What’s in the Box? #58

boxquestionintrowhite

So, my mom has this theory.  She believes that people tend to be most active during the time of day that they were born.  For example, if you were born in the morning, than you are a “morning person”.  If you were born in the evening, then you are most likely a night owl.  Since having my own daughter, I would have to agree with this.  Harper’s best time of day is in the morning (she was born at 10:54 am).  I was born at 10:45 pm and have always been most productive during the late hours of the night.  That is, until recently.  You see, I am totally losing my mojo!  When I first started this blog, I would write until 2 or 3 am in the morning.  Never once seemed to bother me.  Now, I can’t get past 10:30!  What kind of wimp am I turning into?

But what does this have to do with farm, fresh produce?  Well, last night, as I was uploading the pictures of my box onto the computer, I went into our room to put Harper to sleep.  Before I knew it, it was daylight and I was still in my jeans and no blog post was written.  But I must say, going to sleep at 8:30 made me feel like a total rock star when it was time to wake up this morning.  I was so refreshed and rested.  So, that’s what a proper night of sleep feels like :)  But, again, my apologies for my tardiness.  Might have to rethink my late night posts if my early bed time continues…

Moving on to bigger and better things…last week we had 8 link ups.  And I know I might be biased, but this link party has the best participants out there.  Loyal, sweet and darn good cooks!  This week they cooked up Butternut Squash Waffles, Broccoli and Caramelized Onion Pizza, Greens with Bacon and Onions, Blueberry and Banana Smoothie, Radish Chips and Grilled Swiss Cheese and Sweet Pepper Relish on Beet Bread.  Talk about good eats.  So much delicious goodness, I don’t even know where to start!  Thanks ladies for keeping this party going.  I appreciate you sharing your yummy treats week after week.

Now let’s take a look at what arrived on my doorstep yesterday…

What's in the Box? #58 - In Her Chucks

Loving me some acorn squash!  It has been a while since this gorgeous and colorful ovoid shaped veggie graced my box and I can’t wait to get busy with it.  There are so many delicious recipes that have been shared at our weekly parties, but I think I am going to go with a simple roast and sprinkle it with some cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar and butter.  Sounds sinful :)

I am also excited about those beets.  I recently got a mandolin slicer and am dying to make some beet chips.  If all goes well, beets will no longer be safe in my household.  Ever.

Thank God for sweet and juicy mandarins.  They are my favorite snack.  I keep them in the fruit bowl in the kitchen and am known to grab a few while I am racing around the house, chasing after Harper.  Apparently, I munched on too many last week, because when Freddie went to the fruit bowl to grab a few for himself they were all gone.  Ooops!  Freddie made sure to grab a nice size stash to bring to the office this morning.  Wanted to make sure he had his fair share :)

Apples are another delicious treat!  I was happy to replenish my stock as last week’s apples went pretty quickly.  We sliced up some today with some of the carrots and enjoyed dipping them in almond butter.  Yummers!

After the success of our last round of homemade OJ, these oranges will definitely be thrown into the juicer.  It’s the perfect activity for a weekend morning while you have bacon in the oven and pancakes on the stove.

And speaking of bacon, I will definitely be sautéing that swiss chard with some bacon and those onion I got thanks to some inspiration from CSA Mom.

Finally, I have a new lease on life when it comes to salads.  This past weekend my mom and I celebrated a close friend’s 40th birthday.  And not only did they have yummy tacos and killer margaritas, but the salad was out of this world.  The secret ingredient?  Brianna’s Blush Wine Vinaigrette.  It will change your life.  Promise.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #58

  1. That totally explains why I am frequently awake at 3:24am! I suffer from being very productive in the evenings and married to a spouse who is out the door by 6:30 am, so I tend to crash around 2 pm. Wish I could nap then, but alas . . . I wish you well if your early bedtimes are just a symptom! Get your rest where and when you can.

    I told my spouse he needs to get stationed in California or Florida or some place where the CSA would give me fruit year ’round. I am so in awe of your weekly boxes!

    I’m excited to learn about your beet chip adventures–I gave my oldest friend a Benriner for Hanukkah/Birthday this year and I can’t wait to hear how she plays with it. I recently made an acorn squash and beet chili that could go vegan or for carnivores (and bean free, for them as don’t eat beans, but I forgot which diet that is) but I could definitely get into trying a beet chip.

    I’m linking up a pizza using Kohlrabi greens which gave this amazing kale chip effect on top. I’m also linking up a post for a simple dip, since seeing your carrots and daikon reminded me of that dip and I want to make it this weekend.

    Thanks!

  2. Dana Staves says:

    Hmm… I must have been born in the morning because I’m almost useless after about 3pm. :)

    My CSA starts back up tomorrow, and I’m so excited to get back into the routine it gives me (and to link up with you again!).

  3. Lauren says:

    No wonder I am neither a chipper morning person nor a night owl — my mom always complains that I was born at 1:03 pm and made her miss lunch!

    Nora, however, was born at 9:45 pm and sleeps like a rock straight through that, so who knows. Maybe it’ll be true when she’s a grown-up.

  4. Interesting theory. I’ll have to ask what time I was born. I’d say I’m much more of a morning person. Up easily around 6:00 and in bed by 10:00 at the latest. I love daikon radish (which I think I see in you box…maybe a parsnip though?) My box comes every other week so I need to remember to come link-up with the party!

  5. Alright I asked my dad what time I was born, and he can’t remember. Oops.

    I am so jealous of your amazing boxes. Every single week, they are amazing. Such great produce and so much fruit.
    Hope your CD is coming along swimmingly.

  6. […] Come check out In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” link-up! […]

  7. Brigid says:

    As always, I’m jealous of all that beautiful fruit. I’m making a roasted veggie salad with beets, turnips and kohlrabi. Fingers crossed it turns out! I love acorn squash in so many ways — mashed, caramelized, stuffed, in soup, etc.

  8. I think I believe this theory. I’m more of an afternoon girl and I was born in the afternoon. It must be true!

    PS – every time I see your What’s In Your Box linky I convince myself more and more I need to join the local CSA

  9. Interesting on the birth time thing, I’m a total night owl. I’ll have to ask my mom what time I was born, is that weird I don’t know that?

    • inherchucks says:

      Not at all! A lot of people don’t know when they were born. The only reason why I know is that my mom would always come in at 10:45 at night on my birthday to remind me of when I was born :)

Leave a Reply

