What I Ate Wednesday #12

Grocery shopping with a toddler has the potential to become quite an adventure.  But never in my life did I know how fun it could be until I had my first encounter with the mothership of all shopping carts.  In case you are wondering, I am referring to one of these…

Now I have to admit, it was my idea for Harper to ride in the car but I had every high hope that it would make our shopping experience more enjoyable.  WRONG!  Well, I think Harper enjoyed the ride, but I couldn’t maneuver this thing worth a damn!  I got stuck in the produce aisle and knocked over more bags of nuts and dried fruit than I am willing to admit.  It was a bad scene.  Pretty much looked like this…slightly embarrassing.  So in the future, I am going to stay away…far, far, away!

But enough about my poor driving skills…let’s take a look at what has been making its way into my belly :)

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

Breakfast:

Sweet Potato Pancakes with a side of Bacon

I recently picked up a bag of this pancake mix and now I am hooked!  They don’t taste much different from regular pancakes but the consistency is far fluffier.  They are delicious with a tiny bit of butter and a splash of pure maple syrup.  Oh, and bacon of course :)

Snack #1:

Passion Fruit Greek Yogurt

This is my new favorite obsession.  I can’t get enough of it.  The other day I ate 2 of them within hours of each other.   The taste is so magical it takes me away to a deserted island.  Seriously amazing.

Lunch:

Chicken Breast with Homemade Cherry Tomato Pesto (recipe coming later this week) topped with Shaved Parmesan Cheese

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Toasted Pine Nut Couscous

Today’s Photo A Day Challenge was to eat roasted veggies.  And in my opinion, Brussels Sprouts are the best when roasted.  Plus, they always get me in the mood for fall.  I enjoyed them with a pan seared chicken breast topped with homemade cherry tomato pesto and parmesan cheese and a side of couscous.  Delicious and satisfying.

Dinner:

Marinated Tri Tip with Brown Rice Medley and Sautéed Green Beans

Raw Veggies and Rice Crackers

Tonight was my monthly book club meeting.  And the best part about book club, besides the awesome ladies I get to hang with, is the yummy food.  And wine.

Even though there is one more week until Halloween, we will be begin our celebration this weekend.  Our first event is this Friday and will be the big reveal of our costumes.  Can’t wait to share with you :)

Have a great rest of the week and Happy WIAW!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #12

  1. Yummm those pancakes sound awesome!!! And I love that flavor of Chobani!

  2. I must say I was distracted from the food by how seriously grown up your daughter looks in that (darling) picture (even if the driving didn’t go that well)!

  3. Ha Ha, sorry to hear about your rough experience w/ that awesome cart :( I used to always think brussel sprouts were the best when roasted, but you gotta try microwaving them with Laughing Cow Cheese. Oh soo good :)

  4. Sweet potato pancakes…now there is something I need to make!

  5. Ang says:

    Those meals look so yummy! I think it’s awesome that you eat like that at your book club!

  6. Lauren says:

    I used to think car carts were so obnoxious… but they really are the key to keeping my toddler happy during a shopping excursion!

  7. Can’t wait to see the costume!

    I’ve never tried the passionfruit chobani. I’m on my way to the grocery store right now, and it just made the list!

  8. Sweet potato pancakes= perfection:)

  9. That brown rice medley sounds good. I wish my dining halls had decent tasting brown rice. I always get the white because it is much better. The brown rice is salted and chewy and nasty. I’d much prefer your arrangement!!

  10. All your meals look fabulous! Can’t wait for the Cherry Tomato Pesto recipe!

  11. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Love that Greek yogurt. You know me I love everything Greek!! Can’t wait to see your Halloween costumes. Remember when we use to go trick or treating with you in our costumes??

  12. thefoodery says:

    I’ve never tried any of the flavored Chobani yogurts, I’ve only bought the plain ones but your description sounds like the flavors will be just like fresh passionfruit. I’ll give it a try! :)

Leave a Reply

