What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #4

boxquestionintrowhite

Merry Christmas everyone!  Hope you all had a fun and fabulous holiday :)  Ours was pretty low-key.  In fact we stayed in our pajamas the entire day.  Success!!  After opening presents we enjoyed a few slices of The Best French Toast with a side of bacon and fresh squeezed orange juice.  Then we snuggled up on the couch and watched Home Alone while a batch of Turkey Ricotta Meatballs baked in the oven.  Family time, good food and relaxation…the perfect way to celebrate Christmas :)

Due to the holidays, I will not be receiving a box for the next two weeks.  I am most definitely experiencing withdrawal symptoms but I am working through them one fruit at a time.  However, this break in delivery gives me the chance to rant and rave over some delicious recipes that never made it on the blog.

But before we jump into that, let’s take a look at last week’s party.  All 6 links were packed full of festive holiday treats…CSA style.  There was acorn squash bathed in butter, brown sugar and walnuts, Cranberry Apple Pecan Chocolate Chip Bread, a two pound sweet potato and a partridge in a pear tree :)  A big thanks to everyone who linked up and shared their goodies.  Keep ’em coming.

Now it’s time to take a walk down memory lane.  Check out some of my favorite recipes from the last few weeks of CSA deliveries…

What’s in the Box? #53

What's in the Box? #53 - In Her Chucks

Lemony Quinoa with Butternut Squash:  I love a hearty side dish.  And although I can eat butternut squash simply roasted any day, this recipe has me reconsidering my habits.  There are so many delicious flavors bursting from this dish it’s pretty much a party in your mouth.  You have the brightness of the lemon mixed with the sweetness of the butternut squash rounded out by the nuttiness of the pignolis.  I could eat the entire pot my myself…no joke.

What’s in the Box? #54

What's in the Box? #54

30 Minute Shepherds Pie:  Yeah I went there…Rachel Ray all the way.  And this dish delivers.  I got the recipe from my neighbors who swear by it and it is the perfect solution for a delicious and nutritious weeknight meal.  The potatoes, carrots and lettuce (for a side salad) came in handy.  It was a winner for the husband and baby and even made enough for leftovers.  Score!

What’s in the Box? #55

What's in the Box? #55 - In Her Chucks

Beef and Butternut Squash Stew:  I don’t mean to be a tease here but I can’t help but share my excitement about the stew I made with that lovely butternut squash.  With the busyness of the holidays I haven’t had time to sit down and write the post but the pictures have been taken and all that is left is to add a bit of commentary…stay tuned…your recipe will be here shortly :)

What’s in the Box? #56

What's in the Box? #56 - In Her Chucks

Red Cabbage Juice: So to be honest, I have used up everything from last week’s box except for that monster of a cabbage.  I guess you can say it intimidates me a bit.  I have had my share of cabbage dishes in the past and I really want to do something different.  Enter, Red Cabbage Juice.  Ever since Freddie bought me a juicer for my birthday, I have been having enjoying all types of combinations.  But I have yet to juice cabbage.  I am inspired by this recipe and am looking forward to giving it a whirl.  I’ll let you know how it goes :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite CSA recipes?  Feel free to link up some of your CSA inspired meals from 2012 that you are the most proud of.  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #4

  1. Beautiful boxes. Am looking forward to hearing what you do with the red cabbage! The color is so pretty.

  2. lisa fine says:

    We skipped a CSA week due to the holiday too. I’m so ready to get our share next week to start fresh with the new year! My goal is to make a vegetarian bean stew with the next share.

  3. Heather,
    I have a friend who swears by cabbage juice as a good, soothing, tonic for chronic GI upset/reflux/etc. And blueberries, beets, and raspberries mixed in would make the taste match the color–I’m curious how your juice turns out.

    I won’t push you, but when I was rooting around in the freezer I stumbled across a package of beef stew meat. I have a lot of butternut squash in my Strategic Winter Squash Reserve in a cold corner of my breakfast nook, so I’m very interested in your stew recipe when you get it up!

    I’ve linked up 2 posts using my CSA/garden produce. Since I’m thinking about New Years Eve, I’m linking up my Slow Cooker Salmon Swiss Chard Artichoke Dip. And, since it is my favorite pizza ever, and uses spinach from my farm share, I’ve linked up My Deployment Pizza.

    Thank you so much for hosting!

  4. Tammy says:

    Red cabbage juice is the most gorgeous juice on the planet. Try doing 1/4 cabbage with a green apple (or 2) and a lime. You’ll love it. Happy New Year to you and your beautiful family!

  5. I love seeing some of your favorite boxes from weeks gone by, You always get the best stuff. Happy New Year!!

  6. Melissa says:

    Sadly, the CSA season in northeast Ohio is over until late spring. Over the winter, I’m forced to make do with occasional winter farmer’s markets and grocery store produce. It sounds like you get CSA boxes year round – if so, I’m jealous! That would be awesome.

    • inherchucks says:

      Sorry to hear the CSA season is over :( Here in California, the season is year round…for which I am extremely grateful! I had a few weeks off due to the holidays but we will be back in action next week. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

