21 Months

If ever I am having a rough day, all I need to do is look at this adorable face and feel the love.  I’m not quite sure how Harper manages to fit all of the joy that she has in her little body, but she is absolutely full of it.  Now, more than ever, she is becoming my little buddy.  We love to run errands together, go out for lunch, just us girls, and cook daddy breakfast (she’s a great little helper in the kitchen).  She is quite the social butterfly and makes friends wherever she goes.  Our lives are full and we are so grateful for our little angel.

Harper’s Firsts:

First Time Voting:  Since presidential elections only happen every 4 years, Harper made sure to get in on the action.  I can remember my mom taking me to the polls when I was little, so I was excited to include Harper in this important time in history.  We walked down to our local polling place with our neighbors to make our voice heard.  Harper was more interested in the sticker collection than the ballots, but either way she was happy to support our country.  Hooray for voting!

First Trolley Ride:  One of the funnest things about being a parent is introducing your child to new experiences.  A few weeks ago, we took a day trip up north to go apple picking (post coming soon).  After all our hard work, we ventured into a nearby town to enjoy some tourism activities and local cuisine.  Harper loves horses so being in a trolley drawn by two huge Clydesdales was a huge treat :)

First Visit to an Urgent Care Out of State:  As a parent, you always pray for a healthy child.  Especially while traveling.  But as we all know, despite our best efforts, cooties are inevitable.  After a long day of traveling, Harper woke up yesterday morning with croup.  Although we are no stranger to this barky cough, we are in a new place where we are unfamiliar with any doctors or medical facilities.  Lucky for us, we found a great urgent care office that was happy to assist us by giving Harper a breathing treatment and prescribing some oral steroids to help get us through the rest of our trip.  She was a super trooper to say the least and definitely earned her lollypop.

Harper’s Favs:

Favorite Toy:  Athleticism is most definitely genetic because before I ever introduced Harper to a soccer ball, she seems to find them wherever we go (ps: I was a soccer player for many years and still dabble in a women’s league here and there).  She is known to crash soccer practices at the park and dribble down the aisles of CVS.  So during our last shopping spree, we picked her up a soccer ball just her size and now she is ready to go pro.  Can’t wait until she is old enough for me to coach her team.  Oh, what fun it will be!

Favorite Song: Harper could easily start her own a cappella radio station.  The girl sings all day, every day.  Non-stop.  And I LOVE it!!!  Here is her most recent addition to her musical repertoire…The Rainbow Connection.  Ps: please ignore the fro and PJs.  Harper broke out in song during an early morning breakfast…

Favorite Book:  Despite my best efforts to initiate a bedtime routine with Harper that includes a few of her favorite stories, Harper has always been a lights out immediately after bath kind of girl.  She wanted no part of story time, until now.  And so her new favorite book to read before she goes to bed is Pajama Time.  I bought this book for Harper before she was born in hopes that we could dance around in our PJs together…and now we can ;)

Harper Snacks:

Finding healthy snacks for Harper is an ongoing quest.  It’s one of my favorite challenges and is always first on my list when I go to the grocery store.  I love seeing what new products I can uncover.  I’ve highlighted some of Harper’s favorite snacks before (here and here) but it’s been a while, so here are a few more…

1.  Organic Just Peas:  These might be my best find to date.  Harper loves her green veggies but “gocki” on the go can get a bit messy.  And funny enough, my child might be the only baby who doesn’t like cooked (or frozen) peas.  But she LOVES freeze-dried peas.  Which means, thanks to these amazing snacks, Harper can get in all her suggested veggie servings whether she is sitting at the dinner table or playing at the park.

2.  Trader Joe’s Roasted Coconut Chips:  I know I have talked about these little gems a lot but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to push them again.  Especially since Harper can pretty much finish off an entire bag by herself.  I now buy them in bulk so that I am never caught empty-handed when Harper requests her “coconut”.

3.  Earth’s Best Veggie Organic Pop Snax:  When it comes to her choices in food, Harper definitely prefers savory over sweet.  The last time I was at Target, I picked up a bottle of both Earth’s Best Organic Pop Snax flavors, Veggie and Sweet Potato.  She loved the Veggie but passed on the Sweet Potato.  Which was lucky for me because in my opinion, the Sweet Potato was heavenly.  The sweetest of treats.  So now, Harper and I snack side by side, with our Pop Snax, each enjoying the flavor of our choice.  Cause who says you have to be “of age” to enjoy some toddler snacks?

As we count down the days to Thanksgiving, I think it’s pretty obvious what I am thankful for.  Another year, another month, another day with the people I love most.  Harper, Daddy and I are so grateful for your smile, your love and your vigor for life.  We are so proud of all that you have learned, and all that you are becoming.  My only complaint is that you are doing it a bit too fast. But that seems to be a common protest from all parents.  So we plan to do our best to continue to savor each and every moment together.

Happy 21 Month Birthday Pumpkin Pie!  Mommy and Daddy love you :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “21 Months

  1. So pretty!!! I know you are loving this time! What a great mom you are!! Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Her curls, Afro and all, are adorable. And that smile, no wonder you’re head over heels with her. Have a great trip. Hope she feels better soon.

  3. mrsgalvan says:

    She is absolutely ADORABLE! She made my heart smile. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Courtney says:

    My favorite post! Love the pictures and especially love the video!

Leave a Reply

