Cherry Tomato Pesto

I’m not one to pick up a cherry tomato and pop it in my mouth. To be honest, most of my tomato consumption only happens when they are cooked. But this pesto? This pesto is an exception. This pesto is not only my new favorite way to eat raw tomatoes, it is my new favorite way to eat tomatoes, period.

And not only does the flavor of the pesto rock, it is quite possibly the easiest thing I have ever made. Throw all the ingredients in the food processor and in a few seconds your done. Kind of reminds me of an infomercial. No, but really, I made this on my lunch break to jazz up a piece of boring chicken breast. And now I am totally hooked.

Ingredients

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

3/4 pound cherry tomatoes

12 large fresh basil leaves

1/3 cup salted toasted almonds

1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed

1-2 tsp coarse salt

Preparation

Using a blender or food processor, purée the tomatoes, basil, almonds, garlic, 1 to 2 teaspoons salt for about 1 minute. Scrape down the bowl. With the machine on, pour in the remaining oil in a steady stream to emulsify.

Recipe slightly adapted from Everyday with Rachel Ray via Rachel Ray Show

Since I have loads of this pesto in my fridge and freezer (because it does make a bundle) I’m looking forward to trying it on everything from pizza to pasta and beyond. It is a great way to add a new twist to an old favorite. Or in my case, a creative way to use up your cherry tomatoes.

PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! You have a little less than a week to get your entries in. Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks. Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway. Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “Cherry Tomato Pesto

  1. This is a terrific idea! Love to know that you can freeze it.

  2. Hmmm I love tomato pesto! I make a similar recipe very often as a macaroni sauce! I usually use walnuts – just because I have them on deck all the time ;-) Using macadamia nuts gives the pesto a more dairy-creamy texture though – if you ever feel like experimenting, try those ;) at least I love them! Love the photo – it makes me wanna eat the dip right now!! :D

  3. Tammy says:

    I love this idea. I’ve made it with dried tomatoes before but never fresh. What if you didn’t use toasted almonds but instead used raw ones so that you had a completely raw dish? Do you think that would work too?

  4. This looks and sounds amazing. I can’t wait to try it – it’s nice to have something new to make with basil!

  5. Want to eat this. Now.

  6. Linda Statz says:

    1-2 tsp ???????

  7. […] Cherry Tomato Pesto (inherchucks.com) […]

  8. Lauren says:

    The hubby just made a version of this this past weekend, and it was amazing! Will have to blog it soon.

  9. I love popping cherry tomatoes in my mouth like candy! This looks delicious. I love the color!

  10. Melissa says:

    Yummy, how creative is this! Looks delicious!

  11. […] be coming to the tail-end of our beloved Sun Gold tomato plant’s bounty. However, inspired by In Her Chucks’ delicious-sounding recipe for cherry tomato pesto, I suggested we add it to the weekend lunch menu. The hubby beat me to the punch and Googled a […]

  12. I showed you a photo on your FB of last week’s yellow tomato version. Today I used yellow tomatoes + almonds + parsley (last fresh basil killed in frost earlier this week); red tomato + prepared arugula pesto + cashews; and funky orange/purple tomatoes (I’ve got an email into the farmer to find out the real name) + prepared basil pesto + almonds. Holy cow this stuff is awesome! Will blog about the divine pizza I am making from it.

  13. OregonSue says:

    I think I saw this recipe on Rachael Ray, but it had added 1/2 cup fresh grated Parmesan. Would you puree the cheese in with it or stir it in at the end? Also the recipe did say 1 to 2 t. salt. I think this would be a good dip or a pizza sauce or… on hot penne.

    • inherchucks says:

      On the show they topped a chicken breast with the pesto and then put the grated parm on top. You could probably puree it in as I have made other pestos with cheese blended into it. Would prob be delicious!

      I love this penne because it is so versatile :) Use it as a dip for chips and veggies, smear it on your favorite pizza or mix it with some pasta. Whatever you do with it will be scrumptious!

  14. […] haven’t given up and I still follow you as well.  I am going to try Heather’s tomato pesto as soon as my tomatoes are ripe (I’ve been wanting to try it, but Kirsten’s description […]

Leave a Reply

