24 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #50

  1. What a great family Halloween picture–and such a clever idea too!
    Thanks for noticing my enchiladas, I got another butternut squash in my box this week and think I may have to make another batch since they were so good.

    Today starts my friend Allison’s November Fitness Blitz, where she makes small changes to improve her health, keeps it up until Thanksgiving-ish, and donates $ to charity. It’s fun! To give ideas for the small change of eating more veggies, I’ve linked up an essay (with more photo collages, thanks again for learnin’ me ’bout Picmonkey).

    Since you don’t like pear skin, you may want to peel your pear before trying out my Fresh Pear, Fig Jam, and Goat cheese pizza (second link).

    Tomatoes-at this point I’m done. Really, I was done mid-August! ADD of the palate? So, because I’m all about the eating from the farm share even when I’m not getting the farm share, I slow roast my tomatoes and freeze them for winter sauces. Alanna at A Veggie Venture has a great tutorial on how to slow roast if you haven’t done it before. I just did another 2 quarts this week.

    Thank you for the beet fritters recipe–I’ve been seeing beets in Clean Eats Fast Feets’ smoothies and they look so good. This week my farm share provided us with a HUGE bag of beets, so I’ll be making her smoothies, and a Thanksgiving leftover salad, but I’ll try my hand at the fritters with some of the rest.

    • inherchucks says:

      That pizza sounds divine! Love the “pearing” of pears and goat cheese :)

      You are going to LOVE the fritters. A household favorite around here for sure.

      Thanks for the tips on the tomatoes. I have never tried slow roasting them but that sounds perfect.

      Have a great rest of the week. And as always…thanks for linking up!

  2. […] to Monday Mania, Fat Tuesday, What’s in the Box, Keep It Real […]

  3. I kind think pear skin is yucky, too. I can deal with it. But, eeew.

  4. happy momma says:

    Are they white beets or are they parsnips? They look like short parsnips to me. If they are parsnips I am jealous! I love parsnips We just peel them and then parboil them until soft. Then we slice them and brown them in a little butter until they are slightly caramelzed. OH MY GOODNESS yum on a plate.

    • inherchucks says:

      They are definitely beets…although I thought the same thing at first because I had never heard of white beets. But I love parsnips too. Hoping to get some in my box soon. And I will definitely be trying your delicious recipe :)

  5. […] to see more CSA goodness? Check out “What’s in the Box” from In Her […]

  6. Smedette says:

    That picture is adorable; you have a beautiful family.

    And holy cow – strawberries!!!

  7. happygrape2 says:

    Apples, pear and strawberry are fresh fruits so I just wash them than eat them right away.
    Onions, tomatoes and potatoes can cook with beef or make vegetable soup.

  8. I love the costume and wouldn’t it be amazing to wear that coat for real! I think all us food bloggers should start a business or something.
    You box, as always, looks amazing. I’d take every last stitch except the fennel. I’m not a fan of licorice so it freaks me out. The butter lettuce is a huge score. I’m envious.
    For your tomato wall, you should try this pasta. You have to love olives and garlic though, but it’s amazing and not your typical sauce. This dish packs a real flavor punch. http://cleaneatsfastfeets.com/?page_id=505.
    You could also try some salsa or a caprese salad. Yum.

    • inherchucks says:

      That pasta sounds awesome! Pasta is always a winner :) Thanks for the tip…

      I LOVE caprese salad but the snob in me prefers heirloom tomatoes…is that bad? But I am loving the salsa route too…hmmm…decisions, decisions…

      I made my pork with fennel last night and it is such a winner…do you eat pork? I promise you would love it!!!

  9. Lauren says:

    Oh, the cuteness! What adorable family Halloween costumes!

    As ever, I am jealous of your fruit. And the pumpkin!!

  10. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Your costumes are darling. Such a great fit for our family. Love ya

  11. kokostanley says:

    AMAZING costumes!!!!!!

  12. […] week, I link up with In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” series. Click here to check out this week’s collection of CSA […]

  13. Brigid says:

    I linked up!

    I’ve never seen white beets before either. I cooked red ones twice this weekend, and even though I wore gloves for the peeling and chopping, I still turned a little red when I tossed them with oil barehanded. Hazards of a cook’s life. :) I love fennel sliced raw atop greens with an orange-dill dressing. As for the tomatoes, every time we get any, I just turn them into sauce. Talk about uninspired. At least it’s tasty!

  14. […] forget to check out inherchucks this week for What’s in the Box #50. Head over there for some great ideas on how to use up your CSA […]

Leave a Reply

