What I Ate Wednesday #14

This time last year, I had yet to indulge in a pumpkin treat.  Shameful, I know.  So this year, I made my best effort to stuff my face with all things pumpkin during the holiday season.  I don’t think a day has gone by that I haven’t started my day with Pumpkin Oatmeal, treated myself to a few Pumpkin Bars, or scarfed down a bowl of Turkey Pumpkin Chili.  And just when you thought I couldn’t possibly eat any more pumpkin, with only a week left until Thanksgiving, I decided to up the ante and incorporate it into my day as much as possible.  Because after next Thursday, it’s all about peppermint, gingerbread and egg nog :)

Breakfast:

Pumpkin Pancakes (recipe coming soon)

Side of Kielbasa

I have always taken pride in my homemade pancakes.  But these pumpkin pancakes kind of blow them out of the water.  I’m just saying…they are pretty darn scrumptious!  And nothing completes a pancake breakfast like a side of burnt-to-the-crisp kielbasa.  The blacker the better.  I like it scorched.  Can’t wait to share the recipe with you :) (the pumpkin pancake recipe that is…)

Snack #1:

Pineapple Chobani Yogurt topped with Fresh Raspberries

A handful of Roasted Coconut Chips

Believe it or not, I am still trying to work my way through my huge Chobani shipment.  So today I enjoyed my favorite combination of all…Pineapple Chobani Yogurt topped with fresh raspberries.  It’s so sweet and refreshing it kind of takes me away to a deserted island.  Magical.  And then I had to take it to the next level with a handful of my latest addiction: Trader Joe’s Roasted Coconut Chips.  Can’t go a day without them.  You MUST try them.

Lunch:

Chicken Cornbread Salad

After a fun and festive music class, Harper and I were ready for a healthy and hearty lunch.  This salad is one of our favorites.  With add ins such as grilled chicken, dried cranberries, walnut pieces and crumbled cornbread, it’s pretty much an autumn explosion on a bed of mixed greens.  If only my homemade salads where this fancy.

After Lunch Treat:

Slice of Pumpkin Spice Rice Krispie Treats

Ever since I received my Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows from my Foodie Pen Pal, I have been wanting to whip up a batch of Rice Krispies Treats.  Sadly, Halloween has come and gone and my poor Pumpkin Spice Marshmallows were still sitting on the counter.  Even though Thanksgiving is around the corner I couldn’t let me my fun idea for Jack-O-Lantern Krispies Treats go to waste.  Besides, now I have a killer idea mastered for next year’s festivities!

Snack #2:

Bolthouse Farms Mango Protein Smoothie

Since Harper has swim class on Tuesdays, dinner is always later than usual.  I was looking forward to a filling meal, but my tummy couldn’t wait.  Luckily, I found this sitting in the fridge and it was the perfect snack to take the edge off of my hunger until dinner was served.

Dinner:

Pumpkin Pie Spiced Pork Chops with Butternut Squash

Sautéed Swiss Chard

Comfort food has never tasted so good.  Butternut squash is one of my favorite autumn veggies and it pairs perfectly with pork.  I normally serve this meal with a side of broccoli but grabbed a bunch of chard from the crisper instead.  I love to sauté chard with some olive oil, onions and a few splashes of stock (chicken in this case).  It’s so quick and easy and the result is mouth-watering.

So just in case you were keeping count, I managed to squeeze pumpkin into 3 of my meals today.  Which in my opinion should win some sort of pumpkin rockstar award.  Granted it was more of a “pumpkin essence”, but the bottom line is, I am a pumpkin machine.  And tomorrow I am shooting for 4 pumpkin filled meals :)

Your turn:  What is your favorite way to incorporate pumpkin into your meals?  Any favorite pumpkin recipes you want to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #14

  1. The pancakes look yummy and although I’m not a rice krispie treat fan, the pumpkin is adorable!!

  2. Is this where those fresh raspberries went? I’m still lusting after them, and I love the pumpkin rice krispy cake. Rice krispies used to be one of my all time favorites. If there was a plate in front of me right now, I wouldn’t turn them down. Those coconut chips look really interesting. I like the Beanito’s which are bean chips, but I’ll have to try the coconut ones too. Happy WIAW.

  3. You have some very interesting eats going on in this post! Kielbasa and Coconut chips. Never knew either one existed. What is Kielbasa?

    I love pumpkin too!!! My favorite way now is to mix it into banana ice cream, or protein breads. When I was younger my favorite way was pumpkin apple streusel muffins. So good!! And over the weekend I made my mom some healthified chocolate chip pumpkin bread that she loved.

    • inherchucks says:

      Kielbasa is a polish sausage. You can use it a variety of ways but I love cooking it for breakfast. And in my opinion, it’s best when it is burnt on the outside. So good!

      Sounds like you have been bitten by the pumpkin bug too. Thanks for sharing all of your delicious pumpkin tips :)

  4. Cant wait for the pancake recipe, I love love pancakes! :)Your after lunch treat looks awesome!

  5. Pumpkin spice pork chops?? Hmm.. i’m not sure how you made them, but they sound delicious!

  6. Ang says:

    Those meals look amazing… I love pumpkin too, but I rarely incorporate it into meals. I need to make an effort to do that.

    • inherchucks says:

      I figure, there are only a few months when pumpkin is really an appropriate ingredient. Kinda of like white after labor day, pumpkin in the summer just doesn’t seem right. So I do my best to fill up the autumn months with lots of pumpkin goodness.

  7. More new TJ’s products! These coconut chips sound amazing:) Happy WIAW!

  8. I love the pumpkin face on the rice krispie cake.

    Looks like you had a good day. Your salad and pumpkin pancakes look especially good.

    • inherchucks says:

      I happened to have some extra black cookie icing in the pantry and I thought it would be a fun way to jazz it up. Have plans to give out mini ones as halloween treats next year ;)

  9. Brittany says:

    Oh yum!! I love pumpking. I actually made Rice Krispies with those pumpkin spice marshmallows and I inhaled the whole pan by myself. They’ve been banned from my house until next year. Cornbread in a salad? I never thought of that, it sounds delicious. And I’m going to hunt down those coconut chips they sound really interesting.

  10. sloanepitman says:

    I need those coconut chips! They sound amazing! I love your love for pumpkin too! Happy Wednesday :)

  11. I’m allllll about the homemade pancakes as well – can’t wait to see the pumpkin pancake recipe you’ve got in your chucks lol :) never had burnt kielbasa but I loooooved burnt bacon as a kid – i couldn’t stand when it was cooked with the fat still on..gross! I gotta find those Coconut chips btw – they’re crying out for me! lmao nom nom nom

  12. Your rice krispie treat is just about the cutest thing EVER!!!

  13. Cait says:

    Mmmm that salad looks so good! It has all the best things for sure.

  14. Joanna says:

    How weird, I had a turkey cornbread salad with week! Cornbread + salad = surprisingly good combo ! :)

  15. those pumpkin pancakes look heavenly!

  16. I love the pumpkin rice crispy treat! I’ll have to remember that for next year! So cute!

Leave a Reply

