What’s in the Box? #55

boxquestionintrowhite

You know your day is going to be busy when by 9:30 AM you have already cooked breakfast for three, washed a load of dishes, put a cake in the oven, addressed Christmas cards and sliced veggies for a veggie platter.  Then it was time to shower, blow dry my hair, get Harper ready and head out the door to run errands around town before music class at noon.  Phew!  And that was just part one…the rest of the day included a trip to the police station (nothing major…just a fix it ticket), another music class, more food prep and kitchen clean up, a Hanukkah party, cooking club and as always, hanging with my favorite toddler.  I am tired just thinking about it all.

But nothing gets me rejuvenated like a box full of fruits and veggies and a party full of good food.

Last week we had 8 link ups.  And it was all about no-guilt comfort food.  Tacos, pizzacocktails, and chowder just to name a few.  Pretty sure I will be making each of these very soon.  Thanks to everyone who linked up and shared their goodies.  I love filling up my recipe files with delicious and healthy ideas :)

And let’s be honest, there is nothing more delicious and healthy then this lovely goodness right here…

What's in the Box? #55

She’s a beauty isn’t she?  And can you believe the size of the head of lettuce?  Took me forever to jam that thing in the crisper! Salads. For. Days…

Unfortunately it’s pretty much the only thing that is going to last around here.  The green beans were the first to go.  I whipped up a family dinner for a friend of mine (which included one of the oranges and some of the garlic) and made a batch of my famous green beans to go alongside.  They were a huge hit!

The green onions will be perfect for the spinach dip I will be making for a Christmas party this weekend.  I am also signed up to make a dessert.  Trying to decide if I should use the beets for a cake, the apples for a crisp or the pears for something special.  I love having such delicious options to choose from.

For the kale I am most definitely trying this recipe.  If this won’t warm you up and make your tummy happy I don’t know what will :)  Can’t wait to plant my face into a bowl of this ASAP!

I don’t know about you, but I love lemon water.  I go through phases of making it.  Mostly because I feel silly buying lemons at the store just to use them in water.  But if someone gives me some fresh lemons from their tree or I get some in my box I get inspired to make another batch.  So refreshing.  And it’s a great way to keep me sipping on H2O.

And finally, for the butternut squash, I will be enjoying it roasted.  Roasted and tossed with olive oil, nutmeg, salt and cinnamon.  Mmmmmm…I could eat JUST that for every meal :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #55

  1. Oh how lovely your produce looks! I received mine (in my jammies!) at 9:30 last night. Apparently the delivery guys really do like to chat, and it took a while to have the inaugural ‘we deliver you pay’ winter share delivery. I hope they liked the Faux-roccan acorn squash stew I sent with them for a very late dinner.

    I did get a Chinese cabbage late last night, so the kids have asked for Yakisoba Farm Fresh Feast style for lunch tomorrow. I’ll link that.

    If I had your box right in front of me, I’d make Gourmet Veggie Mama’s Kale and White Bean soup because it looks so yummy. I’d make Clean Eats Fast Feets pear, bleu cheese and walnut salad because it too looks yummy. I’d roast the garlic, the beets, and the butternut and put them up for winter.

    And I’d take the oranges, scoff at the paltry amount (you need to see the photos of the citrus in my fridge, post-Band-Fruit-Fundraiser delivery) and make Salmon in Good Orange Company. So I’ll link that recipe up for you today!

    Enjoy your busy season!

    • inherchucks says:

      Great minds do think a like! When I saw her post that yesterday I got excited for the kale I had in my box :) And yes, Clean Eats Fast Feets salad looks divine! I love a good “packed with goodies” salad.

      I am a big roaster as well. I’ll pretty much roast anything. It’s easy and delicious :)

      Can’t wait for that salmon recipe! I have a lovely halibut one with oranges but I am always looking for something new…

      Thanks for all the great tips and suggestions.

      Happy Holidays!!

  2. […] Linking to Monday Mania, Traditional Tuesday, Frugal Tuesday Tip, Real Food Wednesday, Whole Foods Wednesday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, Healthy2Day Wednesday, Fight Back Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, What’s in the Box? […]

  3. lisa fine says:

    Wow! What a gorgeous, full box of food.

    I’m about to share my post on my second CSA of the winter. Really enjoying linking up and reading other people’s posts.

  4. That’s it! I am moving to wherever you live so I can get CSA boxes like that. Mine are good mine you, but nothing compared to yours.
    It sounds like you had a crazy busy day, so I hope your weekend is more relaxing.

Leave a Reply

