma” in the whole entire universe.  I hate to see her head back over to the Emerald Isle, but am so grateful that she came out to visit for a while (ooh…I made up a rhyme!)

So what does all that have to do with food?  Well, let’s just start with the first meal of the day…

Breakfast:

Homemade Pumpkin Oatmeal

My mom makes the best oatmeal.  I can remember when I was growing up, she would always make a big batch and keep it in the fridge for an easy breakfast to grab before school.  This morning, I woke up to a fresh bowl of homemade pumpkin oatmeal.  Yep…mama’s in town and it’s beginning to feel a lot like fall :) ps: recipe coming soon…

Snack #1:

Apples and Cheese

There is something about the combination of apples and cheese that makes my tummy smile.  The sweetness of the apples paired with the saltiness of the cheese is a match made in heaven.  And this snack was even more special because the apple actually came from a friend’s family farm.  My mom brought it with her on her 36 hour journey (planes, trains and automobiles) and it is the best I have ever had.  Yum!

Lunch:

Homemade Turkey Ricotta Meatballs with Tri-Colored Quinoa

Last night I made another batch of my favorite meatballs (they also happen to be a great toddler meal).  The leftovers make for a great lunch (in fact, they might even taste better the second day).  I love how they are packed with fresh spinach and bathed in homemade tomato sauce.  Hits the spot every time :)

After Lunch Treat:

Little Duck Organics Strawberry Mango Tiny Fruits

Remember last week when I raved about these little guys?  Well, I am at it again.  Tooting their little horn (or is it quacking their duck?)  Anyways, Harper and I enjoyed a few handfuls after lunch to satisfy our sweet tooth.

Snack #2:

Low Fat Vanilla Yogurt with Almonds

It’s no secret, I LOVE all things Trader Joe’s.  And this week, I am hooked on their sidecar yogurt.  They offer 3 different flavors (including mango and pomegranate) but this vanilla with almonds is a winner.  I love the crunch that the almonds bring to the silky yogurt.  It was the perfect pick me up before music class.

Dinner:

Homemade Turkey Burgers with Carrots and Zucchini and Baked Zucchini Fries

Whenever I get the itch for a burger, I love to whip up a batch of these veggie packed patties.  I dress them with some avocado, white cheddar cheese and a tad bit of ketchup and suddenly In-n-Out’s got nothing on me.  The carrots and zucchini not only help to add moisture to the burgers but also help to sneak in a few servings of vegetables.

After Dinner Treat:

A few handfuls of Roasted Coconut Chips and a Coconut La Croix Sparkling Water

Believe me when I tell you I am not a coconut fan, but both of these products have me head over heels in love with coconut.  I recently picked up these coconut chips on one of my many Trader Joe’s shopping sprees and now I am hooked.  They are a great way to help take the edge off a sweets craving.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite spooky snacks and healthy Halloween treats?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #10

  1. hmmm apples and cheese, can’t go wrong with that! ;)

  2. Liz @ TheLambentLife says:

    I love everything coconut but haven’t seen the coconut le croix- I’ll be on the hunt now! I so wish we had a trader joe’s.

    In my mind, nothing is tastier than apples drizzled with local honey and topped with roasted pecans. Yum!

    • inherchucks says:

      I think I first saw the coconut le croix at Target! Do you have a whole foods?

      Bummed you don’t have a Trader Joe’s. Don’t know what I would do without it!

      Apples with honey and pecans sounds divine. Thanks for the idea :) Looks like my dessert is served…

  3. Your pumpkin oats looks fabulous!!! Happy WIAW!

  4. I’ve been packing an apple with string cheese as my afternoon snack recently! I love the combo of sweet and salty!

    • inherchucks says:

      Me too! And the protein in the cheese always helps to balance out the rush I get from the sweetness of the apple.

      Happy WIAW!

  5. Happy WIAW! Now I want pumpkin oatmeal. :-) Both your lunch and dinner look great too.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Jennifer! This was my first time ever trying it and I have to say, I am hooked :) Looking forward to sharing the recipe soon…

  6. Bec says:

    Those burges look amazing! I am all for anything which helps you sneak in extra veggies ;)

    • inherchucks says:

      They are pretty much a staple around here. And the veggies make the patties lusciously moist!

      Thanks for stopping by :) Happy WIAW…

  7. Cait says:

    I love the plate you have the apple and cheese on! The snack reminds me of a wine tasting which automatically puts me in a good mood!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks :) I went through a pretty hard core phase of collecting all things black and white. It’s one of my favorites…

      Glad I was able to bring you some cheer. Who doesn’t get excited about wine tasting!

      Thanks for stopping by :)

  8. Ah, it ALL looks DELICIOUS!!!

  9. Everything looks great, but I really want to try those coconut chips. They look so interesting and appealing. Yum.
    I’m glad you are having a nice visit with your mom. It’s a shame she lives so far away, but at least you have a reason to visit Ireland.

    • inherchucks says:

      They are pretty much the best thing going :)

      Would you believe I have yet to visit her since she moved? I have been to Ireland a few times but not since she has moved. Not much of a traveler :(

  10. Tiff says:

    Would stealing your lunch make me a bully? Cuz I want it!

  11. This looks wonderful! My mom is in town too, but I think that somewhere along the way, the cosmos reversed roles on us because I’m a neat freak and my mom is a slob (and I say that in the most loving way). So she spends her time leaving half-eaten food on my countertops and piles of clothes on the floor, and I spend my time chasing after her with a Clorox wipe and a Swiffer :-)

    • inherchucks says:

      Well then, she is lucky to have such a tidy daughter! ps: you are welcome as a guest at my house anytime…especially if you bring your swifter ;)

  12. Melissa says:

    Wow pumpkin oatmeal! Sounds and looks delish, I want! And I could eat your snack one for an entire meal. Just quadruple the amount :)

    • inherchucks says:

      It was pretty killer :) Hoping to get the recipe up on the blog soon…

      Cheese and apples really are the perfect pairing!

Leave a Reply

