What’s in the Box? #57

boxquestionintrowhite

So…it’s Friday and I am just getting around to writing this.  My sincere apologies.  But I have an awesome excuse…and it has nothing to do with the dog eating my homework.  Although, believe it or not that really did happen to me before.  The reason why I am late with my weekly What’s in the Box post is because I have been busy recording my first CD!  For the last few days, I have been strumming my guitar, banging on drums and singing along to my favorite kids tunes.  I am so excited I can hardly stand it.  It’s been a joy and an honor to share my love of music with mamas and babies over the years in my music classes, but now families everywhere can rock out to the songs at home!  Details to come…

But in the meantime, let’s refocus ourselves on what we came here to do…celebrate our fruits and veggies.

Last week we had 7 wonderful links.  Some of my favorites included Parmesan Roasted Sweet Potatoes, Butternut Squash HashSalmon Salad with Roasted Beets, Goat Cheese and Pomegranates and a batch of Pumpkin Oat Muffins.  I mean…*drool*!  Thanks ladies for sharing your delicious goodies with the rest of the group.  I appreciate your participation and generosity :)

Now it’s time for me to reveal my first box of 2013…

In Her Chucks - What's in the Box? #57

Ta-dah!  Not a bad way to start off the New Year right?  And the first thing that caught my eye was the sweet potato.  Holy moly that sweet potato is huge!  Although, I bet I could eat it up all by myself…in one sitting.  I kind of have a major “thing” for sweet potatoes.  And thanks to Meghan, I have an awesome recipe to follow :)

Another recipe I am excited to follow is the one for my Sausage, White Bean and Kale Soup.  With temperatures in the 50s, it’s the perfect dish to whip up on a cold winter night.  Both the garlic and onion will come in handy for this dish as well.  Nothing like fresh onion and garlic to flavor your food and help fight illness.  And believe me, after being knocked out by a nasty stomach virus this week, I am doing my best to boost my immune system any way I can.  The mandarins will be a great dose of vitamin C, as will the kiwis, apples and broccoli.  Forget about CVS, I got CSA baby!

And then there are those silky, smooth avocados.  Pure heaven, I tell ya.  Guacamole anyone?  Oh, and do you want to know what I am most excited about?  We have an avocado tree at our new house…score!  So whether or not I get blessed with avocados in my CSA, I will be enjoying them on pretty much everything from here on out.  Happy New Year indeed.

Last but not least, we have rabbit food.  No offense to my carrots and lettuce, I am just feeling uninspired this week.  I need a break from salads and I have had my fair share of carrots lately.  But, as I always do, I will put them to good use and appreciate my fresh produce while I can.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #57

  1. Congratulations on the CD–what a wonderful way to start off the new year!

    My second Congratulations goes to the avocado tree in your new house. We had bananas and papayas when we lived in Hawaii and I know how fun it is to get ‘exotic’ produce in your back yard. Adding more avocado to my life is one of my new year’s resolutions so I’m interested to read more avocado recipes (guacamole here too as the first round I bought are ripe!).

    Seeing your Red Russian Kale reminds me of a pizza I’d made with it, so I’ll link up my Red Russian Kale, Baby Bella pizza. Your fruit (so so envious of fruit in a CSA box in January) reminds me of the fruit salad my daughter made to go on top of our Butternut Squash waffles. I know your cutie Harper is too young to make it while you’re walking with your honey, but watching her mama she’ll grow into her chef’s hat all too soon.

    BTW–I’m saving an avocado to make Meghan’s Cobb Salad since I’m NOT sick of salads and her salad looks so fresh and delicious to me!

  2. I am incredibly jealous of that sweet potato!

  3. Lauren says:

    Congrats about the CD! I was wondering where you got off to…

  4. csamom says:

    I am totally jealous of the avocado tree in your new house. I could eat avocados at every meal! If they are a little too ripe, I have an allergic reaction and start sneezing like mad, but I keep right on eating, undeterred! :)

  5. Not a bad reason at all! Congratulation on the upcoming CD!

  6. Tammy says:

    I love it when the broccoli comes in my CSA. I swear that I can taste the difference between farm fresh and store more than I can in any other veg.

  7. Congratulations on the CD. That’s is amazing; good for you!!
    As always, your CSA box makes me drool. Such variety and so much fruit. I’m envious and can’t wait to see what you think of the sweet potatoes.

  8. sk says:

    Holy sweet potato! Can’t wait to see what you do with this box! I added my link to the party, by the way! :)

Leave a Reply

