What’s in the Box? #63

boxquestionintrowhite

Well, the busiest and shortest month of the year is officially over.  We enjoyed a trip to Disney World, I survived 4 days as a “single parent”, we celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary and our little munchkin turned 2.  Boy am I tired.  But I am also grateful that we have so much fun and exciting stuff happening in our lives.  And it doesn’t look like March is going go be a slow-moving month either.  Lots of wonderful things on the horizon including Freddie’s 31st Birthday, the launch of my CD and wedding prep for my brother.  Life is grand.

But no matter how busy it get’s around here, I always love taking a break to gawk at the fruits and veggies that are rolling through this link party.  And last week was the biggest party we have had in a while.  10 link ups!  Makes a girl like me very happy :)  And the recipes were rockin…Cheese Pizza on Butternut Squash Crust,  Roasted Carrot, Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad,  Ginger Lime Brussels SproutsChocolate Beet Muffins…are you salivating yet?  Thanks ladies for linking up and sharing your goodies with the rest of the party.  Sharing is caring :)

And now on to this week’s haul…

What's in the Box? #63 - In Her Chucks

Fresh strawberries.  They never get old.  Especially when they are plump, juicy and ready to eat in February.  Don’t mind me while I devour these while in the midst of typing this post.  I apparently lack self-control and manners.

Moving on the rest of the box, I am feeling totally inspired.  I love it when my veggies talk to me.  And today the cabbage is telling me it wants to mingle with the carrots and the onions to create a Hearty Italian Stew.  Which will be the perfect meal for my good friend who just had a baby.  Comforting and nutritious.  And for the side, I am thinking about a Roasted Beet and Gorgonzola and Walnuts.  It not only looks good, it tastes good too.

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the broccoli.  I had some leftover broccoli sitting in the fridge and when combined with this lovely bunch I was able to whip up some Chicken Divan which was a HUGE hit with the toddler and the hubby.   I am sure the leftovers will even be more delicious for lunch tomorrow.

While I was cooking dinner tonight I went through a few of the mandarins.  And I may or may not have eaten a few more for dessert.  Scrumptious!

Excited to see the lettuce and apples today because my mom was just telling me about a salad she made this week that resembled a Waldorf Salad but with added lentils.  Can’t wait to get the recipe.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #63

  1. Heather,
    I’m intrigued by your mom’s lentil salad–I’ve been playing around with lentils lately, though they keep sprouting on me if I give them an hour soak before cooking. It’s crazy, but I’m going with it “Sprouted Lentil Blah Blah Blah” will be the recipe title.
    I’m starting to see space at the back of the freezer, space on the shelves of the pantry, and there’s less squash in the Strategic Winter Squash reserve, so I’m glad February is about over and there’s only 2 months until my farm share resumes. Oh, to live in California (or even Howard Co, MD, since AnnieRie’s share starts next month!).
    Even though I no longer have a kid in elementary school (that time of your life, by the way, will last about 20 yrs even if the elementary school is only K thru 6) we still celebrate Dr Seuss’ birthday–happening on March 2nd! I’m linking up a Green Eggs No Ham recipe for a veggie eggs Benedict we enjoyed.
    I’ve also linked a skillet full of goodness (sauerkraut to bread to dried cherries?) which made a delicious supper.
    Finally, a pizza (surprise! I made a pizza!). I made this after we’d been out of town coming home Friday afternoon, and the natives were restless for their Friday Night Pizza Night. But I had no crust, and the grocery store had nothing but pre-baked crust. So it’s Boboli time. But I used the penultimate package I’d put up from your amazing Cherry Tomato Pesto recipe (thank you so much for posting that–I love that recipe!) to make a last-minute pizza still using my CSA goods.
    Thanks, Heather!

  2. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  3. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  4. […] I’m also linking today’s post to Kristy at Gastronomical Sovereignty and Heather at In Her Chucks. More shameless plugs couldn’t hurt, and let’s be real. I’m not above shameless […]

  5. Again with your amazing boxes. Those strawberries, the mandarins, the carrots, the lettuce and all the lovely colors. I love when veggies are inspiring.

  6. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  7. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  8. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

Leave a Reply

