What’s in the Box? #53

Hello, Friends :)  It has been too long.  I have been meaning to write but I was a bit preoccupied by these beautiful views…

Needless to say, our Thanksgiving in Texas was wonderful.  And being outside, exploring my sister’s horse ranch with Harper as my guide, was magical.  So much to be grateful for.

And while I was out in the wilderness, there was a raging party going on.  Last week we had a small but mighty 4 link ups!  With the holiday many folks didn’t receive a box so our party was much smaller than usual.  However, the recipes and goodies that were shared were more than enough to go around.  Sharlea from Fresh Veggies in the Desert whipped up an amazing Onion, Bacon, Butternut Tart with Cranberry Salsa with her CSA goodies.  And Megan from Clean Eats, Fast Feets, made some beautiful Moroccan Stuffed Acorn Squash.  Kirsten from Farm Fresh Feasts shared come budget friendly tips on how to reduce, reuse and recycle your food.  And finally Annie of AnnieRie Unplugged shared her ever bountiful Thanksgiving haul.  Thanks Ladies for your participation and for keeping the party alive.  I appreciate your loyalty and support :)

After one week without a box, you can imagine how happy I was to receive this week’s delivery.  I couldn’t wait to crack it open to see what goodies were hidden inside…

This week it’s all about the squash!  Butternut, delicata…all I can think about is cutting them up, tossing them with nutmeg, cinnamon, olive oil and a dash of salt and roasting them until they are deliciously tender.  A true autumn treat.

Another roasted favorite are carrots.  While I was away, I popped some carrots in the oven for dinner one night and they were a huge hit.  So simple, but so darn good!

I am giddy about those apples.  For one, it reminds me that I need to share my that apple crisp recipe (I haven’t forgotten…).  And secondly, Fuji apples are my favorite.  In fact, as I write this post I am snacking on one with a few slices of Gruyère cheese. A perfect pairing.  And when I am done with this I plan to peel one of those juicy mandarins.  A satisfying late night snack.

I love shallots.  They have such a mild flavor but they can easily transform a dish.  I used a bunch of shallots to make my Thanksgiving green beans.  Slice them thinly, saute them with lots of butter, season slightly.  Once they begin to soften, throw in the raw green beans, add some chicken broth to the pan (just enough to soak the veggies) cover the pan and steam for 5-10 minutes until green beans are tender.  Works every time!  In fact, I use this technique with a lot of my veggies.  I will probably saute my swiss chard with the shallots this week.  Might even throw in some of that garlic for an extra kick.

It’s been a while since I got some kiwi.  I usually slice it up and add it to smoothies or throw it into a fruit salad but I would really like to cook or bake with it this time.  Stay tuned to see what I come up with :)

I’m excited to get my fiesta on.  That bunch of cilantro is super fresh and fragrant.  I am thinking about making a batch of Green Rice to go along with a new taco recipe I have been dying to share with you.  Hopefully with my busy schedule, I can get my act together and get some food pics taken (if I can catch the daylight…)

And for the little head of lettuce.  A salad of course.  I might even jazz it up with some apple chunks and grated carrots if I am feeling wild one evening.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #53

  1. Your box never ceases to amaze me. All that delcious fruit, and I can’t wait to see what you do with the kiwi. I’ve never cooked or baked with it, so I’m excited for you.
    Welcome back! Glad you had a great time; the pictures are beautiful.

  2. lisa fine says:

    I love that you get so much fruit in your CSA! Ours is just a vegetable share, but if I ever have a farm or homestead and offer a CSA, I’d love to give out fruit, or eggs or baked goods or other fun treats. Yum.

  3. I’m still craving delicata squash with hot pepper jelly (A Veggie Venture), and now that our farm share is over for the season it looks like I’m on my own for squash. (Don’t worry about me, I’ve got a pile of pumpkin, butternut, and acorn squashes hanging in my breakfast nook)

    We’re still celebrating Thanksgiving here-my folks are visiting and we’re cooking, and eating, up a storm.

    I’m linking up a beef and bok choy pie and, surprise, a pizza! Will edit my links over the weekend when I can resume my normal blogging activities.

    Thanks!

  4. […] Linking to Fat Tuesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Real Food Wednesday, Gluten-Free Fridays, What’s in the Box? […]

  5. […] Check out the CSA link-up over at In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?”! […]

  6. Brigid says:

    I’m excited to have a box this week, too! I missed all the fresh veggies. I, too, am jealous of your fruit every week. I wish ours had more, but I’m excited for a bunch of beautiful greens — plus my beloved radishes. Yay!

Leave a Reply

