What I Ate Wednesday #11

Halloween is officially two weeks away and I am SO excited!  I don’t normally get this amped up for such a spooky holiday, but this will be the first year that Harper is old enough to enjoy it, so there is a whole new meaning to the festivities this time around.

And I am not just looking forward to the candy (although that is a definite perk).  I am most giddy about costumes. Last year we dressed up as the Flintstones, which was a blast until I ended up in the ER with an allergic reaction to my costume.  We were racking our brains wondering what we could do to top that until one evening, during a late night run to Target we found the perfect costume for Harper, which in turn, sparked the inspiration for our costumes.  And now we are counting down the days until we can dawn our new threads and ask strangers for candy.

Speaking of candy…I may or may not have caved at the check out counter at the grocery store today.  I couldn’t help myself.  I was alone and hungry and dark chocolate sounded like a good idea…

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

Breakfast:

Swiss Chard Smoothie with Vanilla Protein Powder

1 hardboiled egg

I am totally in love with this smoothie.  It is jam-packed with an entire bunch of swiss chard in addition to some of my favorite fruits.  I made this for breakfast yesterday and still had some leftover for round two.  It was the perfect way to start the day.

Snack #1:

1 Apple

I had planned on enjoyed Snack #2 (see below) but it proved to be a bit too messy on the go.  So I snacked on this delicious apple instead. It was sweet, crunchy and just what I needed to get me through until lunch time.

Lunch:

1/2 Lentil Flatbread Pizza (recipe coming later this week)

Everything Salad

This flatbread pizza has quickly become a household favorite.  I got the recipe from the tester’s booth at TJs (best inspiration around) and I have been hooked ever since.  Second day in a row I am enjoying it for lunch :)

Snack #2:

Banana with NuttZo Butter

It’s official.  I am nuts over Nuttzo!  And in the midst of creating the link back to the website, I came across a video about the owner and now I am an even bigger fan of Nuttzo (if that is even possible).  If you haven’t had the chance to check out this amazing nut and seed butter, please do.  It will change your life…seriously!

Dinner:

Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crumble Topping

Even though it is still 80 degrees outside, and there is no chilly weather in sight, I was in the mood for some good ol’ comfort food tonight.  Freddie and I both agreed that this meal was a winner.  Looking forward to sharing the recipe soon :)

Guilty Pleasure:

Dark Chocolate M&M’s

In the midst of making dinner, I realized that I was out of lemons.  So I ran out to the store to pick up a few and these M&M’s caught my eye while I was checking out.  I am not sure if it is because I am usually distracted by a toddler or if I have been living under a rock lately (probably both), but I never knew these existed.  And now that I do?  Dangerous.  They are AWESOME!

Now that I have officially fallen off the Clean Eating bandwagon, I am going to do my best to rally myself up to get back on track.  Which means there might possible be another 2-week meal plan in my future.

Hope you all have a lovely hump day!

Your turn:  What are you dressing up as for Halloween?  Any favorite Halloween treats that you are excited about?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #11

  1. Bec says:

    I did not know that dark chocolatr M&Ms existed. It is now my life goal to find some. I will not be able to resist them! I think you did a great job of clean eating – judging from today’s post alone I think you’re doing fabulously – that green smoothie looks like it packs quite a health punch! :)

  2. backpackbee says:

    Everyone needs a little sweet treat once and awhile :) :)

  3. backpackbee says:

    Forgot to include that the nuttzo looks awesome!! Im sooo missing out on the good finds from the states.

  4. jessielovestorun says:

    oh i cannot wait for this chicken pot pie recipe. my husband loves chicken pot pie, so i can only imagine that it’s gonna be a winner :)

  5. Lynn says:

    That Swiss Chard smoothie sounds intriguing. I am almost hoping for some Swiss Chard in my CSA box this week, now!

    As far as Halloween costumes go – I’m still trying to figure out what to dress my little Monster up as – he’s really into monkeys right now, so I think that’s what he’ll be. I usually don’t dress up, but if I can think of something cute to go along with a monkey costume then I might dress up too. :)

  6. I could live on dark chocolate peanut m&ms. literally

  7. Can’t wait to hear more about the Halloween costumes! I ordered my daughter’s costume last night…..she just couldn’t decide. I have to get my hands on that nuttzo!!

  8. Yum! I’m going to have to try that Nuttzo stuff! Sounds delish! As does the chicken pot pie! We had a week with fall like weather and I was so into comfort food. Now we are back up to 90’s so smoothies and salads it is!

    • inherchucks says:

      It was 88 here! What the heck is up with this silly weather. I am glad I didn’t make the pot pie tonight…smoothies and salads sound perfect for this kind of crazy heat :)

  9. Lentil flatbread pizza? I’ll be back. YUM!

  10. Nuttzo looks awesome!

    Have to admit: the almond m&m’s are irresistible to me!

  11. Yum. I love chicken pot pie and your biscuit version sounds great. Can’t wait for the recipe!

  12. moderngirlnutrition says:

    Love what you did with the lentil flatbread pizza pic! It’s gorgeous! And the flatbread itself looks even better:)

  13. Happy WIAW! I am craving comfort too. I think the colder weather we had last week got me in the mood for fall food. Your chicken pot pie looks great. :-)

  14. Great day of eats…including the chocolate. Maybe I need to hop on a two week plan with you. By the way, love the Flinstone costumes. You guys look great!

Leave a comment