25 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #48

  1. I have lacinato kale in my box for the first time this week! I wish I could just make giant kale chips with it, but that probably won’t fly. I had to rush off to work the concession stand at the game (talk about culture shock! To go from gazing at my farm share produce to squirting “cheese” onto nacho chips?) so my brain is still percolating what all I will do. I do know that today, since I have time, I will be blanching and freezing the turnip greens that came on the bunch of turnips. What with the kale, spinach, and salad mix there’s no way I’ll get the turnip greens used. I’ll probably freeze some of the spinach for smoothies too. Then I need to make pickled peppers since I’ve got a huge pile of jalapeños. I did get tomatoes, and plan to let them get really ripe then make one final batch of pizza sauce-thanks to Simple Bites for the recipe suggestions.

    I’ve linked up a special breakfast treat, Red Russian Kale, Cherry Tomatoes, and Eggs baked in Ham Cups.

  2. […] joined the link party at In Her Chucks … you should check it out! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  3. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeBe the […]

  4. Kelly says:

    Linked up for the last time! :( I’m so envious of your strawberries…

    http://vegga.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/whats-in-the-box-summer-2012-csa-week-ten/

  5. […] to What’s in the Box? Tweet dairy free, gluten free, real food, Recipe, salsa, vegan, vegetarian […]

  6. i’m so jealous of your CSA! corn and tomatoes and strawbs?? lucky! as you mentioned, you still get to BBQ – you should grill that corn :)

    this week i’ve shared a recipe you can use the last of your tomato crop in – margarita pizza! of course, tequila is invited to the party too… obviously. ;)

    p.s. there are still a few more hours to share your seasonal & real/whole food posts with the Wednesday Fresh Foods Blog Hop – I hope to see you there! xo

  7. BBQ the corn. Always my go to … and, if you can find a way to control yourself (I know) … save some corn to put in salads. And, speaking of salads, broccoli salad. French dressing, carrots, bacon bits, raisins, sunflower seeds. :)

  8. We love massaged kale salad. Yum.
    we’re down to our once-a-month fall share, so no box here although we hit the farmer’s market every week. Not for strawberries, though. :)

  9. Another great week with some really good looking produce. I love the variety you get in a week, and I wish I had some of those strawberries. They look delicious.

  10. Lauren says:

    Cherry tomato pesto, whaaat? I need to know more about this. :)

  11. I love the colors in your box!

  12. […] I’m partying over at inherchucks this week for What’s in the Box #48 so head over there for some great ideas on how to use up your CSA […]

  13. […] good, even if it isn’t quite as picture perfect as I would have hoped. PS:  Head over to InHerChucks to see how others are using their CSA bounty at her weekly […]

  14. Beth says:

    Wow, strawberries still! Enjoy them for the rest of us… and we’ll send some fall your way soon. :)

Leave a Reply

