Lentil Flatbread Pizza

Cooking is one of my favorite things to do.  I love to get in the kitchen and chop, sauté, sear, mix, bake…you name it, I’ll do it.  But sometimes it’s nice to slip off your fancy pants and take it easy for a night.  But easy doesn’t have to mean that you sacrifice flavor or quality.  Easy can mean whipping up a delicious meal in less than 20 minutes with fresh and healthy ingredients.  But only if you are familiar with my buddy Joe (or as his shop is known to the rest of the public…Trader Joe’s).

If you have been reading this blog for a while (shout out to all my loyal followers!) , I am sure you have picked up on the fact that I LOVE all things Trader Joe’s.  It’s pretty much my favorite place to be and I do my best to shop there as often as I can.  And by “shop” I mean, peruse the aisles for new items to try (I told you I want to be a product tester!).  No Trader Joe’s “shopping” trip is ever complete without a visit (or two) to the tester booth.  And they deliver every time!  This Lentil Flatbread Pizza is my most recent find and it might possibly be my favorite Trader Joe’s combo to date.

Ingredients

1 Middle Eastern Flatbread

1 1/2 – 2 tsp Balsamic Glaze (plus more for drizzling)

1/3 cup Steamed Lentils

1/4 cup Crumbled Goat Cheese

1/4 cup Slow Roasted Yellow Tomatoes, chopped

1 tbsp pine nuts

Chopped parsley

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spoon the balsamic glaze over the flatbread.  Cover the glaze with a layer of lentils, followed by the cheese and tomatoes.  Sprinkle the pine nuts over the top.  Place flatbread on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Bake for 10-15 minutes or until crust is slightly browned and crisp.  Top with chopped parsley and a drizzle of balsamic glaze.

This pizza is so versatile, it can be enjoyed anytime of day.  Pair it with a salad for a yummy lunch or make a couple, slice them up and serve them as an appetizer the next time you have company.  Your guests are sure to be impressed :)

Don’t have a Trader Joe’s nearby?  Swap out some of the specialty items for products easily found at your local grocery store.  A whole wheat pita or pre-made pizza crust would be a great alternative to the flatbread.  Sun dried tomatoes would work well to replace the slow roasted ones.  And if you are feeling really ambitious, make your own batch of balsamic glaze.

So the next time you feel like you need a break from the kitchen, throw this simple dish together, pop it in the oven and enjoy an easy and delicious meal compliments of my buddy Joe!

Your turn:  What are some of your tips for getting dinner on the table on nights when you don’t feel like being in the kitchen?  Any Trader Joe’s tester booth favorites?  Looking forward to hearing your responses :)

Blog party, Linky Party

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Lentil Flatbread Pizza

  1. It’s a great idea… I may have to steal it :)

  2. It’s official. I’m hungry now, and I’d love some your flatbread. I’ll take half please…followed by the second half. ;)

  3. annierie says:

    Love the idea of lentils on it. I have to try it that way. I use pests and hummus sometimes, but never tried lentils. Looks great!

  4. annierie says:

    I hate auto correct. It should be pesto not pests!

  5. I’ve actually never tried lentil before. This sounds like the perfect recipe to try it out though. Heck, I don’t even know if they sell lentil over here haha

  6. kokostanley says:

    looks delicious Heath!

Leave a Reply

