What’s in the Box? #59

boxquestionintrowhite

Produce is pretty, but family comes first.  My apologies for yet another tardy post, but Freddie, Harper and I got a chance to snag a midweek getaway and spend some quality time together and so I took full advantage.  Which means I have been busy snuggling, giggling and savoring precious moments with the people I love most.  Plus, we finalized some loose ends on the CD today :) Which we celebrated with a lovely lunch and a trip to Target (always an important stop when we are away from home since our town is without one).  So overall, my hump day was pretty darn glorious!

…As was last week’s rockin party!

We had 4 link ups from my fellow fruit and veggie lovers.  And even though I don’t know squat about the Super Bowl, whenever it happens I am fully equipped with the perfect snacks for the big game.  Thanks to Kirsten from Farm Fresh Feasts, I have CSA packed veggie dip and pizza.  And Annie from AnnieRe Unplugged hooked us up with an amazing recipe for Pumpkin Hummus.  Pass the pita chips please :)  Thanks ladies for sharing your delicious goodies with us.  Now, someone tell me, when is this important day in football?

But before tops start flying off during half-time shows, let’s keep it G rated with some good, wholesome fun…

What's in the Box? #59 - In Her Chucks

Beets!!  And quite possibly, THE biggest beet on the face of the planet.  That orb is humongous!!!  I am pretty sure it can feed an army.  Which means all of my favorite beet recipes will be put to great use.  Beet cake, beet muffins and beet salad.  If you are in the mood for beets, come on by, because once I am done with this thing, I might be beeted out.

One piece of produce that I can never get enough of are those sweet and juicy mandarins.  And while I am known for immediately stuffing them in my face before they make it to the fruit bowl, this week I have some help with self-control.  Blood oranges to the rescue.  Remember that Citrus Crusted Tilapia with Blood Orange Salsa I made last year?  Divine!  And that is the fate of this week’s lovely bunch too :)  Plus one adorable mandarin.  And I plan on serving the fish with a side of steamed broccoli.  That is, if Harper doesn’t eat it all by herself.

It has been a while since I have received celery root in my box.  But I know just what to do with it.  Starting Feb 3rd, Freddie and I are back on a strict clean eating plan, but we might as well warm up to it by indulging in one of our favorite clean eating salads.  Plus, we have everything else we need right here.  Parsley, avocado, apple.  I love it when meal planning just happens so effortlessly :)

And finally, the veggies that always get the short end of the stick.  Lettuce and carrots.  It’s not that I don’t love them, they are just so ordinary.  But they are the most loyal, as they show up every week.  And now that I have discovered my new favorite salad dressing, salad is no longer a bore.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #59

  1. Heather, Would you mine saving 1/2 cup of finely shredded beets out of your beet-palooza plans? I made a beet crust pizza that I think would be perfect for Valentine’s day. I’ll be putting the recipe up next Friday. Thumbs up from the entire family, and the recipe works for vegans, vegetarians, and omnivores.

    Your carrots make me want csamom’s roasted carrots–they’d be perfect roasted her way.

    In the surprise of the century, I’m linking up a pizza. But I did some kitchen gymnastics in this one, rolling the pizza over. Thank you AGAIN for the picmonkey tip. Love that site.

    I couldn’t decide between my chocolate cherry cider muffins and a quick take using my CSA farm share spinach, but in the end the spinach won. So that’s linked too. Yesterday I made 3 batches of double chocolate raspberry muffins using raspberries I’d put up last summer, and I could happily not make those again in at least a week!

    I’m off to explore your clean eating!

  2. I have gotten to really like celeriac. We got a ton in our winter CSA– I just use it in place of celery in soups.
    no boxes when it’s 8 below here, so not linking up. ;-)

  3. Lauren says:

    Wait, is the Super Bowl this weekend? I am being totally serious here.

    But, yay citrus!

  4. as always, your box is ridiculous! I think you need to make some juice with the beets, the blood oranges and the carrots. Add a little OJ if you want it sweeter or a little champagne for a twist on the classic mimosa. I’m excited for you.

  5. […] the “What’s in the Box” CSA round-up over at In Her Chucks. You can follow along here. Looking forward to more CSA inspiration and seeing what everyone else is getting in their […]

  6. Hi! Thanks for the invite – I’ve linked up and added you to my reader so I don’t miss another installment of the CSA party! Looking forward to more motivation and inspiration :)

  7. […] out Heather’s “What’s in the Box” party to see how others are using their CSA […]

Leave a Reply

