What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #5

boxquestionintrowhite

I’ve never missed my box more than I do at this very moment.  Even though me and the fam are enjoying a fun-filled week at Disney World, local, organic and fresh produce isn’t something you see a lot of around these parts.  I do my best to order the most veggie friendly thing on the menu but despite my efforts, I feel like all I am eating is a boat load of pesticides.  I’ll be the first to admit that I am a total produce snob, but these bags of baby carrots and sour grapes aren’t cutting it for me.  I am counting down the days until I can enjoy a nutrient rich home cooked meal (T minus 2).  But in the meantime, you can find me in the food court with my face planted into a Mickey Mouse Pizza (hangs head in shame…).

So since I can’t have my veggies or eat them too…let’s take a look back at last week’s party.

With total of 6 inspiring link ups it was the leafy greens who were partying it up the most.  Spinach, kale and chard were being dressed up and pampered in sinfully creamy and cheesy pasta and fancy dancy Quiche recipes.  Who knew eating your veggies could be so ooey, gooey and delicious :)  Thanks ladies for sharing your yummy dishes with the rest of us.

Now it’s my turn to pass on some of my favorite recipes from the last few weeks.  These dishes are sure to fill you up and make your tummy smile.

January 9, 2013: What’s in the Box? #57

In Her Chucks - What's in the Box? #57

Sweet Potato Turkey Shepherds Pie: As much as I was looking forward to devouring a batch of Meghan’s Parmesan Roasted Sweet Potatoes I changed my plans when I remembered that I was hosting my cooking club for our monthly meeting.  I needed a dish that was simple, delicious and served a crowd and this recipe fit the bill (so did the size of this sweet potato).  This healthy take on a classic comfort food was a huge hit!  I plan on making this over, and over, and over again :)

January 16, 2013: What’s in the Box? #58

What's in the Box? #58 - In Her Chucks

Classic Baked Acorn Squash:  After using up the majority of my chard and carrots on soup, it was time to get busy with the squash.  Baking and roasting veggies is so darn easy and the results are so darn delicious.  Add some brown sugar, butter and maple syrup and you have yourself a party :)  I served this dish alongside some steak and steamed broccoli.  It proved to be the perfect way to round out the meal.

January 23, 2013: What’s in the Box? #59

What's in the Box? #59 - In Her Chucks

Chicken and Sun-Dried-Tomato Meatballs:  It seems silly to revolve your recipe search around a bunch of parsley but that is exactly what I did.  And even though it was just used as a garnish, it was a good excuse to execute another delicious meatball recipe.  The end result was a bit too spicy for me so I plan on cutting back on the jalapeño next time around but other than that, I highly recommend giving these bad boys a try.  

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite CSA recipes?  Feel free to link up some of the CSA inspired meals that you are the most proud of.  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!


PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! You have until February 1st to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks. Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway. Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #5

  1. i’m with ya sister… never wanted a csa more in my life. inspiration and healthy self, healthy planet are all suffering. thank you for hosting.

    i’ve linked up my recipe for oozy cheesy baked breadcrumb’d roasted butternut squash and cauliflower. that’s a mouthful! and it was. yum yum yum!

    pps. my linky party, the Wednesday Fresh Foods Link Up is live and you’re invited…. very exclusive you know ;)

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks for sharing and linking up Kristy :) My apologies for being absent from your party. Life has been busier than normal and I have been slacking on my blogging duties…heading over now :)

  2. Heather,
    I really don’t feel like a produce snob, but you’re right–when you’ve had fresh delicious produce it makes the tasteless stuff pretty hard to eat. I cannot buy strawberries in the grocery store anymore, because as good as they *look*, they always end up disappointing me on the taste. Unless I cover them in chocolate, then, I can eat nearly anything.

    However, food is merely fuel when you’re in Disney, so enjoy your surroundings! There will be time to obsess over a bunch of parsley (I can so relate to that comment) soon enough.

    I’m linking up a day’s worth of meals today. For breakfast, an eggless brunch skillet using my CSA farm share Chinese cabbage, potatoes, and a package of back bacon. For lunch, a bean-free chili that starts off with roasted veggies and could end up serving vegetarians or meat eaters, depending on who graces your table. And, in the surprise of the month, a pizza–using leftover cooked greens and making a new dish.

    Thanks for hosting!

    • inherchucks says:

      Perfect timing! Word around town is that I have a Chinese cabbage coming my way and I have no idea what to do with it. And I always look forward to your pizza recipes.

      Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  3. Although my share only comes once every 2 weeks, I still want to discuss what I’m cooking in between. I’m linking up this week’s attempt at all things orange! Thanks for hosting (and to Kristy above – ooey gooey squash and cauliflower sounds divine right about now)!

  4. […] we have the lovely Heather at In Her Chucks. She spends her days in Florida, and her CSA boxes come stacked with picture perfect produce and […]

  5. Tammy says:

    Seems like it’s a citrus time of year from those photos.

  6. Your boxes, even from weeks gone by, are still incredible. I miss my CSa more than I would have though possible. The grocery store produce is good, but not nearly the same. Three months and counting….

Leave a Reply

