Fresh Start: Day 1

Day 1I love a fresh start.  Whether that is in the form of a blank 2013 calendar, a pristine pair of shoes or a nice clean kitchen, it feels good to celebrate new beginnings.  Which is why I am such a big fan of the new year.  January is the perfect time to reflect on your life and work towards fostering better habits for the months to come.

Starting 2013 with an awesome Conscious Box was the inspiration I needed to get back on track.  I do my best to eat clean and avoid processed foods on a regular basis, but sometimes life (and Disney World) gets in the way.  So when I learned about Amazing Grass and their Fresh Start Two Week Challenge, I knew that it was the perfect solution to help me renew my habits and continue on my healthy journey.

What I love most about this challenge is that you can take it with you wherever you go.  Amazing Grass has helped make your fresh start accessible by creating an app for your iPhone.  So whether it is a shopping list, meal plan or product finder, everything is in the palm of your hand.

So what does an Amazing Grass Fresh Start look like?  Check out my eats for Day 1…

First Thing

IMG_3421

Amazing Grass’s Amazing Meal mixed with Coconut Water

Nothing like starting off your morning with organic Green Superfood packed with 10 grams of complete protein and 6 grams of fiber.  This stuff not only tastes good, it is good for you.  I went with the Pomegranate Mango flavor and am totally in love.  A little taste of paradise and enough energy to face your day with confidence :)

Breakfast

IMG_3423

Sprouted Ezekiel Toast with Natural Almond Butter and a Fuji Apple

After drinking my Amazing Meal, I was pretty full, so this toast and apple was the perfect light breakfast.  Plus, who can resist the combination of apples and nut butter.  It’s almost sinful.

Lunch

IMG_3425

Asian Salad topped with Tuna Salad and Avocado Slices

I have to be honest with you, when I read that I was going to be making my own tuna salad from scratch (meaning not from a can) I was totally skeptical.  But now, I am a true believer and a total tuna snob.  I will forever make my tuna salad from fresh albacore.  There is nothing more delicious or nutritious.

Snack

IMG_3427

Amazing Grass Bar

Would you believe me if I told you this energy bar reminded me of a fruit roll up?  You know those overly processed candy snacks that are loaded with corn syrup but oh so good.  This yummy superfood was deliciously salty and sweet.  Packed with fruit and veggies it’s the perfect well-rounded meal on the go.

Dinner

IMG_3429

Grilled Salmon with Roasted Brussels Sprouts

When you marinate fish overnight, the result is pure goodness.  With ingredients like tamari, citrus and garlic, this salmon was bursting with flavor.  The simplicity of the Brussels complimented the fish wonderfully (and besides, in my book, you can never have enough Brussels!).

Snack

IMG_3431

Coconut Water and Dark Chocolate

As Harper would say, “I love chocolate mommy!”.  Sounds like she is definitely my daughter.  After a long day, dark chocolate and a bottle of cold coconut water was the perfect way to wind down.  Full of antioxidants and sugar-free, indulging in a few squares of Lilly’s Dark Chocolate made this tired mama very happy :)

Not a bad way to kick off a fresh start right?

Wanna join me in turning over a new leaf?  Check out Amazing Grass’s Two Week Challenge and commit this new year to creating a new you :)

*Full Disclosure:  Amazing Grass provided me with one bottle of Amazing Meal free of charge.  I was not paid to write this post. With exception of some of the factual information given about the various products, all opinions regarding the products are my own and 100% honest.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Fresh Start: Day 1

  1. Good for you, Heather. I like a fresh start too. I’m thinking by Chinese New Year I’ll be ready for a re-set. :)

  2. Nicely done day of eats, and way to get back on track. Not that I ever thought you were really off the track. Me, I always like to keep the track just a touch to my right side.

Leave a Reply

