26 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #51

  1. Mrs H says:

    Looking forward to seeing the linky fill up with wonderful links!!! I posted an article about storing all those splendid herbs for winter … there are a variety of ways to do it, and we make use of all of them! http://dotalanecdotes.blogspot.com/2012/11/storing-herbs-for-winter.html

  2. Can I be honest here? If I had those apples, I would slice them up (skin on) and spread a layer of Dulce de leche flavor of that new Philly cream cheese product (don’t remember the name, it’s in a gold tub). That stuff is my new crack. I even love it on a saltine cracker. But I’d feel like I was being slightly more healthy if I slurped it off an apple slice.

    I have tiny pears harvested by my CSA farmers from public trees, so if I can locate a Foley food mill I will make Farmgirl Fare’s oven pear butter with mine.

    Jealous of your raspberries, but not that jealous because you are clearly relishing them too.

    My chard survived frost in my garden, so I’ve been exploring it’s uses. I made a creamed chard the other day that rocked. Tomorrow’s pizza post will probably also use chard.

    Your carrots are pretty-I’d like to see a photo of them all sliced together being colorful before they get gobbled up.

    I’ve linked my mother-of-all pizza primer and also a homey, comforting French Green Lentil soup/how to make a brown stock (from my 1950s Betty).
    Thanks for hosting!

    • inherchucks says:

      Ok…I am officially on the hunt for that stuff…sounds sinful!!! And I agree, if you put it on an apple it totally makes it healthy :)

      Tiny pears? I want some of those in my life. As you know, I have an obsession with baby produce…ps: what is a foley food mill?

      Creamed chard sounds rockin! I saw a recipe a while back and have wanted to try it. Hmmmm…now I am beginning to rethink my initial smoothie idea.

      Love how beautiful sliced carrots look when they are different colors. And roasting them would bring out their beauty even more.

      Thanks for all your lovely dishes. Looking forward to checking them out :)

  3. I want those raspberries. They are my all time favorite fruit and I would eat them as is…ok I might rinse them first, but they’d be gone in roughly 46 seconds. Yellow carrots, apples, pears…man your box is amazing. If I get Swiss chard in my box again, I’m going to toss it in a smoothie and see what happens. Love the box; what a great week.

  4. The raspberries look fantastic!

  5. Yum! I just signed up for Farm Fresh to You and can’t wait for it to arrive next week!

  6. […] Linking to Fit and Fabulous Fridays, Fresh Bites Friday, Farm Girl Friday, What’s in the Box? […]

  7. […] to see some more CSA goodness? Check out “What’s in the Box?” from In Her […]

  8. Smedette says:

    Love that you are still getting fruit! And I am also not sick of apples. Made a big batch of applesauce and I love the way my house smells when I’m baking with them.

  9. Lynn says:

    Love those yellow carrots! How cool!

  10. Thanks for hosting! I thought I’d add “What was in the box” a roundup of my 20 week CSA season.
    btw. you guys had the cutest halloween costumes. my goodness. adorable.

    • inherchucks says:

      LOVE it! Thanks for sharing :) I appreciate your compliment on our costumes. My husband is really into family themed halloweens…already planning next years outfits!

  11. […] week, I link up with In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” series. Click hereto check out this week’s collection of CSA […]

  12. Brigid says:

    I got cauliflower, too, and can’t wait to roast it for dinner tomorrow night!

  13. Lauren says:

    I am SO JEALOUS of your raspberries. I mean, seriously. I wish we got more fruit than just citrus in our boxes…

  14. Thanks for stopping by my site, I’m really excited to start being a part of the produce party with the What’s in the Box button! Unfortunately, I’ll be waiting a little while for my first box as the East coast is cold and snowy right now! BTW, great-looking family :)

Leave a Reply

