What’s in the Box? #56

boxquestionintrowhite

It’s hard to believe that Christmas is less than a week away.  Luckily, I am pretty much done with my holiday to-do list.  Christmas cards have been sent, presents have been bought, house and tree decorated.  Only thing left to do is hang the stockings, wrap the presents and bake some cookies for Santa.  Oh, and celebrate the last WITB link party of the year!!

With the next few weeks of holidays, my CSA will not be delivering boxes.  Which means, for the next two Wednesdays I won’t have any fruits of veggies to boast about.  However, I will be putting together a few recipe roundups of this years favorite dishes.  So come on by and add a few links from your CSA successes.

In the meantime, let’s check out the 5 links from last week.  I love how much I learn from these ladies.  For example, ever heard of a yacon?  Sounds like a mix between a yam and bacon (mmm….bacon).  Well, Annie of AnnieRe Unplugged got some in her box last week and can tell you all about them.  Want to learn how to make your own Apple Cider Vinegar?  Annemarie of Real Food. Real Deals. can show you how to turn your kitchen scraps into a useful and delicious condiment.  Oh the things you pick up at this wild and crazy party :)

Thanks to everyone who linked up.  Keep your posts coming and feel free to invite a friend.  The more the merrier!

Now on to my box of goodies…

What's in the Box? #56 - In Her Chucks

Hello extremely large head of purple cabbage!!  Looks like I could feed an army with that thing.  My goodness!  It’s gorgeous…now to figure out what to do with all of that.  Even my best cabbage recipes will only use about half of that.  Guess it will be a very purple Christmas.

Purple accented with green of course!  I’m drooling over all the green in this box.  2 bunches of spinach, a bunch of broccoli, tons of kiwi, lettuce and parsley.  Major score :)  I tore into the parsley last night to add to my homemade stew (recipe coming soon).   I will be using the head of lettuce for a nice big salad to accompany the leftover stew for lunch.  I plan on steaming up the broccoli for my little angel.  Her favorite food and the best way to fight this cold.  I have some plans under wraps for the kiwi…hoping to have the time to execute it over the holiday.  And the spinach?  I am going to keep it simple and saute it with some of that lovely white onion.  The perfect side dish to any meal.  Another one of my favorite sides recently is roasted carrots.  They are so easy and so delicious.

Finally the mandarins and apples come in handy for healthy and quick snacks throughout the day.  Pair them with some cheese or nut butter and it turns my hungry tummy happy again.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #56

  1. I’ve been spinach crazy lately–it’s in dips, pasta dishes, smoothies, and of course pizza. Good thing the end is near (of the 2 gallons worth that I got in the share)!
    The kids have colds here, so we’ve been having appetizer smoothies with bananas, the Band Fruit Fundraiser oranges, and farm share carrots.

    However, I’m linking up a rant about cranberries (+ a recipe too) and a suggestion for pizza if Harper doesn’t eat *all* of the broccoli. Thanks for hosting despite the busy season!

    I’m intrigued by your kiwi plans . . . .

  2. lisa fine says:

    Whoa cabbage! That’s a big one.

    I love making Sweet and Sour Cabbage with it. Shred it up, cook it in tomato sauce with chopped onion, raisins, and brown sugar until everything cooks down, and top on rice or pasta. :)

  3. Your box is stacked! As always! I can’t believe you’re going to have two weeks off. Either you’ll enjoy the break and get caught up, or you’ll miss it tremendously. I was always up to my eyeballs in produce so a break sounds kind of nice. Although, we’re almost done and I’ll be sad.
    I’m still envious of all the amazing fruit you’re getting. Kiwis, apples and oranges; oh my!

Leave a Reply

