What’s in the Box? #62

boxquestionintrowhite

Today is a very special day because it is my precious little love’s 2nd birthday.  And boy did we have fun!  I know I say it often, but time really does fly.  It feels like yesterday that we were celebrating her 1st birthday.  While I was working on her monthly post last night, I was in awe of how much she has grown.  It is such a joy to watch her become her own little person.  She is pretty darn cute :)  Here she is blowing out her candles on her hot pink ice cream cake…(ps: she only wanted to eat the “sparkles”…aka sprinkles).

Harper is 2!

Happy Birthday baby girl!  Mommy and daddy love you to pieces…

So now that Harper has us all in the mood to party, let’s celebrate our fruits and veggies :)

Last week we only had a total of 6 link ups but these ladies clearly came to party!!!  I mean Roasted Beet, Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Pizza, Pineapple Kale Juice, and Split Pea Soup?  I wish I could reach through the computer screen and sample a taste of each.  They all look and sound spectacular :)  Thanks for sharing ladies.  I am officially craving each of these dishes for my next three meals.

Speaking of meals, what the heck am I going to be doing with all this loveliness this week?

In Her Chucks- What's in the Box? #62

Well, let’s start with the chard.  I have been hoping and praying for some chard.  I recently came along another chard soup recipe, and after the success of my last soup experiment, I am feeling confident about trying something new and of course, looking forward to sharing with you :) (ps: speaking of soup, look for the Tomato Basil Bisque recipe soon…I’m shooting for the weekend).  And we all know soup goes perfectly with salad, so that head of lettuce will be delicious topped with some sliced avocado and homemade dressing.

I am thrilled about the strawberries again!  And I love the pairing of strawberries with kiwi.  Kind of brings me back to my first taste of Snapple when I was in elementary school.  Our student government put in a vending machine, but we weren’t allowed to have sodas so it would dispense Snapples instead.  Kiwi Strawberry was my favorite flavor.  Now I take a sip of it and almost keel over from diabetes.  Too sweet.  But I can’t get enough of the real thing.  Yummy, fresh and organic fruit simply makes me happy :)

Another fruit I am excited about are the mandarins.  I just can’t decide if I am going to eat them or juice them.  Guess it depends on if they make through the weekend or not.

So after all the delicious fish recipes I made during the Fresh Start Challenge, I am on a mission to cook fish more often.  Here is an amazing recipe I plan on making to help me use up that cilantro.  Served on a bed of my favorite potatoes with a side of broccoli and that is one scrumptious meal!

And finally some lovely leeks.  It’s been a while since I have whipped up this quiche so I think I will have to revisit the recipe.  I love that it can be served for breakfast, lunch or dinner, making it easy to meal plan for the week :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!


PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  You have until February 25th to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway. Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #62

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    What a cute picture. Harper’s pretty in pink to match her birthday cake. XOXO, GG

  2. sk says:

    Happy birthday to your little one! She definitely is a cutie!

    I do love me some quiche, but I stumbled upon this recipe from the blog How Sweet It Is, and this has become my all-time favorite thing to do with leeks. SO GOOD! Unfortunately, leeks aren’t in season anymore here in PA, so I will just have to dream about it and ogle your CSA box ;)

    http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/04/portobello-and-leek-carbonara/

  3. Heather,
    Did Harper model for a grocery store, sitting in a cart? There’s a giant banner of a cute lil girl who looks so much like Harper over the dairy section of my local grocery store. Every single time I see it I think to ask you.

    Very envious of your box this week, not only because it’s been 2 months since I’ve gotten a farm share but also for the avocados. One of my goals/resolutions for 2013 is to add more avocados in my life, and I think I picked the wrong state to live in to get them in a local farm share.

    I’m linking up a stew with a cutesy name, and I apologize for that. But I couldn’t in good conscience call it Moroccan so it’s Faux-roccan instead. But acorn squash from the Strategic Winter Squash Reserve and chick peas and chicken make it very tasty.

    Of course, I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t using my CSA ingredients to make a pizza. I can’t stop singing the praises of your Cherry Tomato Pesto recipe, and I’ve only got 2 packages left in my freezer. :( . Summer tomatoes will be here before I know it.

    Thanks!

  4. Lauren says:

    Happy birthday to Harper!

  5. Ayanna Johnson says:

    Happy Birthday Harper!!

  6. csamom says:

    Kids are the best. It is good to keep these pictures of them being cute to get you through the tantrum days (your and theirs!). I loved them when they were little, but I enjoy my kids more and more as they get older.

    I linked the contents of my winter CSA. It was beautiful stuff!

  7. Happy Birthday to little Ms. Harper. She’s adorable, and as usual, your box is outstanding. What I wouldn’t do for half of that box…no seriously, you don’t want to know. :).

  8. What a cutie! Happy Birthday!!!!

  9. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  10. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

Leave a Reply

