Chicken and Swiss Chard with Couscous in Brodo

Chicken and Swiss Chard with Couscous in Brodo

Believe it or not, this has been one cold winter for us Cali folks. The other day Freddie texted me this picture from the car…

photo

Yeah…36 degrees. In these parts that’s considered unacceptable. But if I were to find the silver lining in all of this (which I like to do), 36 degrees is the perfect weather for a warm bowl of soup :) Especially when it’s easy to make, contains ingredients you already have in your fridge and super, duper delicious!

But before we get to the recipe, let’s settle something here. What the heck is brodo? Well, according to my Google search, brodo is another word for broth or clear soup. Nothing special, but when you add it to the title of your recipe, it makes it sound so much more fancy. And these days, I’ll take all the fancy I can get :)

Ingredients

6 cups low sodium chicken broth

1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts,

2 garlic cloves, smashed

3/4 cup Israeli couscous

3/4 cup thinly sliced carrots

1/2 bunch Swiss chard, center ribs and stems removed, leaves torn into 2 inch pieces

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

1/4 cup fresh dill fronds

2 tablespoons thinly sliced chives

Lemon wedges (for squeezing)

Preparation

Bring broth to a boil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add chicken and garlic, reduce heat to low, and cover. Cook until chicken is cooked through, 10-12 minutes. Transfer chicken to a plate; let cool. Shred into bite sized pieces; set aside.

Return broth to a boil and add couscous; cook until al dente, 7-8 minutes. Add carrots and continue to boil until carrots are crisp-tender and couscous is cooked through, 2-3 minutes longer. Remove from heat and stir in Swiss chard; season with salt and pepper. Divide soup among bowls and garnish with dill and chives. Squeeze a bit of lemon over each bowl and serve.

Recipe from Bon Appetit

What I like most about this soup is the crisp, clean flavors. The dill, chives and lemon really bring this dish to life by adding a subtle sweetness. But don’t let this healthy dish fool you…it’s darn hearty! Between the couscous, chicken and Swiss chard your belly will be happily full. And the leftovers? Even better. The longer you let the flavors mingle, the more delicious it will become. So bring on the cold weather Mother Nature…because I got soup for days!

PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! You have until February 1st to get your entries in. Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks. Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway. Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Chicken and Swiss Chard with Couscous in Brodo

  1. Yummy! Yes, it has been cold here in Cali! Has me craving soup all week long. I love those big cous cous pearls in there, I’d take a bowl!

  2. Heather,
    You had me at “ardent” couscous!
    I love your photo (the soup, not the cold!). When we lived in Hawaii we never wanted to make soup, so I get the happiness that comes with weather that fits your desire.
    Whatcha going to do with your swiss chard stems? Sloppy Joes?

    • inherchucks says:

      Dang spell check!!

      Thanks Kirsten :)

      I juiced them with the other half of my bunch. However, I have seen them breaded and served as french fries before…

      • You’re kidding me–I just use the boxes of Roasted Garlic Couscous or something, I’ve never cooked with a box of plain Israeli cous cous, so I actually thought it was a way of cooking cous cous (‘heat the oil til shimmery’, ‘cook the cous cous ’til ardent’), not an auto correct fail. That’s funny.

        I’ll have to investigate breaded Swiss chard fries . . .

      • inherchucks says:

        I usually cook out of the box too unless a recipe insists I follow their directions from scratch :)

        It is somewhere in my party archives…maybe I can find it with a general search. I’ll post it for you if I come across it.

  3. Deanna says:

    This looks wonderful! We love Swiss chard!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Deanna. So do I…it’s so versatile. This is a great recipe for both Swiss chard lovers and those in your family who are more skeptical because it is a subtle addition to a delicious soup.

  4. Tammy says:

    I agree with Kirsten. Your photo is beautiful and perfect for the cold.

  5. I have had two bunches of swiss chard from my CSA go bad in the fridge because I never end up using it. I contemplated adding it to my “do not send” list, but I think I might give it one more chance so I can try to make this soup!!

  6. Ashley says:

    I want to try this and sub kale for the chard. Thank you for the inspiration! Xo

  7. sk says:

    This looks SO amazing right now.

Leave a Reply

