What’s in the Box? #60

boxquestionintrowhite

Sometimes you just have to look at life and laugh.  For some reason or another today was not my day.  It started out fine.  I woke up around 8, enjoyed a glass of Amazing Grass Greens while I made breakfast.  Skyped with my mom while I sorted laundry.  Then after we hung up I took the clothes outside to start a load, came back and realized I had locked myself out.  Thank God I had my phone in my pocket because I was able to call Freddie and he was there in less than 5 minutes.  I shrugged it off as a lesson learned (make sure to check the locks before I go outside) and went about my day.  On my way home from music class, I was running errands and decided to stop by the bank.  I completed a quick transaction at the ATM and was getting ready to jump back in the car when I pulled the handle and realized it was lock.  You have got to be kidding me!  The keys (and my cell phone) were sitting there on the front seat.  I went inside the bank so that I could use their phone to call Freddie.  Again he came to my rescue.  He thought I was joking.  I wish I was.  When he pulled up I started laughing.  He didn’t think it was funny.  To be honest, I didn’t think it was funny either, but I didn’t know what else to do.  I locked myself out of my house and car in one day.  Who does that?  Apparently me.  So I have decided to stay home in my PJs tomorrow so that I won’t get locked out of anywhere…and maybe catch up on some sleep too.

So in order to lighten the mood a bit, let’s talk about some of my favorite things…veggies!

Last week we had 7 link ups!  And these might be some of my favorite posts to date.  Let’s start out with this amazing Chickpeas and Spinach with Garlic Aioli by Gourmet Veggie Mama.  I’ll be the first to admit, I never thought chickpeas could hold their own as the star of a main dish, but this recipe has definitely changed my mind.  Got oranges?  Researching San Diego has all the orange recipes you will ever need.  Orange you glad I gave you the link?  And finally, how about some Cheesy Oozy Baked Breadcrumb’d Butternut Squash and Cauliflower Gratin from Gastronomical Sovereignty?  Makes you want to cross your fingers in hopes of more Cauliflower, right?  :)  Thanks ladies for sharing all your delicious goodies with the rest of the party.  Keep the yummies coming!

Now moving on to my yummies for the week…

In Her Chucks: What's in the Box? #60

Fresh strawberries in February?  I’ll take it!  Happy Valentines Day to me :)  And they are here in perfect time for me to enjoy them as part of my meal plan.  They will be a delicious post dinner snack.

I am also glad to see the spinach, lettuce, carrots and broccoli as all of those items are on the shopping list for this week’s meals.  The spinach and lettuce will be delicious in an Asian Salad, the carrots will make a great afternoon snack and the broccoli will be going in some stir fry.

Freddie is currently devouring the mandarins as we speak.  They really are the perfect little treat.  The blood oranges will most likely become juice (a new weekend tradition).  The potatoes might join the oranges for breakfast.  How about some fresh hash browns?  All for the hubs and the baby though…none for me this time around.

I am glad that squash keeps because I will be tackling this after my two week meal plan is up.  I am thinking about either this recipe for Turkey Bolognese with Spaghetti Squash or Spaghetti Squash Pancakes…yum!  Can’t wait to start experimenting in the kitchen.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #60

  1. Jess says:

    Ha! Well, you gotta laugh when you lock yourself out twice in one day… Have an awesome pj’s day tomorrow!

  2. Look at those strawberries! Valentine’s gift indeed. Thanks for the kind words – am having so much fun being part of the community :)

    • inherchucks says:

      Always enjoy having you :) Wait until everyone starts getting their boxes again…when spring and summer come this party is super rockin!

      • Definitely looking forward to it. There was a suggestion that we might see some berries ourselves this week. Word on the street (from those who got their share yesterday) is that the rumor didn’t pan out. But, so many more blood oranges! There’s always next week!

      • inherchucks says:

        Crossing my fingers that you get some berries soon. But any fruit at this time of year is considered a treat for sure :)

      • Very, very true. I can see myself getting very spoiled, very quickly living in this temperate climate. Must. keep. reminding. myself. :)

      • inherchucks says:

        Oh yeah…I completely understand. I remember last year I was getting tired of all the citrus and greens during the winter and then folks who had no CSA’s during the colder months because nothing would grow in below 7 temperatures would be drooling over my fresh produce. Helped put things into perspective. But I don’t blame you for getting comfy with this lovely cali climate…we are so spoiled.

  3. So much beautiful and bountiful goodness in your box. I’m drooling. Alright not really, but I’m super envious. I could go to the store and grab all the same stuff, but it’s just not the same as locally grown, and I miss it.
    No potatoes or squash for two weeks, huh? I know you’re back on the clean eating train. Does that mean potaotes and squash get bumped for you then? Just curious.

  4. I’ve got a couple of oranges left from the Band Fruit Fundraiser so I’m very glad for this Orange round up.

    This week I’m thinking about love and valentine’s so I’ve linked up some red or romantic or just . . . it’s food, share it with the ones you love, OK?

    Coast to coast I’ve been hearing about folks being just a little off the normal routine (forgetting where the car is when it’s getting an oil change, leaving the tests on the table before class, and now you and locking yourself out). I’m blaming the Super Bowl, specifically the power outage, which kept us all up later and therefore messed up the beginning of the week.

    Hope today is a better day for you–and Freddie!

  5. Fresh Ginger says:

    Twice in one day? Oh, that is funny. Well, you gotta laugh, anyway. :)

  6. Melissa says:

    At least the car wasn’t running when you locked your keys inside! (Yes, I’ve done it. Once. And that was enough!)

    On the plus side, strawberries and oranges and squash, oh my! Looks great.

  7. I am just itching for our CSA to start up again. Your box looks amazing!! Can I dive straight in?

  8. adelewayah says:

    I’m trying to talk myself into signing up for a CSA box here. We moved across country so my weekly farmers market trips are not as accessible as they used to be. I am freaked about not being able to pick my own veggies and just being “assigned” whatever there is (especially things like beets and turnips which I have no idea what to do with). The next cycle here starts in 3 weeks so I might be back in the link up soon! Have missed it during the crazy months of moving and getting re-settled.

Leave a Reply

