30 Years, 30 Days

On September 29, 2012, just 30 days ago, I turned 30!  It was a lovely celebration and one I will never forget.

30 is kind of a big deal.  It is a major milestone and therefore the perfect time to reflect on the past, present and future.  It’s an opportunity to recharge, refocus and reorganize.  It’s the ideal moment to count your blessings and thank God for bringing me this far.

To commemorate this special occasion, my husband planned an amazing little getaway which included lots of surprises.  Not only did we get the chance to spend time as a family (which is a gift in itself) but it was also a nice to reconnect and relax.

Here’s a look at what we were up to for the long birthday weekend…

It’s a long standing tradition in our family to have breakfast in bed.  And to be honest, it’s probably one of my favorite traditions.  But this year we changed it up a bit.  This adorable little restaurant tucked away in the middle of the beautiful Crystal Cove was only minutes away from our hotel.  It was hard to deny the gorgeous views so we decided to enjoy a breakfast on the beach instead of breakfast in bed.  Eggs Benedict is always a favorite of mine and this one definitely lived up to my expectations.  Washed down with a tropical iced tea and my birthday breakfast was nothing short of perfect!

Once our tummies were full, Freddie and Harper dropped me off for a day at the spa.  It started with an Olivio Pedicure which was quite possibly the best pedicure I have ever had.  After my piggy toes were dry I had the chance to sit in the relaxation room and sip on some spa water before it was time for my 90-minute Aroma Intentions Massage (which by the way was PURE HEAVEN!).  The Aroma Intention that I chose was “rest full” and for the remainder of the weekend, that is exactly what I did.

While I was waiting for Freddie to pick me up after my luxurious afternoon at the spa, I was surprised by my mom who had traveled all the way from Portugal to help me celebrate my 30th birthday (my Uncle Joe and his girlfriend Brittani were also there to greet me).  I don’t think I have ever been so shocked in my life.  I was expecting to see my mom, but not until the weekend was over.  So you can imagine my reaction when I turned around and they were all standing at the front door.

Nothing says celebration quite like a yummy steak and mango margarita.  For my birthday dinner, Freddie made reservations at one of our favorite restaurants, Javier’s.  And if you can’t tell, I love the decor just as much as the food.  My Great Aunt and Uncle joined us for a delicious meal and fun filled reunion.

And just when I thought the day couldn’t get any better…My mom surprised me with the best birthday cake ever!

ps: it was a marble cake too….yum!

Since we were all in the Orange County area, we decided to take a trip to Disneyland the next morning.  Our first stop?  To get Harper her own set of ears (which never looked cuter!).  Then we were off to the Merry-Go-Round.  Unfortunately the experience wasn’t what we had hoped.  Harper was not a fan of the moving plastic horses.  However, she did like dancing to the music.  For our next ride, we thought Harper would get a kick out of “It’s a Small World” but she fell asleep while we were waiting in line.  Luckily, the third time was a charm, because Harper thoroughly enjoyed her ride on the Finding Nemo Submarine Voyage.  Our last stop was a ride on board the Disneyland Railroad.  Harper had a great time practicing her “Choo-Choos” and making friends with the conductor.

And of course, what is a trip to Disneyland without a souvenir?  Harper had her eye on one thing.  A balloon.  So $7 later we had ourselves a very happy little girl complete with Mickey balloon in hand (which lasted quite a long time…so I guess the $7 was worth it!).

If you ask me, 30 is looking pretty darn good so far.  My husband sure knows how to throw a party!  I am blown away by the time and effort he put into my birthday weekend and am forever thankful for his love and support.  Gonna be hard to top this one…

A birthday with my lovely family, yummy food and a waterfront view?  Can’t think of any better way to welcome in this new decade :)

Here’s to my thirties…Happy Birthday to me!

PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! You have until the end of the week to get your entries in. Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks. Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway. Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “30 Years, 30 Days

  1. Wow, this post brought the biggest smile to my face.. and yes I admit, I did tear up! You are such a beautiful person, and I’m so happy you were treated with such a wonderful & memorable 30th birthday. You deserve only the best hunnie. xo

  2. What a lovely birthday celebration. Your husband did a great job. I’m glad you had such a nice time.

  3. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Was so happy to enjoy in your celebration weekend. Love ya

  4. novagirl says:

    Happy birthday!

  5. Happy Birthday! 30 is a big one!

  6. What an amazing way to celebrate a milestone birthday! Only being a few short years away from the big THREE-O myself, I only hope it will be as fantastic as yours! Family, food, and R&R! Very nice! :D

    Happy (belated) Birthday!

  7. That’s a lovely way to spend any birthday, but especially a milestone one. What a great family you’ve got supporting you!

Leave a Reply

