October Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

The Lean Green Bean
Today is officially my favorite day of the year.  For one, it’s Wednesday, which means I get my produce box today :)  Secondly, it’s Halloween…so HAPPY HALLOWEEN everyone!  And lastly, it’s Foodie Pen Pals reveal day…Hooray!!!

This is only my second month participating in the Foodie Pen Pal Program, but I am totally hooked!  It’s pretty much the funnest blogging activity around.  I mean, who doesn’t love to send and receive a monthly package, filled with delicious goodies, from a new found friend.  Sounds pretty cool, right?   If you want to learn more, check out my first Foodie Pen Pal Post.  It will give you all the details you need to know to sign up :)

For the month of October, I received my package from Meredith of What’s Cooking?.  And I am pretty sure she outdid herself this time :)  If ever you could capture fall and stuff it into a box, this would be it.  Everything from pumpkin, to apple, to caramel and beyond, Meredith made sure I enjoyed all the delicious flavors of autumn in one fell swoop.

The first treats to hit my mouth were the Werther’s Original Chewy Caramels.  Mostly because they were the easiest to devour.  Plus, they kept my mouth occupied while I searched through the box for the rest of the goodies.  And while we are on the topic of caramel, those Caramel Sea Salt Squares looked amazing!  I say “looked” because I never had the pleasure of enjoying them.  Freddie came home in the midst of me exploring my box and snatched them up all for himself.  Although he did report that they were quite delicious.  So I guess I will have to take his word for it.

Now that Halloween has finally arrived, I can’t wait to get festive with the Halloween colored sprinkles and baking cups.  They are the perfect supplies to whip up a batch of miniature cupcakes for some miniature hands.  Harper and her pals are going to love them!  And what Halloween celebration is complete without pumpkins.  How about some pumpkin spice marshmallows?  I am pretty sure my life will never be the same after having these.  They are everything you love about pumpkin pie made into a bit sized marshmallow.  Yum!  I plan on making a big batch of pumpkin spice rice krispie treats or maybe even some pumpkin pie s’mores :)  And if that weren’t enough pumpkin goodness, Meredith sent me her recipe for pumpkin hummus.  Wow…what a treat!  She suggests I fill the party cups with the pumpkin hummus to impress some dinner guests.  Talk about fancy!  Best idea ever.

How bout them apples?  I am absolutely blown away by the jar of caramel apple jam.  Meredith picked it up at her local farmer’s market and now I am convinced I need to take a visit to Iowa because I am officially addicted.  Throw it on any plain slice of toast and you have transformed it into my favorite fall treat.  Simply delicious :)  And let’s not get too overboard with the sweets here, Meredith made sure to bring balance to the box with an Apple Pie Lara Bar.  I love to keep these into my car for a mid day snack on the go.

And finally, nothing says fall to me more than a nice hot glass of cider…or tea…or coffee…or cocoa.  Meredith made sure I had a plethora of choices to choose from.  With this lovely selection, I am sure to stay warm all autumn long.
Thanks Meredith for an awesome fall themed box!  I am officially spoiled and reveling in all the goodness that the season has to offer :)

Interested in becoming a Foodie Pen Pal?  CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by November 4th as pairings will be emailed on November 5th!

Who knows, I might be your next Foodie PenPal :)

PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  You have until the end of the week to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway.  Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “October Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

  1. Wow! You definitely scored big this month! I love it when I get a package FULL of lots of little stuff…keeps the ADHD child in me entertained! ;)

    I have GOT to find those marshmallows! Pumpkin s’mores all the way baby! And caramel apple jam? Mind.blown! If I ever get lucky enough to be paired up with Meredith, I’ll have to make a special request for some of that!

    • inherchucks says:

      Yeah…Big Time :)

      Aren’t those mallows amazing!!! They will forever be a fall staple in my kitchen. And the jam is definitely my new best friend.

      Thanks for stopping by and showing some FPP love!

  2. backpackbee says:

    Wowie! You did hit it big this month! Oooohhhh how I miss hot spiced apple cider. Lucky, Lucky!

  3. Meredith says:

    So glad you liked your autumn-themed box! Happy Halloween!

  4. Seriously?! That is one of the best FPP packages I have ever seen! Lucky girl, enjoy!

  5. nic98omo says:

    You received lots of goodies. Those caramel sea salt squares sound/look really good. I signed up for next month’s pen pal exchange.

  6. ediblethings says:

    I’m going to have to give making caramel apple jam a go. It will be next year though, because the harvest over here was tiny this year. Thanks for the inspiration.

  7. Uniflame says:

    Wow! Your package is huge! i would be very curious about the pumpkin spiced marshmallows. So sad they don’t sell this in the Netherlands, haha.

  8. Score! Awesome package of fall goodness! I’m going to have to try to find those marshmallows…that’s right up my alley!

  9. What a shame that you didn’t get to try those Caramel Sea Salt Squares – those sound delicious. But the Caramel Apple Jam sounds best of all!

  10. Stephanie says:

    Totally digging the caramel apple jam!

Leave a Reply

