Pumpkin Pancakes

As I mentioned before, my love affair with pumpkin expires this Thursday.  I hate to say goodbye to my favorite goard-like squash, but alas the flavors of Christmas are popping up everywhere.  However, before we move on to gingerbread, peppermint and egg nog, I thought I would squeeze in one last pumpkin recipe.  And this one will be perfect for Thanksgiving morning…

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

Pinch of ground cloves

1 cup milk

6 tablespoons canned pumpkin puree

2 tablespoons melted butter

1 egg

Melt some butter in a skillet over medium heat; pour in 1/4 cup batter for each pancake. Cook pancakes about 3 minutes per side; serve with butter and syrup. Makes 8 to 10.

Preparation

Whisk dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, stir together wet ingredients.  Once combined, fold wet mixture into dry ingredients.  Heat  a small non-stick pan over medium heat.  Mist lightly with cooking spray.  Using a 1/4 cup dry measuring cup, pour batter into the center of the pan.  Cook for about 1-2 minutes, until the center starts to bubble and the sides start to curl, then flip.  Cook for an additional 45 seconds – 1 minute or until pancake is heated through.  Repeat with the rest of the batter.

Recipe slightly adapted from Martha Stewart

These pancakes are simply divine.  I decided to whip these up on a whim last week and they have been on heavy rotation ever since.  What I love most about these pancakes is that the flavor isn’t too rich.  They have just enough pumpkin essence to make them festive and fun without being too over the top.  They are light, fluffy and taste delicious with a smidge of butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.

Want to kick it up a notch?  Toss in a handful of some chopped walnuts or chocolate chips for some extra crunch.

Looking to stuff your face with more pumpkin treats before Turkey Day?  Check out these delicious and nutritious treats:

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Fact: These pancakes sound like heaven!!!

  2. I love their colour – superb :D

  3. Yum! Great minds are thinking alike–I made waffles yesterday and tossed one of my ‘put up packs’ of roasted butternut squash into it. Lightly flavored and utterly delightful.

    I’d be tripling your recipe, though, because the family are fiends for any kind of fluffy breakfast product.

    Thanks!

  4. Yum. We do pumpkin year round here– I almost never make plain waffles anymore, because the kids love pumpkin ones so much. This is reminding me I have another one to butcher and roast sometime soon….

  5. Yum! And I’m super jealous of that plate!;)

  6. These look fabulous! I’ll definitely be making these this weekend.

  7. Beautiful photo and even though I’m not pumpkin crazed, the pancakes sound delicious.

  8. Beth says:

    And now I want pancakes… looks good!

Leave a Reply

